Page 1 of 17 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 245

Thread: Dash WM6 FAQs (version 1 May 10 2007)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Manhattan
    Posts
    1,091
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4S most often
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0

    Dash WM6 FAQs (version 1 May 10 2007)

    I am surprised no one created a thread dedicated to the Dash & WM6 FAQs.

    Since WM6 was released, we have seen a lot of posts and if we can save you folks out there some time, why not put all the questions/ answers in one place?

    Thanks go out to the authors and contributors of hacks, ideas and tweaks on these forums. I cannot remember who did what though.


    Here is what I did on my Dash before and after upgrading to WM6 from T-Mobile:





    1) Removed my 1GB MicroSD card from the Dash.

    Hard Reset: Start > Accessories > Clear Storage (soft resets itself and then reinstalls factory contents and settings on its own; total= 2-3 mns)

    Upgraded to WM6 from T-Mobile.

    Deleted the Dash from ActiveSync in File > Delete Mobile Device on all my computers.

    Beyond this point, each time I was given the choice when installing something on the Dash, I chose to install on the Storage Card.

    2) Plugged into ActiveSync so I can transfer SurRealNetworks App Unlock and run it to App unlock the Dash.

    4) With a card reader and while pugged into my XP, I formated the MicroSD.

    Transferred all my .cab files saved in a folder on my computer, a sort of back up, to the Dash MicroSD and ran each .cab file from the Dash. At times a Soft Reset was necessary. When all programs were installed, the .cab files were no longer needed on the Dash so I deleted them.

    This is what I have installed. They are all free except for WebCamera Plus.

    Total Commander
    Alpha Numeric Display (blue)
    SetJogBar
    SmartSS
    WebCamera Plus
    WordPad
    Smoresoft Sudoku

    4) Using Total Commander, I made the following changes to the Registry in order to customize my Dash.

    *** Start menu set to grid view:
    \HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Shell\StartMenu\GridView
    Change to 0 (zero)


    *** Get ride of the T-Mobile startup and shutdown animations and sounds:
    \HKLM\Software\HTC\Startup\Image <-- emtpy field and type none
    \HKLM\Software\HTC\Startup\WAV <-- empty field and type none

    then

    \HKLM\Software\HTC\Shutdown\Image <-- empty field and type none
    \HKLM\Software\HTC\Shutdown\WAV <-- empty field and type none

    then

    HKLM\System\Startup\2\Duration <-- empty field and type 0 (zero).
    HKLM\System\Startup\2\Splash <-- empty field and type none

    then

    HKLM\System\Shutdown\2\Splash <-- empty field and type none

    *** Get ride of the beep at the beginning of each outgoing call
    HKCU\ControlPanel\SoundCategories\Callstart\IniVol <-- empty field and type 0 (zero). This hack doesn't stick it seems and I have to keep doing it over and over.

    *** Changing PIE home page
    HKLM/Software/ Microsoft/InternetExplorer/AboutURls
    Change home_0409 value to whatever website you want

    *** Remap the pink t-Zones Key on the Dash
    Using TotalCommander or WordPad, Edit \Windows\Short_IE.lnk and change to 36#"\windows\iexplore.exe (to launch Pocket Internet Explorer) or to
    19#\Windows\IA_Task_Manager.exe?:TaskManagerApp for Task Manager.
    Soft-Reset.

    *** To get voice command to work over BT:
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Bluetooth\AudioGateway\BTA GExtModule
    Change value from OEMAGW.dll to \Windows\vcbthag.dll
    and soft reset.

    *** Change the name of the Dash in ActiveSync
    HKLM/Ident/Name

    *** Smaller scrollbars- Perform the following regustry changes to allows 4 icons on a row in the start menu instead of 3! It also allows more to be viewed on the screen in IE!
    1) Go to HLM\SYSTEM\GWE\
    2) Adjust the following values
    cyHScr : Horizontal Scrollbars
    Height in pixels (default is 6, set it to 3)
    cxVScr : Vertical Scrollbars
    Width in pixels (default is 6, set it to 3)
    3) Soft-reset

    *** Replace the Incoming/ Connecting T-Mobile screen:
    In \Windows replace BackgroundImage_Land.bmp with your image (using the computer and ActiveSync not the Dash explorer)
    Soft-reset

    ***Replace the T-Mobile logo in call history
    In \Windows\ and copy BrandingBrick.gif to your PC for backup
    Replace this file with the GIF image of your choice. The image must be 320x27. Soft-reset.


    As you guys add to this, I will try and update these FAQs with the help of the moderators hopefully.

