Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 103

Thread: TM506....no tethering...

  1. #46
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    304
    Device(s)
    Pharos Traveler 137
    Carrier(s)
    t-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    so glad to hear that you can tether with this. sucks that i have to wait till friday.

  2. #47
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    805
    Device(s)
    SE K790a + MBW100
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    All the internal documents that I read T-Mobile stated that the phone can not be used as a modem. I am happy to report as have others that the phone can be used as a modem! In fact its what I'm using for a modem as I type this. The only thing I had to change was in the properties of the connection in the SE PC Suite. It had the internet2 address in, I just changed it wap.voicestream.com and it worked.

    Phone history: At this point I have had far too many phones to list, its exceeded 500 characters

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    22
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile G1
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    i've never tethered before...
    i feel weird just saying the word...
    but can i tether with t-zones?
    and if so will it be with 3g speeds?
    thanks!

  4. #49
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    350
    Device(s)
    iphone 3G, Nokia Arte, BB 8900
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Anyone know how to tether with a macbook over bt or cable?

  5. #50
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    90
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TeeJay3800
    T-Mobile doesn't charge for GPS on any of their phones (as long as you have a data plan). AT&T and Verizon do.
    Thank you for the input. However, if one looks at the telenav site, it states that even for T-Mobile, it does cost $10/month to serve up maps.

    http://www.telenav.com/products/tn/pricing.html

    So, while the GPS within the phone does not cost anything, using it for navigation with the telenav software seems like an extra cost. This could be incorrect.

    Or, maybe the GPS is being utilized for navigation with some other software (i.e. google maps).

    So, what are people's experience on this point? Thanks in advance for any input.

  6. #51
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Michigan, USA
    Posts
    2,403
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile G1 - rooted, running Complete Eclair
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Telenav provides things like turn-by-turn directions and finding landmarks. Those features you pay $10/month for, but the basic built-in GPS functions are free.

  7. #52
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The O.C.
    Posts
    5,656
    Device(s)
    Google Nexus 5
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does Google Maps use the built-in GPS receiver for location service?
    Phone History: Samsung Galaxy Note 2 | HTC Sensation 4G | Google Nexus One | HTC HD2 | Nokia 5230 Nuron | Nokia N900 | BB Curve 8900 | iPhone 3G | Google Ion | Nokia 5800XM | Nokia E71-2 | T-Mobile G1 | iPhone 2G

    My Feedbacks: eBay | Heatware | HoFo

  8. #53
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    318
    Device(s)
    Nokia N85, 6301, 5310, 5610, 6263; SE TM506(UMTS 1700/2100), K790a, W580; BB 8900, Curve, Pearl
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile (US)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bachviet
    Does Google Maps use the built-in GPS receiver for location service?
    Not that I've been able to figure out. It seems to just use the cell towers as on other phones. I've loaded the free Amazegps which seems to work if you use the one for the SE C702i Internal GPS. Hopefully they will come out with one that is specific for the TM506.

  9. #54
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    487
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ThorBlaze Dragon
    bt PAN didn't work when tested yesterday
    it's there, but you can't configure it except you debrand it
    Thanks for checking. I just don't understand why useful features keep getting killed off on new handsets. At least from the sounds of things so far Java app network access has not been crippled on this thing, which is progress.
    Ho-Fo User #16742

  10. #55
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    117
    Feedback Score
    0

    TM506 tethering

    Below is the speed test result of tethering with the TM506 and my laptop here in midtown Manhattan. Keep in mind that 3G signal here in Manhattan is slower than the other 3G areas in NY.



  11. #56
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,608
    Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (HP 211 and SE Z780: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; IEMobile 7.7))

    just bought one from corp store, and I'm using it as modem
    the color is green



    Optimum/Cablevision

  12. #57
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    KCMO
    Posts
    2,804
    Device(s)
    N1
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ThorBlaze Dragon
    Wirelessly posted (HP 211 and SE Z780: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; IEMobile 7.7))

    just bought one from corp store, and I'm using it as modem
    the color is green
    If you get a chance, take a look through it and see if you can find a way to turn off OTA FW update. I'm hoping I missed something in it somewhere. If I can block the FW update, I'll pick one up. It I can't, not much point in it for me.

  13. #58
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    4,393
    Carrier(s)
    ·T···Mobile·
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (Sony ericsson k850i: SonyEricssonTM506/R3CA Browser/NetFront/3.4 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 JavaPlatform/JP-8.3.1)

    Apparently this phone's gps doesn't like being used in downtown chicago. Once i left the loop, i wap able to use it. I am happy to use it finally!

  14. #59
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,608
    Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (HP 211 and SE Z780: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; IEMobile 7.7))

    Quote Originally Posted by chimphappyhour
    Quote Originally Posted by ThorBlaze Dragon
    Wirelessly posted (HP 211 and SE Z780: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; IEMobile 7.7))

    just bought one from corp store, and I'm using it as modem
    the color is green
    If you get a chance, take a look through it and see if you can find a way to turn off OTA FW update. I'm hoping I missed something in it somewhere. If I can block the FW update, I'll pick one up. It I can't, not much point in it for me.
    nope
    my version is R3CA033

  15. #60
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    KCMO
    Posts
    2,804
    Device(s)
    N1
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ThorBlaze Dragon
    Wirelessly posted (HP 211 and SE Z780: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; IEMobile 7.7))



    nope
    my version is R3CA033
    Well, my main interest in this phone was to use as a tether. Since we know there is a FW coming that will kill this, I guess I'll save myself the $160.

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Bookmarks