Page 1 of 17 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 247

Thread: The Official Motorola RAZR2 V9m How-Tos Thread

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    14,269
    Device(s)
    Personal - Too Many.. see link in my signature
    Carrier(s)
    Personal - Verizon Wireless (CDMA) |
    Feedback Score
    0

    The Official Motorola RAZR2 V9m How-Tos Thread

    Ok, as we keep playing/learning about the V9M over in The Official V9m Hacking Thread, I'm sure questions are going to come up about "how do I do this?" or "how do I do that?"

    While doing stuff to the V9M is kind of like the Maxx Ve, its still different. Some of the tools we used, do NOT work on the V9M.

    So for now... If you want to know... HOW TO... see -> http://mark.cdmaforums.com/V9M.htm

    It contains info on what we've found so far (since getting the phone and cable)... including info on BT OBEX, ring tones, pictures, etc. If you really want more background of how we found all this out... by all means read the Hacking thread starting around Post #64

    I will be writing up the Easiest to do guides first... like changing the outside graphic when flip opened, MPT via Cable, changing startup/shutdown pix/sounds, etc...
    Verizon Wireless Customer Council Member
    Verizon PHONE Hacking Info & How To's click -> HERE, <-- If you have suggestions PM me
    Need Help? PLEASE POST IN THE FORUMS instead of PM'ing me!!
    Read -> An Open Letter to those who PM me for help!


    New to forums? -> Posting and you! <-a MUST Watch for all!!

    Equipment I Have/USE click here, Phone Labs Dock-N-Talk...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    41
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4S
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thank you! Also wnrussell and kbman as well for the cables and effort.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    14,269
    Device(s)
    Personal - Too Many.. see link in my signature
    Carrier(s)
    Personal - Verizon Wireless (CDMA) |
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ok, the Using the MPT Via USB Cable is ready -> http://mark.cdmaforums.com/V9M_MPT_Cable.htm

    MPT can be used for Ring Tones, Pictures/Wall paper, sounds, movies, Contacts/Phone book, and Calendar.
    Last edited by Mark_Venture; 09-02-2007 at 11:22 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    14,269
    Device(s)
    Personal - Too Many.. see link in my signature
    Carrier(s)
    Personal - Verizon Wireless (CDMA) |
    Feedback Score
    0
    Changing the Startup/Shutdown sounds and animations, plus changing the graphic on the outside LCD when the flip is open using Bitpim...

    http://mark.cdmaforums.com/FlipGraphic.htm

    (I have some graphics to add over the next day or two, but the text is ready)...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    14,269
    Device(s)
    Personal - Too Many.. see link in my signature
    Carrier(s)
    Personal - Verizon Wireless (CDMA) |
    Feedback Score
    0
    As always... Where to put files (in the file system, or MicroSD card) can be found at -> http://mark.cdmaforums.com/FileLocs.htm

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    14,269
    Device(s)
    Personal - Too Many.. see link in my signature
    Carrier(s)
    Personal - Verizon Wireless (CDMA) |
    Feedback Score
    0
    How to pair your phone and PC (using Widcomm drivers), plus make short cuts for the services...

    http://mark.cdmaforums.com/BT-PairPhone.htm

    NOTE: this page also has BASIC info on using Bluetooth OBEX FTP... HOWEVER it does not state that To add ring tones, you MUST rename your General Midi, MP3, MMF or iMelody files to .QCP before transfering to the phone's my_ringers folder. Failure to do so will result in a "Server Doesn't Support..." type error message.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    14,269
    Device(s)
    Personal - Too Many.. see link in my signature
    Carrier(s)
    Personal - Verizon Wireless (CDMA) |
    Feedback Score
    0
    Using P2KCommander with the V9M...

    http://mark.cdmaforums.com/V9M-P2KC.htm

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    59
    Device(s)
    Samsung A 530
    Carrier(s)
    VERIZON
    Feedback Score
    0

    How do you disable EVDO on V9M?

    In an attempt to save even more battery in fringe EVDO areas, how can I turn off EVDO?

    Is it the same as the Razr1?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    307
    Device(s)
    iPhone 3GS
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mastergan
    In an attempt to save even more battery in fringe EVDO areas, how can I turn off EVDO?

    Is it the same as the Razr1?
    Yep, same as Razr1 using the #073887* combination. That's what I used. I don't know about the other method, though.

    Thanks, Mark, for all your efforts.

    Just a quick note, if you don't mind... In your V9m Bitpim page (http://mark.cdmaforums.com/FlipGraphic.htm), shouldn't the animated startup and shutdown graphics be customer_opening.gif and customer_closing.gif respectively, not ui_start_up_mono.mp_ and ui_start_dn_mono.mp_?

    I was able to change the outer graphic along with the startup and shutdown screens using your instructions for Bitpim.
    A phone is only as smart as its operator.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    14,269
    Device(s)
    Personal - Too Many.. see link in my signature
    Carrier(s)
    Personal - Verizon Wireless (CDMA) |
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by grnamin
    Yep, same as Razr1 using the #073887* combination. That's what I used. I don't know about the other method, though.
    Yes, that same process works on the V9M too...

    http://mark.cdmaforums.com/DisableEVDO-V3C.htm

    Quote Originally Posted by grnamin
    Just a quick note, if you don't mind... In your V9m Bitpim page (http://mark.cdmaforums.com/FlipGraphic.htm), shouldn't the animated startup and shutdown graphics be customer_opening.gif and customer_closing.gif respectively, not ui_start_up_mono.mp_ and ui_start_dn_mono.mp_?

    I was able to change the outer graphic along with the startup and shutdown screens using your instructions for Bitpim.
    Oh, good catch.. sorry it was late when I was working on that page... Still have a couple graphics I was going to add too (in the setting up bitpim part)...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    63
    Device(s)
    LG Chocolate
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    So... the pics for the EXTERNAL display need to be 320x240? If that's the case, then we can refer to the maxx ve wallpaper thread, or the samsung thread and use their internal wallpapers for both our internal and externals... right?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    79
    Device(s)
    Moto DROID 16G.
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Still waiting to get mine, but in the mean time...

    It can't be said enough, THANKS Mark and others for all the research and most of all the extra efforts required to share..

    Thanks much
    BillyD..

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    14,269
    Device(s)
    Personal - Too Many.. see link in my signature
    Carrier(s)
    Personal - Verizon Wireless (CDMA) |
    Feedback Score
    0
    How to do seem edits guide is done -> http://mark.cdmaforums.com/V9M-Seem.htm

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wilmington, DE
    Posts
    14,269
    Device(s)
    Personal - Too Many.. see link in my signature
    Carrier(s)
    Personal - Verizon Wireless (CDMA) |
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jdmaxima89
    So... the pics for the EXTERNAL display need to be 320x240? If that's the case, then we can refer to the maxx ve wallpaper thread, or the samsung thread and use their internal wallpapers for both our internal and externals... right?
    That is Correct.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    NE US
    Posts
    179
    Device(s)
    iPhone (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Odd. I used Mark's method to move 4 ringtones into my_ringers and all went fine. When selecting ringtones, the 4 are present and play just fine when you press the "play" softkey. But if actually assign one as a call ringtone, the phone doesn't ring on an incoming call. No sound, no vibration.

    If I go back and select a default Verizon ringtone, the phone rings just fine for incoming calls. If I re-select one of my imported .qcp ringtones, incoming calls show on the screen, but there is no audible ringtone.

    Any ideas?

Page 1 of 17 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast

Bookmarks