Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: HTC 6800 modem driver for XP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0

    HTC 6800 modem driver for XP

    Anyone have any success in setting up the tethering/internet sharing feature on the 6800 w/ Win XP? When I connect the computer to the 6800 Windows recognizes an RNDIS type device, but the generic driver XP tries to install is incorrect/won't support the modem. Tried installing driver that worked on my 6700 w/XP but no luck. Out of ideas if you can help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NV
    Posts
    743
    Carrier(s)
    The Big V
    Feedback Score
    0
    All you need is Activesync 4.5 on your computer. Connect you 6800 via cable or bt and start the internet sharing program in your start>programs menu. It will connect automaticly thru activesync.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0

    Active Sync so modem work withs "use phone as modem"

    I installed Activesync 4.5 and connected the XP PC with the 6800. Started phone as modem program on 6800. It connects fine but the PC thinks it is connected to Sync, not to use the modem portion. Sprint gave some lame excuse about the "Simply Everything Plan" not supporting phone as modem. SOmething about a fix in June that may cost $15/mo. Any other tips you might share? Curious if you have this running on your 6800 and if you have the "Simply Everything Plan" from Sprint

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NV
    Posts
    743
    Carrier(s)
    The Big V
    Feedback Score
    0
    disable usb connections under file>connection settings in activesync when you want to use your phone as a modem. Just remember, if you tether this way, Sprint can tell and may charge you for the data used since its not part of your plan.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0

    Modem device on High Definition Audio Bus

    Getting closer. Got phone 'internet sharing' to activate and stay connected, But only by setting (in internet sharing program on the 6800), Network connection='Sprint PCS', not 'phone as modem' and PC Connection=PC. I Disabled the USB check box as you suggested in Activesync and bam connection!

    W/'Use phone as modem' option, I get 2 errors 1) a 67 usr name/psswd error, 2) remote party has ended connection. Its almost as if the modem connection for 'use phone as a modem' in connection settings doesn't exist as far as the 6800 is concerned.

    In any event the PC in device mgr still does not find the modem on the 6800. Tried doing a find hardware on the PC, and XP finds "Modem device on high definition Audio bus" but can not install the driver for the 6800.

    Any other pearls of wisdom you might have to share?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    After a lot of tinkering and absolutely pathetic non existent support from HTC and Sprint, I got the devices working. Here is the process:

    6800 Instructions for Internet Sharing:
    1) Install Activesync if not already installed on 6800
    2) On 6800 Go to Start →Settings→USB to PC . Clear the checkbox
    3) On 6800 Go to Start →Activesync → Menu → Connections. Clear the (when
    cradled) check box
    4) A soft reboot here wouldn’t hurt if # 5 and above fail
    5) On 6800 Go to Start → Programs → Internet Sharing. Set PC
    Connection=USB & Network=Sprint PCS; tap connect on bottom left. If the
    phone errors # 67 bad usr name or psswd, go to Start → Settings →
    Connections tab (bottom) → Connection icon → Manage existing
    connections. Click and hold on Sprint PCS or what ever the default
    connection is, let up and then click ‘connect’. Then return to Start →
    Programs → Internet Sharing and tap ‘connect’ on bottom left.
    6) On laptop, Control panel → Network settings, should hear windows audible
    tone and see connection in the list for the phone. Can rename to 6800 so it
    is obvious when you see by rt clicking. I created short cut on desktop for
    easy access.

    Impressive speed compared to my old 6700. Darn near equal to my DSL. WHat will they think of next

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    boston
    Posts
    44
    Device(s)
    Mogul 6800
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    use this i am using now and its work perfect for me

    you must have a Activesync 4.5 Insall on your PC.

    1) Start Data Connection On your Mogul Before you connect to Computer
    2) go to Program Internet Sharing
    3) PC Connection as USB and Network Connection As Sprint PCS
    4)now Click on connect on your mogul then Connect USB Cable to Mogul

    your Screen on your Mogul Say Check USB Cable Connection then It say connected.

    You should be good to go.
    Turn Off your data connection after use to save battery on mogul

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Southern Ca,Roaming in my RV
    Posts
    8,723
    Device(s)
    Samsung S4 android ATT Mobley,
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon wireless and AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    maybe these links can help you,

    they helped me get ICS going on my 'xv6900' TOUCH on verizon

    http://pdaphonehome.com/forums/ppc-6...5-mo-plan.html

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=341398
    TheMopedwhiz aka TheeWizard,


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ok...I live in an area that I cant get broadband..I was using my ppc 6700 to connect my home network to the internet...my ppc 6800 tethers and connects fine by itself...the ppc 6800 asigns the computer the ip address that windows xp would use for internet connection sharing and wouldnt let me enable that connection for sharing so that all of the computers in my house can get on the internet through my wireles router...i can get on...just one computer at a time...anybody know of a work around or a good free ware proxie server?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well, I've followed those steps and mines is working fine, but my question is, will sprint charge me for this?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    24
    Device(s)
    Tour 9630
    Carrier(s)
    TowerCo.
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MsPlayGurl614
    Well, I've followed those steps and mines is working fine, but my question is, will sprint charge me for this?
    not unless you have a data plan, in case you don't, i think its like 15 cents/kb (not too sure though) you might want to check with sprint.

    my advice, get a powervision pack

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    23
    Feedback Score
    0
    it wont find an ip address any help fellas

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    amigos ayuda!!!!
    quiero cambiar el esn de mi cel pero el driver de usb de mi htc mogul no lo reconoce en adm. de dispositivos me dice que falta el controlador de "generic serial" donde consigo eso

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    este es mi correo porfavor ayudenme [email protected]

Bookmarks