Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Thread: Incorrect WiFi Password (except it's not)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Posts
    149
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Incorrect WiFi Password (except it's not)

    So I finally decided to try and use my iphone with my wireless network, but when I try to actually connect- I get a message that I'm entering the wrong password. The only problem is, it's not the wrong password. The same password works just fine for all my other wireless items (wii, netflix roku box, etc) but for whatever reason, the iphone sees it as incorrect. This being the case, I'm assuming that this has something to do with iphone settings, rather than a problem with the wifi setup.

    I'm a little new to this stuff, but does anyone out there have any idea why the iphone would refuse to accept the wifi password? Iphone sees my network just fine, but it keeps telling me password is wrong, despite the fact that that password works fine with other electronic devices. Do I need to maybe enable some setting on the iphone, or something else I'm not thinking of? If anyone out there has any thoughts, they'd be greatly appreciated, I assure you.
    98% of the population is asleep. The other 2% are staring around in complete amazement, abject terror, or both.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    NYC - L.I.
    Posts
    451
    Phones
    iphone 3GS White old bootrom for sale
    iphone 4
    iphone 3Gs- For Sale
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    it's been brought up a number of times, people are having wi-fi problems
    heres one link

    wi-fi problems
    APPLE Iphone 4 32GB (Black)
    Apple Macbook pro 17" 2.66 GHz 9600M GT 512MB

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    37
    Phones
    iPhone 3Gs Black and White
    iPhone 2G
    AT&T Tilt
    Carrier
    ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    For me, it took several tries before the password worked. I must have tried it roughly 10 times in a row. It finally took and now it connects every time without any problems.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Posts
    149
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well that blows. I've tried it many many times now and it just won't connect. Kinda sucks- what's the point of having a phone that can supposedly access wifi, if it can't actually access wifi?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    67
    Phone
    iPhone 3GS
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Power cycle your router and try again.

    I got that error today, out of the blue, and after power cycling my router it connected.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    354
    Phone
    Iphone 4s (16gb)
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I updated the firmware on my router and 1000x better.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    ranova.org
    Posts
    2,207
    Phone
    Main: Black iPhone 4 32gb, Back-up: Black iPhone 3G 8gb
    Carrier
    T-Mobile & unfortunately AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    i bet you are using WEP security encryption (which itself isnt secure). Some devices allows the passphrase and some need the full WEP key (which is like 24 characters long). Switch to WPA I or II to be more secure and have a much easier password to remember.

    WEP can be cracked in under 30 seconds.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Posts
    149
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    The only problem is, my device doesn't offer WPA I or II, only WEP security.

    Or at least I don't see that option when setting up the wifi hotspot.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    ranova.org
    Posts
    2,207
    Phone
    Main: Black iPhone 4 32gb, Back-up: Black iPhone 3G 8gb
    Carrier
    T-Mobile & unfortunately AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    what router do you have. Unless its ancient, almost all routers have at least WPA

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Posts
    149
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's a linksys wireless B access point. On the back it says WAP-11, but in the setup, the only options listed are WEP- or nothing. Confusing. Could this be because it's an access point and not an actual router?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Springfield, Mass
    Posts
    687
    Phone
    iPhone3Gs - 32GB Black
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    sounds like you need a new router. either that or wait till apple fixes its wifi issues. I ened up getting a new N router for $35 on newegg and it works great.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Posts
    149
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well my actual router isn't wireless. But I have a wireless access point that allows me to connect wireless devices to the wired router. Until now, every wireless device I've connected has worked just fine. Could it possibly be that iphones just don't work with wireless access points?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    ranova.org
    Posts
    2,207
    Phone
    Main: Black iPhone 4 32gb, Back-up: Black iPhone 3G 8gb
    Carrier
    T-Mobile & unfortunately AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zigmont
    It's a linksys wireless B access point. On the back it says WAP-11, but in the setup, the only options listed are WEP- or nothing. Confusing. Could this be because it's an access point and not an actual router?
    only wireless b? :/

    yea thats pretty ancient. I HIGHLY suggest you buy a new wireless-g router, they run from 25-50. I saw a bunch of refurbs on ebay's daily deal awhile back: http://deals.ebay.com/deals

    You can get a new linksys for $45 with free ship:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833124284

    Buy a linksys for ease, you wont need to hack it with special firmware if all you use it for is to connect computers to it.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    ranova.org
    Posts
    2,207
    Phone
    Main: Black iPhone 4 32gb, Back-up: Black iPhone 3G 8gb
    Carrier
    T-Mobile & unfortunately AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zigmont
    Well my actual router isn't wireless. But I have a wireless access point that allows me to connect wireless devices to the wired router. Until now, every wireless device I've connected has worked just fine. Could it possibly be that iphones just don't work with wireless access points?
    that might be it, I would just buy a new router and condense everything into one device. It makes it more organized.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Posts
    149
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Amazon's got it for 45:

    http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...l/-/B0014J07R2

    Question:

    Can I use this router for wired connections as well? Stuff that's got to be wireless (iphone, netflix box) will of course use a wireless connection, but since my actual computer will be right next to the router, I'd like to continue connecting via ethernet cable. Is this possible with a wireless router, or is it wireless connection only?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks