Page 2 of 16 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 235

Thread: HOWTO: Flash TMO-TM506 to CB-TM506

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    171
    Device(s)
    Nokia N900
    Feedback Score
    0
    I think we'll need a custom default.xml too.

    /tpa/preset/default/default.xml

    That file has entries in it that prevent the preinstalled apps from being deleted.

    I don't know the order of execution but it might also override some of the customize.xml settings.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    19
    Device(s)
    SE TM506
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    0

    the phone is now what I wanted it to be all along

    Quote Originally Posted by Scottish Skyeandce
    Wirelessly posted (HP 211 and SE Z780: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; IEMobile 7.7))

    here is better, one-stop solution to COMPLETELY debrand instruction
    follow the first post to flash the phone, but.....
    DO NOT TURN ON THE PHONE AFTER THAT, take the battery out and put back in, run a2uploader, prepare Customize.xml I made (you can get it at tmonews, I put it there)
    run filesystem tool, connect the phone (same way, press 2 instead of C as you did with SEUS), go to /tpa/preset/custom, delete the following
    2 certs from cin bell
    a jpg file from cin bell
    2 .itm hook files
    original Customize.xml, and put the modified one in to prevent the mess
    you can put flashlite 2.0 .swf files and associated themes if you want
    after that, turn the phone on, about 2-3 mins, you'll get welcome screen
    your phone is debranded!
    enjoy radio, Google Maps, flash standby, and Operamini 4
    Worked as described. I didn't do flash menus/screensavers just yet, but the SEUS flashing/debranding process works fine. aGPS appears to work better now. T-Mo 3G works. Tethering works. Radio works (TrackID is there, but it is having difficulty connecting to the servers so far). Don't see a bundled Google Maps just the Wayfinder app. Reinstalled amAzeGPS and it works just fine. Installed Google Maps 2.3.1 and it works, but just with the cell towers triangulation still.

    Reliable GPS + 3G data for amAzeGPS/GMM and occasional browsing is what I really cared for. Still having tethering is good. Radio might come in handy, but one needs to have the wired headset plugged in for it to work.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tampa/Brandon FL
    Posts
    28
    Device(s)
    Sony Ericsson TM506
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tm506
    Don't see a bundled Google Maps just the Wayfinder app.
    Check in the Location Services menu.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    TX,US
    Posts
    3,229
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Strange though!
    flash to Cincinnati Bell TM-506 firmware, even TM-506 phone was exclusive for T-mobile.
    Anyway, it is good found to make T-mobile 3G work and enable radio!

    Thanks S.D.
    T-Mobile - the largest fake 4G network in Americas

    HTC HD2 Speed on 3G/HSDPA

    T-mobile 3G/H or Pharos 137

    My broadband speed


    My WM phone is the best GPS now, say good bye junk Andriod

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    171
    Device(s)
    Nokia N900
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by CoolPhone
    Strange though!
    flash to Cincinnati Bell TM-506 firmware, even TM-506 phone was exclusive for T-mobile.
    Anyway, it is good found to make T-mobile 3G work and enable radio!

    Thanks S.D.
    It's referenced in this rebate form though:

    http://www.cincinnatibell.com/shared...0_08rebate.pdf

    I can't find it for sale either...

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    19
    Device(s)
    SE TM506
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by LazyCody
    Check in the Location Services menu.
    Nope, not there... I also updated Customize.xml for the positioning-ui to match what CBW has.

    Code:
        <positioning-ui>
          <settings reg-path="/apps/positioning-ui">
            <cmz-settings>
              <map-application>2</map-application>
              <nav-application>0</nav-application>
            </cmz-settings>
          </settings>
        </positioning-ui>

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    246
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does the CB-TM506 firmware comes with the SyncML client (aka Mobile backup in Tmo TM506 I think). Given the announced google syncml support, this could be a useful feature.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,608
    Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lovebeta
    Does the CB-TM506 firmware comes with the SyncML client (aka Mobile backup in Tmo TM506 I think). Given the announced google syncml support, this could be a useful feature.
    I think it does, because there's a device management setting on connect tab



    Optimum/Cablevision

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,608
    Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by S.D.
    It's referenced in this rebate form though:

    http://www.cincinnatibell.com/shared...0_08rebate.pdf

    I can't find it for sale either...
    talk about Cin Bell, they have $10 tethering option with voice
    the best deal in the market, if you have service
    hopefully they won't get bought out

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    4,393
    Carrier(s)
    ·T···Mobile·
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lovebeta
    Does the CB-TM506 firmware comes with the SyncML client (aka Mobile backup in Tmo TM506 I think). Given the announced google syncml support, this could be a useful feature.
    Yeah, i tried my tm506 with both activesync and SyncML. I am using ActiveSync for kicks and grins though. Why not!

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    30
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 9700 Bold 2
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does anyone have the settings for the SynML client for T-Mobile backup?

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    171
    Device(s)
    Nokia N900
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Wdunn2626
    Does anyone have the settings for the SynML client for T-Mobile backup?
    This is from customize.xml:

    Code:
      <registry>
        <cmz>
          <status reg-path="/apps/cmz/status">
            <data-account-customized>true</data-account-customized>
          </status>
        </cmz>
        <data-sync>
          <settings reg-path="/apps/data-sync">
            <remote>
              <account id="1">
                <pb>
                  <enabled>true</enabled>
                  <server-uri type="str">./Address</server-uri>
                  <application-available>true</application-available>
                </pb>
                <cal>
                  <enabled>true</enabled>
                  <server-uri type="str">./Event</server-uri>
                  <application-available>true</application-available>
                </cal>
                <tasks>
                  <enabled>true</enabled>
                  <server-uri type="str">./Task</server-uri>
                  <application-available>true</application-available>
                </tasks>
                <notes>
                  <enabled>true</enabled>
                  <server-uri type="str">./Note</server-uri>
                  <application-available>true</application-available>
                </notes>
                <bookmarks>
                  <enabled>false</enabled>
                  <application-available>false</application-available>
                </bookmarks>
                <displayable-name type="wstr">T-Mobile Sync</displayable-name>
                <server-address type="str">http://pimsync.msg.eng.t-mobile.com/sync/s</server-address>
                <rx-username type="wstr">T-Mobile</rx-username>
                <rx-password type="wstr">T-Mobile</rx-password>
                <tx-username type="wstr">voxsync</tx-username>
                <tx-password type="wstr">sonyericsson</tx-password>
                <pref-con-ref type="wstr">t-zones GPRS</pref-con-ref>
                <protocol-version>0</protocol-version>
                <autosynch>true</autosynch>
                <autosynch-idle-timer>10</autosynch-idle-timer>
                <nab-help-uri type="str">http://help.wap.t-mobile.com/topicredirector.asp?s=NAB</nab-help-uri>
                <tx-nonce type="str">d2Vic3luYzEyMw==</tx-nonce>
              </account>
            </remote>
          </settings>
        </data-sync>

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    30
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 9700 Bold 2
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks S.D. now all I need is to delete the Cincinnati Bell wallpaper at start up and I'm good. anybody know where the .jpg is located in the directories? I checked in /tpa/preset/custom file directory and I didn't see it. Got everything working so far, Track ID and all, if any one has any questions feel free to ask. I'm running the Cincy Bell TM506 software.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    31,608
    Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Wdunn2626
    Thanks S.D. now all I need is to delete the Cincinnati Bell wallpaper at start up and I'm good. anybody know where the .jpg is located in the directories? I checked in /tpa/preset/custom file directory and I didn't see it. Got everything working so far, Track ID and all, if any one has any questions feel free to ask. I'm running the Cincy Bell TM506 software.
    /tpa/user/pictures
    the .jpg is read-only, you must change to "RW" first
    that's why I said "don't turn on the phone after flashing, because you can delete the file at /tpa/preset/custom
    but you can edit the Customize.xml to prevent the file getting installed, but the method I suggested that you can delete other branding files altogether

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    30
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 9700 Bold 2
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Anyone know how to delete the pre-installed apps such as Accuweather, Cell Fire? What directory those are in?

Page 2 of 16 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 LastLast

Bookmarks