Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 119

Thread: Remapping Dash Keys

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Michigan, U.S.
    Posts
    927
    Phones
    Dash
    SDA
    Thumb and pinky
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Remapping Dash Keys

    As expected, you can easily remap several keys on the Dash following the instructions in the SDA FAQ. The .lnk files you need to edit are different, of course. For example, I remapped the T-Zones key on my Dash to bring up the Comm Manager by changing the "Short_IE.lnk" file to read 36#"\windows\CommManager.exe" instead of 36#"\windows\winwapce14s-tmobile.exe"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    39
    Phones
    Dash
    T809
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    can you remap the up and down volume to page up and down

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Michigan, U.S.
    Posts
    927
    Phones
    Dash
    SDA
    Thumb and pinky
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by akil
    can you remap the up and down volume to page up and down
    Not that I can see so far. And don't expect for the JOGGR function to be restored via a ROM upgrade either. The actual hardware used on the Dash is different from the strip used on the original Excalibur. There is no touch "strip." It's simply two touch pads.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    39
    Phones
    Dash
    T809
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    i dont know there must be some way under HKCU\ControlPanel\JogBar\Settings

    to get it working...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    39
    Phones
    Dash
    T809
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    haha just got it working


    HKCU\ControlPanel\JogBar\Settings\SwitchToAudioFun c

    change the value to a 0 and it works as a scroll bar.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    39
    Phones
    Dash
    T809
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    also it looks like if you tap the bottom twice it loads the email app

    and tapping the top twice loads your most recently used app

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    284
    Phone
    Dash
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by akil
    haha just got it working


    HKCU\ControlPanel\JogBar\Settings\SwitchToAudioFun c

    change the value to a 0 and it works as a scroll bar.
    So you bought the T-Mobile Dash and got the Joggr feature to work?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    39
    Phones
    Dash
    T809
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    yes. it looks like they just put a different piece of plastic on it

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    284
    Phone
    Dash
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by akil
    yes. it looks like they just put a different piece of plastic on it

    Ok thanks.. cause I was gonna get the other version just to have that feature. Make sure your on when I buy mine so you can help me do it...


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    39
    Phones
    Dash
    T809
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    ah the top down-tap is just "back" oh and it reset back to volume control only if you make any changes in the control panel to the sensitivity.
    Last edited by akil; 10-26-2006 at 02:58 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    23
    Feedback Score
    0
    actually seems on mine that if you set 0 it becomes an activate for whatever you hovering over. its essentially a double click. interesting but not super useful. i do think your on the right track though we can get some other functions out of the pads.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    39
    Phones
    Dash
    T809
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    yeah sometimes it loads the mail app for me and sometimes its acting as a click...must be something with the sensitivity settings.

    *edit...

    oh i think i get it...it depends on where on the strip you tap...right over the the little slide part and it acts like a click.

    lower and it launches the mail app.

    this makes sense cause the HTC branded one has those divisions on the joggr strip.
    Last edited by akil; 10-26-2006 at 03:24 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    23
    Feedback Score
    0
    oh good catch there is a difference in commands. you have to double press right around the very bottom area. interesting. so you've got me full scroll ability, I can double tap anywhere in the 'volume area' to activate a command and then if i double click the very bottom it loads the specific app specified in the registry (which is easily changeable). all of this and i still have in call volume control now in the form of a scroll rather than a click which I was having issues with. you rock!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    102
    Phones
    G1
    N95
    iPhone
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well hot damn! The JOGGR still works fine! It is the same thing that is on the HTC branded phone.

    Here is a link i found that explains how to use it: http://www.theunwired.net/?itemid=3327

    Im going to look through the phone for the JOGGR program. It must be there because all of the registery entries are there.

    If you look at the picture for the JOGGR config page in settings, it says "When 'Scroll' is selected...". I have found a registry key in HKCU\ControlPanel\JogBar\Settings\ that contains that same text.

    I will post any further info

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    39
    Phones
    Dash
    T809
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    from that page it looks like the top part is just the control panel settings there is a file int he windows directory called JogBar.cpl.xml i tried adding some stuff to it in the format its in but it didnt make any changes.

    there is a key called EnableJobBarHelpFunc in the registry this is possibly what the 2nd set of screens from that page is showing...if you set it to a 1 you'll get an error about "JOGGRInfo" not being found.

    i think the next set is def going to be getting all the settings available in the control panel and not having it reset you back to using it for volume only.

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast

Bookmarks