Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 77

Thread: HARD CABLE Sidekick LX unlock?

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Westchester / Suffolk
    Posts
    373
    Device(s)
    Palm Pre
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint Everything Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rHG3|
    Actually, that's not correct. T-Mobile is scheduled to start offering service in Canada around the beginning of July in 2009. I have spoken to many people at T-Mobile about this and read a while back. They're not buying into a new spectrum and are sticking with the current GSM stuff like Rogers/Fido currently use. The Boy Genius article posted in this thread is correct. The deal has already received government approval for an 18 month probationary period.
    Um, in order to do business in Canada, Deutsche Telekom will either have to: a)buy spectrum, b)buy out another cell provider, or c)become a MVNO. Since they didn't buy any spectrum in the recent auction, that leaves them with buying out another cell provider or become a MVNO. Highly doubtful at this point.

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    USA/Canada
    Posts
    197
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile Sidekick LX 09 (Carbon)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA/Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Who do you think bought the old Fido networks from Rogers?!
    rHG3|

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Westchester / Suffolk
    Posts
    373
    Device(s)
    Palm Pre
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint Everything Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rHG3|
    Who do you think bought the old Fido networks from Rogers?!
    Uh, no one. Rogers integrated Fido's networks into their own to add the GSM 850 band and expand coverage.

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    103
    Device(s)
    Sidekick LX
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    This is true thats why our fido hiptops 2 read Rogers then Fido.
    Rogers is the King Pin of the GSM network

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    a lot of good info in this thread but still kinda off topic

    how do you unlock the sk lx via hard cable? anybody have any clue as to how to do this? Like if I wanted to do it myself rather than buying one

    EDIT: or is there any other method of unlocking that can be performed by the individual? rather than paying for an unlock code, etc.

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    103
    Device(s)
    Sidekick LX
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    The only one who can answer that question is the people who sell unlocked sidekicks on ebay..
    Or Someone with java experience

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    5
    Device(s)
    Sidekick LX (100% Data)
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Solearius
    Why haven't you already purchased an Unlocked Sidekick LX already?
    Never even knew people on the Fido Hiptop data option still use it with a Hiptop 2.

    Anyway,

    http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-UNLOCKED-SID...QQcmdZViewItem

    Wizard Of Oz is probably the most reputable HARD CABLE unlocked Sidekick seller on eBay. I purchased mine from another seller called "pumacel" a while a go but at $450. But at $400, you cannot go wrong with Oz's price right now.

    Then what you will do is simply insert your Fido SIM in the LX, and go into the Network Options and change the APN to "fido.danger.com" user name and password will be "dummy" and your data should work.

    Thanks Solearius for the recommendation, I purchased my LX from the OZ
    Its just came in today, placed my SIM card in changed the APN info and I'm up and running. Now I just need to pick up a screen protector, better carrying case, and a car adapter.

    Thanks again.


  8. #68
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    103
    Device(s)
    Sidekick LX
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes me too sorry I forgot to thank Solerius for the advice on the ozz man and for hooking me up with the ability to use a lx....
    Thanks again man.....

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    138
    Device(s)
    apple iphone 3GS
    Carrier(s)
    At&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    so the sidekick won't lose all its memory if it is turned off if it is unlocked???
    iphone bum

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    140
    Device(s)
    Danger HipTop
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    oz's auction mentions that the phone CANNOT be used for DATA. I am currently still using my hiptop2 and still have my 20$ data plan, if i pick one up, i just put in the network info fido.danger.com and i suppose i use my own user name and pass...and i should be good to go?

    thanks in advance for your time.
    do you have any way of proving to us that it works, maybe a youtube vid?
    i just wanna see before droppign 400 shmackers on a phone that may or maynot work.

    thanks,

    schitzo1978
    i finally got winxp installed on my dust buster.
    it sux , but it sux better !

  11. #71
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    254
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 8900 (Fido)
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by schitzo1978
    oz's auction mentions that the phone CANNOT be used for DATA. I am currently still using my hiptop2 and still have my 20$ data plan, if i pick one up, i just put in the network info fido.danger.com and i suppose i use my own user name and pass...and i should be good to go?

    thanks in advance for your time.
    do you have any way of proving to us that it works, maybe a youtube vid?
    i just wanna see before droppign 400 shmackers on a phone that may or maynot work.

    thanks,

    schitzo1978
    It'll work...

  12. #72
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ok, i just the general idea. Unlock your sidekick= cannot use internet on other carriers

    whats if i unlocked my sidekick...and say im on FIDO, but then move to the USA and switch to T-mobile, would i be able to use the data plans from T-mobile w/my sidekick unlocked?

  13. #73
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    Oh and i can't find this "wizard of Oz" on ebay =(

    anyone have a link to his profile/page on ebay? :O

  14. #74
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    3,740
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    theres no garentee that it will work but ive had lots of success with the cable unlocked sidekick lx, infact, i had one sidekick lx that for some reason LOCKED to fido, not phone/sms lock but data lock meaning data could only be used on fido and not t-mobile (i go to the states alot so i had a sim card from t-mobile) suposibly it had something to do with the backend of the server or something i donno. i sold it though and bought myself a blackberry.
    Follow me on:

  15. #75
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0

    I Just Got My Sidekick Lx Unlocked Without Cable

    I FOUND SOMEONE ONLINE TO UNLOCK SIDEKICKS YOU CAN EMAIL HIM AT
    [email protected]. HE IS FAST AND DOES A GREAT JOB.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Bookmarks