Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Switching from cricKet

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    61
    Phones
    Blackberry curve 9300 3g
    Blackberry curve 9300 3g
    Carriers
    T-mobile curent
    Boost,CricKet & Virgin mobile (Retired)
    Feedback Score
    0

    Switching from cricKet

    Was curious who has switch from cricKet to boost because of the new unlimited $50 plan? I just did today went and got the i776...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Norristown
    Posts
    447
    Phones
    HTC Touch running Android
    iPhone-Palm Centro
    Moto i425-Moto i465
    Carriers
    Sprint-
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    welcome to boost mobile.i never had cricket but have many cellphones.its not the best but its the best deal i could find.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    98
    Phones
    Motorola i880
    Blackberry 7520
    PPC6700 (3rd one)
    Carriers
    Nextel
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    I left Cricket to Boost, because Cricket quickly racked up in charges. Sure the unlimited local was $25, but voicemail was $5 long distance (even regional) was anoht er $5,throw $5 in the bucket for downloads, $5 for text, etc, and it quickly became expensive. The call quality was pretty poor, and the coverage didn't extend too far to where I was, I had to roam on to Verizon, which cost more money.

    They are handy for doing port-throughs, you can activate on the cheapo and port out, it wastes a few bucks but there are no snafu's. They pestered me for months afterwards with random phone calls and bills asking me to sign up again. No way.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Over There!
    Posts
    18,833
    Carrier
    All of them.
    Feedback Score
    0
    From experience here I would pick Boost in a heartbeat over Cricket.

    Cricket is new to my area but they are having trouble keeping the network open. Every single time I call a cricket # I get "all circuits busy, please try your call again later." ... During peak times (and even as late as 11pm) it takes at least 5 calls to get 1 through.

    In the Cricket forum they were saying this is not a cricket issue, but its only when calling cricket customers, and others have reported the same. I'm sticking with my opinion... its Cricket.
    Home ISP, RR-Ultimate WiFi, $90/mo | Verizon 4G, $30/mo Unlimited

    School, $5,000/semester | Work

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Phoenix,Arizona
    Posts
    170
    Phone
    Nexus
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Left cricket after 5 years due to recent extremely poor customer service. Boost has better coverage but network congestion in the early evening disappoints an otherwise positive experience.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bend, Oregon
    Posts
    7,568
    Phone
    EVO 4G LTE
    Carrier
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Cricket has extremely limited coverage here, only worth the local $25 plan as a secondary phone? But after taxes, fees, etc. not much less than the $43.97 I pay for my Boost Unlimited work phone.
    Sensorly --- Signal Check Pro --- Root Metrics

    $100 - 4 Lines (Framily)
    $15 - 2GB Tablet Plan
    $15 - 2GB Tablet Plan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,191
    Phones
    Note 3, Iphone 5s
    Droid Razr
    Carriers
    Tmobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I tried boost for 3 weeks, but due to text messaging delays and the fact that it took my wife several times to call me just to get through, I went back to cricket. I've thought about going back to boost for nationwide, but I need text messaging to be reliable, and I've had a nextel to play with, and I occasionally test the text messaging and there is still to much of a delay for me to ever use them has my primary phone.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    828
    Phones
    Too Many To List...
    Galaxy S2,all 4 EVOs,Optimus S,TP2,Imagio,Diamond
    Carrier
    Boost(CDMA)/Metro(CDMA)
    Feedback Score
    0
    As far as using your flashed phone on Boost, you can, but no wap which = no mms, specially if you flashed it and changed settings for wap.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,191
    Phones
    Note 3, Iphone 5s
    Droid Razr
    Carriers
    Tmobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by m4f1050
    As far as using your flashed phone on Boost, you can, but no wap which = no mms, specially if you flashed it and changed settings for wap.
    I have yet to see a iden phone that has not worked on boost.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    828
    Phones
    Too Many To List...
    Galaxy S2,all 4 EVOs,Optimus S,TP2,Imagio,Diamond
    Carrier
    Boost(CDMA)/Metro(CDMA)
    Feedback Score
    0
    If the cricket phone used to be a Boost phone. Never mind, I thought he was trying to connect the cricket flashed phone to CDMA Boost.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,191
    Phones
    Note 3, Iphone 5s
    Droid Razr
    Carriers
    Tmobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    also FYI since sprint won't allow Foreign ESN's on the network you cannot use a flashed CDMA phone on boost.. Perhaps I am wrong, but I am 99% sure.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    828
    Phones
    Too Many To List...
    Galaxy S2,all 4 EVOs,Optimus S,TP2,Imagio,Diamond
    Carrier
    Boost(CDMA)/Metro(CDMA)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Right. But you can flash the boost on cricket service, but when going back to boost you lose wap & mms.

Bookmarks