Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: ESN Change

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,305
    Phones
    Samsung Rogue
    Orange Boulder
    Env, V325
    Carrier
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0

    ESN Change

    if my dad and i want to switch phones and switch esn's online and we both have active lines..would that work??
    Computer


    Cell Phone w/USB


    Boulder Ringtones

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    98
    Phones
    Blackberry Curve
    Samsung 930
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yesh. You'll just have to OTA the phones after you do the ESN changes.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,305
    Phones
    Samsung Rogue
    Orange Boulder
    Env, V325
    Carrier
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    u mean *228 right?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    1,113
    Carrier
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by nhanson
    if my dad and i want to switch phones and switch esn's online and we both have active lines..would that work??
    I don't think you can change from an active phone to an active phone. You will need a third (inactive) phone. Switch your number to inactive phone than your father's phone to yours and than yours to fathers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,305
    Phones
    Samsung Rogue
    Orange Boulder
    Env, V325
    Carrier
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    and i suppose there would be no way to disable it and then switch it besides a third phone?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    1,113
    Carrier
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by nhanson
    and i suppose there would be no way to disable it and then switch it besides a third phone?
    Unfortunatly, NO.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,305
    Phones
    Samsung Rogue
    Orange Boulder
    Env, V325
    Carrier
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    u think ebay is the best way to get a used phone?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    1,113
    Carrier
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by nhanson
    u think ebay is the best way to get a used phone?
    I would say yes. You have to make sure that ALL phones are either VCast or non VCast for online ESN changer. It will not work if one is VCast and the other isn't. Also, you can call CS and see if they can switch ESN's for you.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,305
    Phones
    Samsung Rogue
    Orange Boulder
    Env, V325
    Carrier
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    i have a 5200 now and i would not be able to switch to like a 8300 if i wanted? just cause of vcast?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    1,113
    Carrier
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by nhanson
    i have a 5200 now and i would not be able to switch to like a 8300 if i wanted? just cause of vcast?
    In order to switch from 5200 to 8300 you will need to call CS. Online changer wont work from VCast to non-VCast or vise verse.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,305
    Phones
    Samsung Rogue
    Orange Boulder
    Env, V325
    Carrier
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    lol kinda of a newb to wireless..how come?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    625
    Phone
    Blackberry Storm
    Carrier
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    For whoever said you need a 3rd phone, you are wrong. Just make sure both phones are off and remain so until the changes are done.

    And the online only works if the features are the same, but still go ahead and try it and call CS after it fails and tell them to do it for free because it failed online, if they say they have to charge you call back until you get a rep who will do it (out of 30 or so changes only one has refused to waive the fee)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    1,113
    Carrier
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cplclegg
    For whoever said you need a 3rd phone, you are wrong. Just make sure both phones are off and remain so until the changes are done.
    Well, try it and see if it works. CS might be able to do it, but online i don't think it's possible. Even if you turn the phone off, it is still "active".

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    98
    Phones
    Blackberry Curve
    Samsung 930
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Really, you don't need a 3rd phone. I've done it dozens of times. If you can't get someone to do it, I will

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    115
    Phones
    Samsung Droid Charge
    Samsung Droid Charge
    Samsung Fascinate
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    is changing the esn free? I was thinking about getting the chocolate with my upgrade. I already have a vx8300 and just would like the chocolate for fun if i can switch back and forth for free.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks