Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 103

Thread: TM506....no tethering...

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,608
    Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (HP 211 and SE Z780: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; IEMobile 7.7))

    Quote Originally Posted by chimphappyhour
    Quote Originally Posted by ThorBlaze Dragon
    Wirelessly posted (HP 211 and SE Z780: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; IEMobile 7.7))



    nope
    my version is R3CA033
    Well, my main interest in this phone was to use as a tether. Since we know there is a FW coming that will kill this, I guess I'll save myself the $160.
    don't worry, my phone fw is already up to date
    it doesn't remove tethering capability, but fixed all data connection problem
    you can use google maps with it



    Optimum/Cablevision

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    ARIZONA
    Posts
    63
    Device(s)
    G1
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Picked up an Amber TM506 this morning. I can't for the life of me get it to connect and tether. My Acer One laptop sees the phone but when I attempt ot dial I get an error message. I had just set up a connection with my blue tooth dongle yesterday and was tethering with my Rizr and it worked fine.

    I think my settings are correct. As a note I had to use the tmobile wireless configure option to get into t-zones. Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The O.C.
    Posts
    5,656
    Device(s)
    Google Nexus 5
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Picked one up and tether fine with it using USB cable and my laptop running WinXP. I had to change the ID to #5 instead of #25 as default. Here is the tethering result (EDGE only in LA):



    I haven't tried tethering using BT yet.

    Remember to change the APN as wap.voicestream.com if you are using the T-Zones. Also set up your proxy address as 216.155.165.50 and port as 8080 in your browser.
    Phone History: Samsung Galaxy Note 2 | HTC Sensation 4G | Google Nexus One | HTC HD2 | Nokia 5230 Nuron | Nokia N900 | BB Curve 8900 | iPhone 3G | Google Ion | Nokia 5800XM | Nokia E71-2 | T-Mobile G1 | iPhone 2G

    My Feedbacks: eBay | Heatware | HoFo

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    246
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bachviet
    Picked one up and tether fine with it using USB cable and my laptop running WinXP. I had to change the ID to #5 instead of #25 as default. Here is the tethering result (EDGE only in LA):



    I haven't tried tethering using BT yet.

    Remember to change the APN as wap.voicestream.com if you are using the T-Zones. Also set up your proxy address as 216.155.165.50 and port as 8080 in your browser.
    But can you set up the proxy on your phone if you want to surf on the phone use the t-zones feature?

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    ARIZONA
    Posts
    63
    Device(s)
    G1
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Finally got it to work. Had to uninstall bluetooth dongle and reinstall. Only getting about 60kbit/s. Was getting 100+ on my Rizr. I am in Gilbert, AZ, a suburb of Phoenix.

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The 909, Southern California
    Posts
    9,949
    Device(s)
    Android
    Carrier(s)
    -T--Mobile USA|Get More
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lovebeta
    But can you set up the proxy on your phone if you want to surf on the phone use the t-zones feature?


    There are no proxies required on the $20 plan, correct?

    I doubt you can tether and use the phone with the $5.99 plan.

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The O.C.
    Posts
    5,656
    Device(s)
    Google Nexus 5
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Antenna
    There are no proxies required on the $20 plan, correct?

    I doubt you can tether and use the phone with the $5.99 plan.
    No proxy is needed for $20 Total Internet plan.

    I have no problem tethering using the $5.99 T-Zones plan (BT and USB cable).

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The 909, Southern California
    Posts
    9,949
    Device(s)
    Android
    Carrier(s)
    -T--Mobile USA|Get More
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bachviet
    No proxy is needed for $20 Total Internet plan.

    I have no problem tethering using the $5.99 T-Zones plan (BT and USB cable).
    Oh really? Thats cool! Do you need any proxy info to use the web? I'm a bit slow with these data plan proxies.... LOL

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,082
    Feedback Score
    0
    ThorBlaze,

    Is TM506 and Nokia N800 /N810 tethering, a good combination?

    Will Gizmo on N800 /N810 work decently, on a TM506 3G connection ?



    Quote Originally Posted by ThorBlaze Dragon
    Wirelessly posted (HP 211 and SE Z780: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; IEMobile 7.7))



    don't worry, my phone fw is already up to date
    it doesn't remove tethering capability, but fixed all data connection problem
    you can use google maps with it

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,608
    Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by libran28
    ThorBlaze,

    Is TM506 and Nokia N800 /N810 tethering, a good combination?

    Will Gizmo on N800 /N810 work decently, on a TM506 3G connection ?
    it will work, but...
    1. use wap.voicestream.com (or internet2.voicestream.com) as APN
    2. dial *99***1#

    if you tether N800 with one more T-Mobile phone, you must have another setting

  11. #71
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    30
    Device(s)
    Sony Ericsson TM506
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    new at this

    anyone try to set up a bluetooth Pan network with the 506 on a macbook? if so what settings did you guys use? I am in baltimore and want to have this when the tropical storm hits just in case the power is knocked out.

  12. #72
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    246
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bachviet
    No proxy is needed for $20 Total Internet plan.

    I have no problem tethering using the $5.99 T-Zones plan (BT and USB cable).
    That's what I imagined. But can you use the $5.99 T-zones plan on the phone itself? I couldn't find any way to set proxy in SE z750a, I am guess their software are similar...

  13. #73
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,608
    Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lovebeta
    That's what I imagined. But can you use the $5.99 T-zones plan on the phone itself? I couldn't find any way to set proxy in SE z750a, I am guess their software are similar...
    use configurator
    pick K850 or W910 (any DB3150 or A2 platform OK)

  14. #74
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,608
    Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by chimphappyhour
    If you get a chance, take a look through it and see if you can find a way to turn off OTA FW update. I'm hoping I missed something in it somewhere. If I can block the FW update, I'll pick one up. It I can't, not much point in it for me.
    I don't think you have to worry if you have total internet or VPN
    T-Mobile can just do SIM provisioning to enable/disable tethering, like MyFaves on my phones
    since I don't have MyFaves plan, I can't find MyFaves on branded phones (3555, 6263, TM506)

  15. #75
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    A hole in the ground.
    Posts
    1,638
    Carrier(s)
    VZW
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by HSDPA84
    anyone try to set up a bluetooth Pan network with the 506 on a macbook? if so what settings did you guys use? I am in baltimore and want to have this when the tropical storm hits just in case the power is knocked out.

    Nope, I've spent about an hour today building my own entry into the .plist for iSync. BT Tethering and Syncing don't work with PAN on OS X. It did work in Boot Camp under Vista.

    If someone who has a USB cable (DCU-60) and OS X... Please connect it via USB, goto "System Profiler", USB and look for the device. I need the Manufacturer ID and Model ID hex string.
    Last edited by RocketMac; 09-07-2008 at 06:32 PM.
    VerizonWireless MiFi 2200 EVDO-RevA

    | My HoFo Feedback! | Flickr Account |

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Bookmarks