Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Whats the difference between prepaid phones and contract phones?

Phones
    V551
    nokia 3595
    motorola v70
    Carrier
    Tmobile
    Feedback Score

Whats the difference between prepaid phones and contract phones?

Hey guys, Im new with the pre paid phones. I just got my nokia 6030 and wonder whats the difference between this pre-paid phone and the contract phone? It both got the sim card slot? Is it possible to get an unlock phone and plug in the prepaid sim card in any unlock phone? or does it have to be only phones with prepaid? Im just a bit confuse on this. ..

If you cant so your saying that the Nokia 6030 (prepaid) was made differently than the Nokia 6030 (contract ) ?

Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    Phones on prepaid and post paid are pretty much interchangeable....as in exactly the same phone sold in different packaging. Although I understand that all/most of the future TMO phones on post paid will have MyFaves on them which can't be used on prepaid but the phone should still be able to be used without that feature.

You can put your pre-paid SIM in any GSM phone as long as it has the correct bands and is either from the same carrier or unlocked.

Many people buy prepaid phones to use for their post paid accounts because it's cheaper than buying the same phone as an upgrade and no contract extension is required.

Phones
    Nokia 5310 w/Jabra BT250V handsfree, Nokia 6010, Nokia 6030
    Nokia 6310i, Nokia 8310 (Europe)
    Carrier
    T-Mobile US, Fido, T-Mobile NL, Orange IL
    Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by FightingV551
    Hey guys, Im new with the pre paid phones. I just got my nokia 6030 and wonder whats the difference between this pre-paid phone and the contract phone? It both got the sim card slot? Is it possible to get an unlock phone and plug in the prepaid sim card in any unlock phone? or does it have to be only phones with prepaid? Im just a bit confuse on this. ..