    Thank you.
    Last edited by rf12; 05-10-2007 at 03:09 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,208
    Device(s)
    Motorola Q9H
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks! Good start

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    14
    Feedback Score
    0
    good stuff, thanks!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    39
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile Dash
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Very good idea, I should be getting my Dash in on Friday or Saturday, and have bookmarked this thread already!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    107
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile Dash
    Feedback Score
    0
    Save Email To Storage need PHM reg edit for this

    HKLM->system->Inbox->Settings

    click values
    menu->new value->string

    you are going to create 2 new values here the first is

    value name PropertyPath
    value Data \Storage Card\Mail

    the second will be

    value name AttachPath
    value data \Storage Card\Mail\Attachments

    reset you phone and you should only have the Mail folder along with the attachments folder in mail folder on your storage card

    NOTE some say it may create a storage card 2 folder and some issues i have NOT yet Have had any issues
    check it out
    Last edited by neggie; 05-10-2007 at 03:33 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    107
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile Dash
    Feedback Score
    0
    IMPROVE Glyph Cache

    HKLM->System->GDI->GLYPHCACHE

    click values
    highlight and chose limit

    change value

    default is 16384
    change this to 32768 or 65536

    i have mine at 65536
    Last edited by neggie; 05-10-2007 at 03:33 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Manhattan
    Posts
    1,091
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4S most often
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by neggie
    IMPROVE Glyph Cache

    HLCM->System->GDI->GLYPHCACHE

    click values
    highlight and chose limit

    change value

    default is 16384
    change this to 32768 or 65536

    i have mine at 65536

    HKLM\System right?

    Is this hack safe? I knew of it and didn't do it. Is your phone in anyway unstable? In the negative, I'll add it to the FAQs.

    Thank you.
    Last edited by rf12; 05-10-2007 at 03:27 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    107
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile Dash
    Feedback Score
    0
    opps yeah your right my bad

    ILL CHANGE IT THANKS!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Manhattan
    Posts
    1,091
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4S most often
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by neggie
    Save Email To Storage need PHM reg edit for this

    HLCM->system->Inbox->Settings

    click values
    menu->new value->string

    you are going to create 2 new values here the first is

    value name PropertyPath
    value Data \Storage Card\Mail

    the second will be

    value name AttachPath
    value data \Storage Card\Mail\Attachments

    reset you phone and you should only have the Mail folder along with the attachments folder in mail folder on your storage card

    NOTE some say it may create a storage card 2 folder and some issues i have NOT yet Have had any issues
    check it out

    Thanks Neggie. I used the Surralnetworks app to store PIE cache and Mail attachments on the MicroSD. It's called IE & Mail Storage card.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    107
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile Dash
    Feedback Score
    0
    That one from SN and the APPUNLOCK from them for some reason did not work for me what so ever hummm the only thing was this hack and that SDAUnlocker for application unlock phone.
    Good to know thanks bud

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    7th Ward - New Orleans
    Posts
    1,541
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 1st Gen 2.1 fw
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    My Incall Screen



    This is my default CallAlert pic which replaces the blue phone.



    Looks great w/o the T-Mobile symbol invading the incoming phone number space.
    Last edited by T_Webb; 05-10-2007 at 04:22 PM.
    "You can get more with a kind word and a gun than you can with a kind word alone." – Al Capone

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile Dash
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Awesome! This help me fix and get rid of a lot of stuffs! Thanks!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Manhattan
    Posts
    1,091
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4S most often
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    T-Webb:

    Now that's interesting :-)

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    62
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile DASH on Cingular
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by neggie
    Save Email To Storage need PHM reg edit for this

    HKLM->system->Inbox->Settings

    click values
    menu->new value->string

    you are going to create 2 new values here the first is

    value name PropertyPath
    value Data \Storage Card\Mail

    the second will be

    value name AttachPath
    value data \Storage Card\Mail\Attachments

    reset you phone and you should only have the Mail folder along with the attachments folder in mail folder on your storage card

    NOTE some say it may create a storage card 2 folder and some issues i have NOT yet Have had any issues
    check it out


    ya, it created another storage card folder.... so it didnt work for me. removed it.
    johnlo
    ===============
    http://www.jklimagery.com

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    62
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile DASH on Cingular
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rf12
    Thanks Neggie. I used the Surralnetworks app to store PIE cache and Mail attachments on the MicroSD. It's called IE & Mail Storage card.
    hmmm, it didnt created anything for the mail attachments to go to. oh well.

Page 1 of 17 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast

Bookmarks