Thread: ATT vs Verizon San Francisco Bay Area

Feedback Score

San Fransisco ATT vs Verizon San Francisco Bay Area

Total newbie, just discovered hofo a few hours ago and been reading like mad. Been on cellular one-att-cingular-att forever but TDMA getting flakier by the day and have to make a decision whether to stick with ATT and go with GSM or go with Verizon CDMA. For purposes of this thread, I am specifically interested in voice reception quality, dropped calls. Thanks.

Phone
    Blackberry Storm 9530
    Carriers
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    I've left AT&T GSM because of the garbled calls I've gotten with several phones in the past few years. It may be different for some people, but I find it hard to believe that they haven't fixed their sound quality issues by now. Its not really noticeable on TDMA, since they built out a good network for that from the beginning. Now on AT&T's 3G, the call quality is superior, but they don't have great coverage and the hand-offs from 3G to GSM isn't too great.. it either works or drops the call. T-Mobile has better call quality, they even test it in most major cities regularly (you can view a list on their website.) Right now I'm on Verizon and the call quality is great and very consistent, rarely do I drop calls, and with that.. I could care less if they cripple some features on their phones. You should ask around your area to see what's good.

Feedback Score
    ^^ thanks. I have been asking around, and Verizon is winning the race, though my respondents so far are in the Berkeley-Oakland area. I am in Sonoma county , Petaluma, but spend a lot of time in Berkeley. Any further experiences in these areas appreciated, specifically regarding voice reception/dropped calls. I will be making a final decision vis a vis carrier in the next few weeks.

Phone
    Google Nexus 5
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    Ugh, will never go back to Verizon.
    1. Crippled phones.