Page 6 of 18 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 LastLast
Results 76 to 90 of 268

Thread: Cincinnati Bell 3G Question

  1. #76
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    36
    Device(s)
    Nexus One (on Cincinnati Bell)
    Carrier(s)
    Cincinnati Bell Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    nope actually. i had simple settings and the 3g SIM and was getting all kinds of problems. so then i added the settings (the ones above) and it continued being bad but i never bothered to change it back.

    then i got 2g SIM card and all my problems were fixed - everything was working. so i posted those settings because they just worked - dont fix if it aint broken.

    so i recently changed to paul's simplified settings and its still working well so i guess just use those .

  2. #77
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    11
    Device(s)
    HTC G1
    Carrier(s)
    Cincinnati Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by foil
    Just to add to sportsvoice's list...

    3g works in....
    - 99% of fairborn
    - kettering (at least all the way up and down dorothy)
    - oakwood (whole city so far lol)
    - main street from centerville to north main out in the hood
    - the majority of smithville/wilmington pike all the way into bellbrook
    - most of bellbrook
    - most of centerville
    - up and down brandt pike and old troy/troy in huber heights and dayton

    does not work in...
    - pretty much anywhere off of taylorsville in huber heights
    - parts of east dayton (on and off around huffman/smithville)
    It works along 48 in Centerville but I couldn't get a 3G signal at the high school. I did have a solid 2G connection there. EDGE speed actually seemed like it for a change, it seems like my EDGE connection at home is really slow. Of course, on the 6263 phone the "E" indicator doesn't distinguish whether your connection is EDGE or plain old GPRS.

  3. #78
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    None of the Nokia US 3G version phones will work on CinBell Wireless in 3G. Since it's 850/1900 (AT&T's freq). I was told by their tech people that it was 850/1900. TO find out that it is 1700 confuses me. Supposedly Tmobile AND ATT share roaming. So, if I am in an area where ATT has the duties, then maybe I'll get 3G. I may have to end up going with AT&T after all.

  4. #79
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    157
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Storm
    Carrier(s)
    cincinnati bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    question treo 750? will it work on cincinnatibells network for 3g?
    Recents:

  5. #80
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    157
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Storm
    Carrier(s)
    cincinnati bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (LG vx9900: Opera/9.60 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/4.2.13337/608; U; en) Presto/2.2.0)

    Hello, anyone know

  6. #81
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    No it won't work in 3G mode on their network. It will work as a regular phone with 2G. Their 3G freqs are 1700/2100. Not the standard 850/1900.

  7. #82
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    20
    Device(s)
    Samsung e730
    Carrier(s)
    Cincinnati Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    gamo62, there is one Nokia 3g phone that will work with Cinbells 3g service. It is the 3555, a mid-range flip phone.

  8. #83
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    11
    Device(s)
    HTC G1
    Carrier(s)
    Cincinnati Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    Actually two of them. The 3555 and the 6263, which has a few more bells and whistles. I have the 6263.

    Cincinnati Bell 3g does not appear to fully cover the Dayton metro at this point. I've found a number of places where I have a solid signal but no 3g service. I'm not sure if these are sites that haven't been upgraded yet, or coverage provided by a partner system.

    Interesting tidbit: My Motorola bag phone tells you the MNC associated with each available network when you go into a manual network selection. What I've found is that you get the following:
    310-420 Cincinnati Bell -- display says "Cincinnati Bell"
    310-410 Cingular -- display says "Cincinnati Bell"
    310-260 T-Mobile -- display says "Cinbell USA"
    Hence my guess that maybe in some areas I may be on another system -- however, I don't know if the 6263 is capable of 3g operation in the regular 850/1900MHz bands as well as the 1700/2100 AWS bands, and I have no way of getting diagnostic information out of the 6263 to find out what the MNC of the currently registered site is. Sure would be nice if it had a net-monitor mode I could use.

  9. #84
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    The 6263 is not capable of 3G in the 850/1900 band. If you have their 3G, you'll lose it when you roam. If you have a standard US 3G, then you might GET 3G when you roam. Odd I know.

  10. #85
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    11
    Device(s)
    HTC G1
    Carrier(s)
    Cincinnati Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gamo62
    The 6263 is not capable of 3G in the 850/1900 band. If you have their 3G, you'll lose it when you roam. If you have a standard US 3G, then you might GET 3G when you roam. Odd I know.
    It sure would be nice if a phone existed that would do 3G across all the bands. Even better, one that would do that and also have Wi-fi/UMA capability.

  11. #86
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Eden park
    Posts
    57
    Carrier(s)
    Cincinnati Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am a newbie at this, but I was in the cincinnati bell store the other day and the rep and the tiny placard says the nokia e71 supports 3g. More confusion.

  12. #87
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Eden park
    Posts
    57
    Carrier(s)
    Cincinnati Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    Is the e71 worth a 2 year commitment?

  13. #88
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    There is no committment on the Cincinnati Bell service. And although the E71 supports 3G, it does NOT support their 3G.

  14. #89
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Eden park
    Posts
    57
    Carrier(s)
    Cincinnati Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    Talk about misleading, the previous thread stated a 2 year "equipment agreement" so you cant upgrade for 2 years

  15. #90
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    36
    Device(s)
    Nexus One (on Cincinnati Bell)
    Carrier(s)
    Cincinnati Bell Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    cincinati bell does not have any contracts / committments at all.

Page 6 of 18 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 LastLast

Bookmarks