Page 5 of 31 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 459

Thread: tm-506 flashing, rebranding

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,042
    Device(s)
    Sony Ericsson TM506 Emerald
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I sent a support request to davinciteam asking them to make the Z780 firmware available to those of us who already purchased our credits through the TM506 page, so hopefully they will. I think everyone here who has an account with them should send them an e-mail requesting the same thing so they get it done quickly
    Previous T-Mobile Customer Care Representative

    "This job would be great if it wasn't for the ****ing customers" - Randal Graves

    "and life is pointless, but what's so wrong with that?" - Stephan Jenkins

    " 'Just say no' prevents teenage pregnancy the way 'Have a nice day' cures chronic depression - Faye Wattleton

    Speed results from my USB Tethered TM506"


    I LOVE 3G!!!

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    13,503
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by danska
    DON'T hold down C, hold down 2 instead while the phone is turned off.
    Ok, great, that worked, I held the 2 down and I installed the USB drivers. Then the client recognized the phone when I held the 2 down instead of the C.

    I got two choices on the services menu. Flash Custom Software or Software Update DB3150. I selected the Software Update.

    Then it showed a list of 10 firmware versions for the Z780. I selected the same one Danska had used:

    SELECTED: Software Update Z780 / CID52 / Red / R3CA033 / CUSTOMIZED BR (BRAZIL)/GRAND ONYX (1208-4565 | AMERICA-VT)

    It was going along fine just like Danska's log until:

    Flashing Main Firmware...
    Error Sending A2 Packet Code 0x6F
    Error! Failed To Check SSW Status!!
    Execution Time - 00:14:26
    Done!

    I don't know what happened. The works as normal. The only changes I've seen so far is that some of the icons in the main menu have been altered, (T-Zones, Voice Notes, IM, Help)

    I still have the 10 credits with Davinci. Any thoughts on how to get rid of the error?

    By the way: these are the 10 Z780i firmwares that are offered on Davinci:

    I don't know if some would be better than others for the TM506...

    Z780i RedBrownBlue CID52 1200-6834 R3BA031 SERVICE EXCHANGE UNIT
    Z780i RedBrownBlue CID52 1213-4402 R3BA035 AR/GRAND ONYX
    Z780i RedBrownBlue CID52 1206-6682 R3BA035 TELCEL GSM MX/GRAND ONYX
    Z780i RedBrownBlue CID52 1208-1911 R3BA035 CUSTOMIZED AR/GRAND ONYX
    Z780i RedBrownBlue CID52 1209-2210 R3BA035 CUSTOMIZED GEL/GRAND ONYX
    Z780i RedBrownBlue CID52 1208-1914 R3BA035 PERSONAL AR (ARGENTINA)/AMETHYST SILVER
    Z780i RedBrownBlue CID52 1208-1910 R3BA035 MOVISTAR AR (ARGENTINA)/AMETHYST SILVER
    Z780i RedBrownBlue CID52 1208-4565 R3CA033 CUSTOMIZED BR (BRAZIL)/GRAND ONYX
    Z780i RedBrownBlue CID52 1206-6652 R3BA035 CLARO BR (BRAZIL)/GRAND ONYX
    Z780i RedBrownBlue CID52 1206-6656 R3BA035 TIM BR (BRAZIL)/GRAND ONYX

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    4,393
    Carrier(s)
    ·T···Mobile·
    Feedback Score
    0
    I picked R3CA033 CUSTOMIZED BR (BRAZIL)/GRAND ONYX because it looked like the most recent firmware. (looking at the rest). You can always try a different one. There shouldn't be much difference feature wise. I just wanted the most recent firmware.

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    13,503
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by danska
    I picked R3CA033 CUSTOMIZED BR (BRAZIL)/GRAND ONYX because it looked like the most recent firmware. (looking at the rest).
    Oh ok. I thought that you picked the R3CA033 because that was the same revision number as the TM506 had. Out of the 10 that was the only one that was an R3CA033 and I was hesitant to choose any of the others.

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,608
    Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    it still doesn't work, even created another account with different email and credit card info
    I remember there's an FTP that I can get fw, and force fw change
    but where is it now?



    Optimum/Cablevision

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    13,503
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ThorBlaze Dragon
    it still doesn't work, even created another account with different email and credit card info
    What does it show on the available services list for you?

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,608
    Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    same as TM506
    even I picked Z780 when purchasing
    did I miss anything?

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    13,503
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ThorBlaze Dragon
    same as TM506
    even I picked Z780 when purchasing
    did I miss anything?
    I don't think so. That's all I did was pick Z780 when purchasing.

    My log started off identical to Danska's. It even said Model Info: TM506 (after the SEMC boot. )

    However, I haven't been able to get the new firmware to load. I tried it again with the same firmware and got the same error as posted earlier.

    It changed a couple of icons in the menu but that's about it. After going through the entire main firmware flash it gets an error and aborts.

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,608
    Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    probably Davinci will provide a script to give an option to change TM506 to Z780, so does similar thing from Z780 back to TM506
    but it probably cost 10 credit (dammit!!! cost 20 credits!)

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    67
    Device(s)
    G1
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    yup, most likely. I tried all the above. New PC, New account, edit registry...just wasted the whole weekend and can't even get a Z780 firmware to show up. I guess more work tomorrow...

  11. #71
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    13,503
    Feedback Score
    0
    On a hunch I took the M2 data card out of the phone and I was able to complete the firmware install.

    HOWEVER, the T-Mobile 3G network is definitely missing from the network list. Just AT&T and T-Mobile 2G.

  12. #72
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,608
    Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jet1000
    On a hunch I took the M2 data card out of the phone and I was able to complete the firmware install.

    HOWEVER, the T-Mobile 3G network is definitely missing from the network list. Just AT&T and T-Mobile 2G.
    what?!
    that you could use 3G before flashing, and now you can't?
    I think I have to wait till davinciteam to custom make the fw
    signed up seuniverse forum, and asked

  13. #73
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    4,393
    Carrier(s)
    ·T···Mobile·
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jet1000
    On a hunch I took the M2 data card out of the phone and I was able to complete the firmware install.

    HOWEVER, the T-Mobile 3G network is definitely missing from the network list. Just AT&T and T-Mobile 2G.
    Nooo!!! I might have to go back to the tm506 firmware again! That sucks! Oh well, the fun lasted for a while.

  14. #74
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    13,503
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ThorBlaze Dragon
    what?!
    that you could use 3G before flashing, and now you can't?
    I think I have to wait till davinciteam to custom make the fw
    signed up seuniverse forum, and asked
    Yes, probably a good idea. The T-Mobile 3G network was in the list of networks while it had TM506 firmware. Now it's not there.

    The Z780i firmware may not be set to pick up an AWS network perhaps?

  15. #75
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,608
    Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by danska
    Nooo!!! I might have to go back to the tm506 firmware again! That sucks! Oh well, the fun lasted for a while.
    but I already bought 30 credits.....
    however, I will keep the credits just in case (may get secondary TM506, can use it if "crippled" fw is installed, as long as CID matches), or once davinciteam developed special debranded fw, or just buy 20 more credits to unlock.....

Page 5 of 31 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 ... LastLast

Bookmarks