Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: metroweb & GPRS data limits, warning

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0

    metroweb & GPRS data limits, warning

    I recently noticed that MetroPCS is limiting the amount of GPRS data. I have subscribed to metroweb and I am using a PPC 6700 . During the download of a couple hundred emails from my gmail account (headers and message bodies) to the pocket pc, I suddenly received a sms with the information that I have used up 80% of my allowed data capacity. The next day, I am pretty sure by then I had reached my limit, I was not able to establish a GPRS data connection any longer (#777, modem not responding error message).

    Basically my GPRS access was turned off.

    My new billing period started a couple days ago and only then I was able to establish working GPRS data connection again.

    I am still not able to surf the web (port 80) with my set up, Skype and messenger applications are working fine, the email client in windows mobile 5 works great with gmail.

    Does anybody have a working setup (wap/proxy) with metroweb and is able freely to surf the web? Which ports are being utilized with a possible third party/non-metroweb proxy?

    I installed an GPRS counter applet on the 6700 to find out how much the exact allowed data volume is. I keep you all posted.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    203
    Phones
    V3s
    PPC6700 via WiFI only
    Carrier
    MetroPCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quick question??? How did you get a PPC6700 to work on MetroPCS?
    Is it a SPRINT or VERIZON version?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have actually two PPC 6700s. I am using a SPRINT one but had an Alltel before it disintegrated (was one of the first ones in its edition with all its known problems, freezing & SOD).

    Both, SPRINT and the Alltel version worked for me in this setup.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    1,546
    Phones
    iPhone 4s
    iPhone 4S
    Carrier
    T-MOBILE
    Feedback Score
    0
    Gprs...lol dude that's not even possible on a cdma phone...plus you still wouldn't be able to use data on a unlocked cdma phone.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    correct. I meant the data service under CDMA2000. GPRS relates to GSM.

    Was kinda late when I wrote the posting. But thank you for the correction.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    dude please tell how you got the 6700 to work on metro

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    31
    Phones
    Helio Drift
    Samsung SGH-a870
    Carriers
    Helio
    Feedback Score
    0
    Duck Tales.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    74
    Phones
    Nokia 2865i
    Nokia 6030
    Carriers
    MetroPCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    it is possible to tether via bluetooth maybe that is what he is speaking about.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    3,184
    Phones
    iPhone 3GS
    Nokia N8
    BB 8750
    Carrier
    Tmobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by debercy
    I have actually two PPC 6700s. I am using a SPRINT one but had an Alltel before it disintegrated (was one of the first ones in its edition with all its known problems, freezing & SOD).

    Both, SPRINT and the Alltel version worked for me in this setup.
    are you tryin to say i can use a sprint phone for metro pcs
    MY HOFO FEEDBACK

    all help given is free, and as is. I'd hate for someone to try and sue me for a mobile bill

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Posts
    4,202
    Phones
    Nokia 6265i sold for too much money :)
    LG Optimus M
    Motorola V325
    Carriers
    MetroPCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by vikramdhani
    are you tryin to say i can use a sprint phone for metro pcs
    the only way is to make that esn work with metro (find someone that can input that esn into metro's directory)
    Poma Computers Facebook Page

    BTM and Bangin Magazines







    Hanging out at a photo shoot. Yes, the screen name really does say it all.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    BEHIND YOU
    Posts
    359
    Phones
    Samsun R210
    Motorola Q9C
    Samsung R810
    Carriers
    MetroPCS
    MetroPCS Trial Phones
    Feedback Score
    0
    I downloaded 80mb video through opera mini today so I doubt you hit any kind of limit with email, even several hundred is less than that...

    my battery tells me I should have just used the data cable though...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    48
    Phone
    Galaxy Indulge
    Carriers
    MetroPCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    How do dowload a vido from metroweb?
    And how can the nokia 6265i work as a modem??
    AND HOW did you get a pda phone working on metropcs!!!??
    "Im so sorry , that last hand was a killer"

    -james bond

Bookmarks