Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Can you turn off the auto-backup, from backup assitant?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    486
    Device(s)
    iPhone 3gs
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T- Current :
    Feedback Score
    0

    Can you turn off the auto-backup, from backup assitant?

    Anyway to turn off the auto backup feature of the backup assistant? I don't make changes everyday to my phone book, no reason why it needs to check everyday to see if any changes have taken place.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    546
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE (I love the smaller sized phone)
    Carrier(s)
    Currently: T-Mobile Past: Verizon Wireless & AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I believe you can but I havent logged onto my account since i created mine...but i have mine set up the same way....does it alert you when it does this? I've caught my razr screen flash once at like 2 in the afternoon and it was checking for an update but it didnt like make a noise or anything..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Grand Forks
    Posts
    415
    Device(s)
    The Storm (9530)
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless (is there another?)
    Feedback Score
    0
    I only updates if you make a change to the contacts in your phone or in your address book online. Otherwise, it doesn't do anything. It may try to update if you're on the extended network for some reason.

    Beth

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    2,193
    Device(s)
    HTC ThunderBolt 4G/LTE
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes you can. But you have to use the phone client. Here's a blurb from the website...

    "Select On to activate AutoSync. After you make changes to your web address book, click the Update Now button to automatically update your phone. Your phone will wake up, receive web changes and backup any changes made on your phone. When AutoSync is activated, signing out of your Backup Assistant web account will trigger an update if changes have been made to your web address book.


    Select Off to disable AutoSync. Your mobile phone will not receive automatic wake up messages or changes you have made to your web address book. However, you can still get web changes sent to your mobile phone by selecting Backup Now from within the Backup Assistant application on your mobile phone."


    -Frank

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    486
    Device(s)
    iPhone 3gs
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T- Current :
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks Frank, I found that, set it, hope it works.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    20,353
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Frank S
    Yes you can. But you have to use the phone client. Here's a blurb from the website...

    "Select On to activate AutoSync. After you make changes to your web address book, click the Update Now button to automatically update your phone. Your phone will wake up, receive web changes and backup any changes made on your phone. When AutoSync is activated, signing out of your Backup Assistant web account will trigger an update if changes have been made to your web address book.


    Select Off to disable AutoSync. Your mobile phone will not receive automatic wake up messages or changes you have made to your web address book. However, you can still get web changes sent to your mobile phone by selecting Backup Now from within the Backup Assistant application on your mobile phone."


    -Frank
    This simply disables the update from the Backup Assistant web site when you sign out (assuming you visited the site to check on something or actually change something). It actually/unfortunately doesn't have anything to do with the actual schedule used by Backup Assistant and how your phone performs the checking and updating. There were a few threads about this back when Backup Assistant became free to My Account users and it looks like there's no way to actually disable the application on your phone from checking, and updating, if necessary, everyday, short of uninstalling Backup Assistant. However, as some have pointed out, even though the phone checks everyday it doesn't actually perform any updates unless there are actually any changes. So there shouldn't be any minutes or anything else of that sort used, even though you might see your phone flash a message or something (on some it's a bit worse since they can actually make a sound, or a Get It Now message will actually stay on them until you check the phone) when it performs the check for changes.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    2,193
    Device(s)
    HTC ThunderBolt 4G/LTE
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Comrade DM
    ...there's no way to actually disable the application on your phone from checking, and updating, if necessary, everyday, short of uninstalling Backup Assistant.
    Those b-stards! Well, personally, I don't mind it. But I stand corrected.

    -Frank

Bookmarks