Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Tracfone software/firmware update

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    271
    Phones
    LG-DM110
    Verizon LG 510TM
    Nextel i530
    Carriers
    Nextel (current)
    Feedback Score
    0

    Tracfone software/firmware update

    Is this possible? If so, is it recommended? I know when I had Verizon, they suggested updating maybe once a month. I have a Nextel ic502, which has an update function, but it doesn't work.

    Just curious if there are any advantages to this or if it is even possible.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    895
    Phones
    LG 290C
    Nokia 6300 (unlocked)
    Carriers
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    So far I have never heard of Tracfone releasing updates for any of their phones.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,696
    Phones
    Samsung T201G
    Motorola W376
    BlackBerry 8703e
    Carriers
    AT&T (Tracfone / Net10)
    Feedback Score
    0
    There is not a software/firmware update, but there is a PRL update so your phone will pick up new roaming areas -- on Alltel based phones it is *228, Verizon has more than one code to dial so you will need to talk to Tracfone if you have roaming problems.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    1,789
    Phone
    ZTE, LG
    Carrier
    America Movil, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mharris127
    There is not a software/firmware update, but there is a PRL update so your phone will pick up new roaming areas -- on Alltel based phones it is *228, Verizon has more than one code to dial so you will need to talk to Tracfone if you have roaming problems.
    Verizon is also *228 but must also select option 2 to update the PRL.
    America Movil/Straight Talk/TracFone customer since 2004.
    verizon customer since 2012.
    T-Mobile customer from 2005-2014.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    271
    Phones
    LG-DM110
    Verizon LG 510TM
    Nextel i530
    Carriers
    Nextel (current)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mharris127
    There is not a software/firmware update, but there is a PRL update so your phone will pick up new roaming areas -- on Alltel based phones it is *228, Verizon has more than one code to dial so you will need to talk to Tracfone if you have roaming problems.
    So it is the same as Verizon? Does Verizon own Tracfone? What do you mean by "Alltel based phones"?

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,817
    Carrier
    PagePlus - No Dealer Required
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GigMormon
    So it is the same as Verizon? Does Verizon own Tracfone? What do you mean by "Alltel based phones"?

    Thanks.
    América Móvil owns tracfone. TracFone does not build its own wireless network but "resells" wireless service from more than 30 providers, as a mobile virtual network operator (MVNO). In the United States, TracFone operates on the AT&T, Verizon Wireless, Sprint, and T-Mobile networks, among others (such as Alltel and US Cellular). (Quoted from wikipedia.com)

Bookmarks