Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: LG Shine on T-mobile - MMS problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0

    LG Shine on T-mobile - MMS problem

    I've just acquired an at&t LG shine CU720 and have recently unlocked it with the 16 digit code from ebay. I am now using this phone with T-mobile provider. Making calls and receiving them are fine with the T-mobile sim. Also have no issues with SMS.

    PROBLEM is ... I cannot receive/send MMS messages, unable to browse T-mobile T-zone web or Access the internet, and cannot connect to any of the IM providers such as AIM, Yahoo messaging, Windows Live.

    I have tried changing all the WAP Access Point Settings, Browser Settings, MMS Settings for more than a thousand times making sure that I was entering the codes correctly. It's driving me nuts

    I've read almost every topic about "unable to MMS" on the INTERNET but sadly enough I am still unable to find a solution.

    Please if any of you have some sort of knowledge on this problem I would appreciate it if you would shed some light. Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0
    ?? help please anyone

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Michigan, USA
    Posts
    2,403
    Phones
    T-Mobile G1 - rooted, running Complete Eclair
    Sony Ericsson TM506 (debranded)
    Nokia 6133 (debranded)
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Are you sure the settings you are using are correct? Double check them with these to make sure:

    MMS: http://wiki.howardforums.com/index.p...aging#Settings

    $5.99 data plan: http://wiki.howardforums.com/index.p...e_WAP_Settings

    $19.99 data plan: http://wiki.howardforums.com/index.p...ernet_Settings

    (you didn't mention which data plan you have)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0
    I got the unlimited messages for families plan that was for 9.99 before.

    I keep reading the T-mobile Setting Configurator is very helpful but that site is always down when i click on it. Has it always been down? I keep getting an error on the page.

    When I was using my Motorola RAZR V3T with T-mobile everything was working fine ( mms, sms, aim, t-zone, internet browser) But when using this non- T-mobile branded phone there have been many restrictions and barriers to the phone's full capabilities.

    TeeJay - all the codes for the MMS are inputted correctly but still no dice...=/

    What about the settings for internet, instant messages, t-zone web browser?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0
    hi viewers.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,462
    Phone
    LG G3, Sony Xperia Z Ultra
    Carrier
    T-Mobile Simple Plan 4 lines (unlimited on one and 2.5GB sharing on another) $130 | 4.5GB MBB
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have CU500
    1. go to Menu->Tools->Connection->Network Profiles, press New
    Connection Title: T-Mobile
    Bearer: GPRS
    APN: wap.voicestream.com
    2. open MEdia Net browser->Settings->Accounts
    Options->New
    Account Name: T-Zones
    Homepage: http://wap.myvoicestream.com
    Connection Mode: TCP with proxy
    Proxy address: 210.155.165.050
    Network Profiles: T-Mobile

    then you need to go to Messaging, ->Message Settings->Multimedia Message->Message Center
    pick T-Mobile MMS or picturemessaging

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    3,116
    Phones
    T-Mobile HTC HD2
    G2X
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Change this: Proxy address: 210.155.165.050

    To This: Proxy address: 210.155.165.50

    See if that helps.
    United States of America 1776 - 2001 RIP

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0
    thor blaze dragon

    ^^ I did exactly just that and still nothing...

    for the proxy address is it....Proxy serv address: 216.155.165.050 or is it what you have 210.155.165.050? On the wiki and all the other sites it's 216.. Either way I tried both and still nothing =/

    For the MMS is the...
    MMSC Port 8080?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Deke218
    Change this: Proxy address: 210.155.165.050

    To This: Proxy address: 210.155.165.50

    See if that helps.

    I will try this now... thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0
    Still nothing - when attempt to send MMS - there is a LONG wait then a error message pops up

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,462
    Phone
    LG G3, Sony Xperia Z Ultra
    Carrier
    T-Mobile Simple Plan 4 lines (unlimited on one and 2.5GB sharing on another) $130 | 4.5GB MBB
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by p12eludesir
    thor blaze dragon

    ^^ I did exactly just that and still nothing...

    for the proxy address is it....Proxy serv address: 216.155.165.050 or is it what you have 210.155.165.050? On the wiki and all the other sites it's 216.. Either way I tried both and still nothing =/

    For the MMS is the...
    MMSC Port 8080?
    I did a quick test on my CU500
    no problem access T-Zones (I have total internet)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    202
    Phones
    Tmobile G1
    Helio Ocean
    Dash
    Carriers
    T-Mobile (3G is gonna be so sweet)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by p12eludesir
    I got the unlimited messages for families plan that was for 9.99 before.

    I keep reading the T-mobile Setting Configurator is very helpful but that site is always down when i click on it. Has it always been down? I keep getting an error on the page.

    When I was using my Motorola RAZR V3T with T-mobile everything was working fine ( mms, sms, aim, t-zone, internet browser) But when using this non- T-mobile branded phone there have been many restrictions and barriers to the phone's full capabilities.

    TeeJay - all the codes for the MMS are inputted correctly but still no dice...=/

    What about the settings for internet, instant messages, t-zone web browser?

    Hi dude, I think you need either the $5.99 plan or the $19.99 plan...because those are internet capable plans...the plan you stated above seems to be a messaging plan.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    578
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Did you first send an MMS to yourself to activate MMS on your phone? I had a problem like that with my 7250i (that was a long time ago). I had to send an MMS to myself and voila.
    Quote Originally Posted by anonymous1
    there are some codes that have words in them. For example, *#WORD#. How do I type in WORD? All I get is numbers...
    Quote Originally Posted by JonnyBruha
    I don't know. Monkeys are one thing, but newbs?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0
    ^^ hmm I shall try that thanks

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    27
    Phones
    BB 8700g
    iPhone coming soon
    Carrier
    T-MOBILE
    Feedback Score
    0
    i think it is a problem with AT&T branded LG phones.. i also have a lg shine cu720 unlocked on t-mobile and i cannot get mms or tzones working for the life of me... my friend also has an unlocked lg vu that is branded to at&t and she is having the same problem... we cant get mms or tzones working on either one of the phones.. i dont know what at&t did to the firmware, but its blocking the connection.... its really frustrating... if anyone makes any progress on this please let me know!!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks