Thread: Check Call Restrictions -34 (?!)

Feedback Score

Check Call Restrictions -34 (?!)

Hi, I am new to Tracfones and this is my first cell phone in about 8 years. I stopped using one but now need one for emergencies and so forth now that it's impossible to find pay phones. I didn't need any special features (photos, custom rings, texting, etc). So I got the W260 (NOT g) from Walmart. This after doing alot of research and opting for the bare bones phone. It was only $14 and .97 shipping and included a leather case, car charger and DFL.

So far, seems perfect though I have only tested it once. That is how little I use the phone. But the other day, I went to use it in an area I am sure I should have gotten a signal (an area I got a signal on a Nokia 8 years ago!) and there were no bars on the signal icon and when I typed in a number and tried to send, the screen just went to "Check Call Restrictions -34)

Now I thought the beauty of the Tracfone was how it can jump networks. There should have been SOME network in this area.

I am not finding much on this error via Google though I am finding questions on other Call Restriction code numbers.

I emailed Tracfone last night but judging by complaints about their service, who knows if I will get a response.

Anyone? Do Tracfones report Restriction codes when there is no signal? Not just low or no bars?!

This is so disappointing.

Phones
    Galaxy S4 Mini
    Galaxy S4 Mini
    Carriers
    Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    That doesn't sound like your ordinary, run of the mill, can't get a signal problem. That sounds more like a service conflict type issue. Call customer service.

PS... my mom has that phone, and it really gets a strong signal seemingly everywhere.

I've got to get a new sig...

Phones
    Nokia 1100b
    Moto C139; W175g; V120
    Carrier
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    Long after the fact, but in case someone searches for "call restrictions -34" info, as I did....