Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Error: Cannot resolve hostname

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    230
    Phones
    Blackberry Bold
    Apple iPhone 8GB (retired as of 11/4/08)
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Error: Cannot resolve hostname

    I'm sick and tired of seeing that everyday when I try to connect to the internet!! The internet only works about 40% of the time with me. Is there any way to fix this? Some guy working at cricKet told me to restart my phone and that would do the trick. Only works 10% of time....ahhh I'm so frustrated lol

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Union Ave
    Posts
    55
    Phones
    Nokia 6265i (Employee Phone)
    Motorola Dynatac 8000X (Personal Phone :) )
    Carriers
    Cricket/LEAP
    Feedback Score
    0
    10,000 people on the net at once on a small ammount of bandwidth, just wait until evdo launches

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    5145 / BTA157
    Posts
    2,857
    Phones
    6275i
    8900 curve
    Carriers
    cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    it's a known issue with the V3c and there is no permanent solution. When I had this phone I had 100% success when i did the following:
    With the phone on and the web browser open pull the battery.
    Wait ~5 seconds
    Re-insert the battery, if the phone turns itself on you didn't wait long enough pull the battery again.
    turn the phone on, and wait for everything to finish booting ~30-45 seconds. I waited for the bluetooth icon to go away (if not paired)

    open browser and bam everything works.

    not sure how much of this is actually needed but when i followed these steps my browsing was restored 100% of the time.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Slvr L7c
    Carrier
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    i get the same problem. and there is nothing that can be done. Its all on the network.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    5
    Phones
    motorola slvr L7c
    motorola W315
    Carrier
    cricKet
    Feedback Score
    0
    yes it is a known issue i got a email from the portland account rep and they are working on getting it fixed he did not have a time line for fix i also have been having the same issue

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Slvr L7c
    Carrier
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    They have to say according to policy that its getting fixed. But they wont do anything because that means that they will have to spend money on upgrading the system to handle the volume.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    5145 / BTA157
    Posts
    2,857
    Phones
    6275i
    8900 curve
    Carriers
    cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    1) it's a problem specific to the Motorola Razr v3c
    2) to my knowledge there is no fix for it. dealers have been instructed not to send people to corporate, as corporate will not replace the phone for this. the fix is to power cycle the phone and try again.
    3) they don't have to say anything, but they'll lose customers if they tell people oh too bad go away. there is absolutely no guarantee of service from any carrier, including cricket.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Slvr L7c
    Carrier
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    its not a problem specific to razr v3c, because i have the slvr L7c and i get the same problem. NOTE: this usually occurs during peak usage hours.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    5145 / BTA157
    Posts
    2,857
    Phones
    6275i
    8900 curve
    Carriers
    cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    just received a notice that there was a problem with crickets firewall being overloaded currently. they have updated the hardware and all network side issues should be fixed. however, this is separate from the issue on the v3c

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    230
    Phones
    Blackberry Bold
    Apple iPhone 8GB (retired as of 11/4/08)
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    simple3: I tried your method quite a few times, but it doesn't always help it works maybe 60% of the time lol

Bookmarks