Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Unlocking a Sidekick 08

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    383
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 3GS 32GB
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0

    Unlocking a Sidekick 08

    I have a sidekick 08. I want to unlock it. I'll be willing to pay to get it done. Can someone just point me in the right direction to where to go?
    twitter.com/jmolesky

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    329
    Device(s)
    i885 unlocked and themed
    Carrier(s)
    nextel
    Feedback Score
    0
    What good would a unlocked sk do as u won't be able to acess the danger server on AT&T and that's the whole reason for have n a sk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    USA/Canada
    Posts
    197
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile Sidekick LX 09 (Carbon)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA/Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    There are plenty of good reasons to have an unlocked Sidekick. There are other providers in other countries that support the Danger device like Telstra in Australia. If you look in the marketplace section of this site, I'm sure you'll find many companies offering the service via IMEI. I personally don't want to recommend any one over another.
    rHG3|

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Mississauga, Canada
    Posts
    877
    Device(s)
    Black Berry 9300
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    different ways of doing it. Through a turbo sim or via imei. first one is cheaper and faster. have its disadvantages. but is for sure cheaper. The imei unlock procedure will take about 2 weeks and cost twice.
    Need a phone cannot find any where, contact us

    Phone: 905 625 1100
    905 625 9983
    Cell Ph: 647 287 2434
    BB Pin: 23A012A2
    MSN : [email protected]
    Address:1325 Eglinton Ave E, Unit 213/215
    Mississauga, ON, L4W 4L9
    Email : [email protected]
    WEB : www.sntradersonline.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    329
    Device(s)
    i885 unlocked and themed
    Carrier(s)
    nextel
    Feedback Score
    0

    Talking Unlock

    Quote Originally Posted by rHG3|
    There are plenty of good reasons to have an unlocked Sidekick. There are other providers in other countries that support the Danger device like Telstra in Australia. If you look in the marketplace section of this site, I'm sure you'll find many companies offering the service via IMEI. I personally don't want to recommend any one over another.
    Yeah well this guys in new jersey so i doubt he asking to do it cause he going to austraila . I would bet he wants to use on AT&T in north America and that would defeat the whole purpose of have n a sk . People think unlocked and the I can use it for whoever or I just unlock and use my tmobile. Phone on AT&T or other way around . Also not realize that other stuff must be done fr it to work rt

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    383
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 3GS 32GB
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    I wanna use it for AT&T. I already know that I can only use texting and calls. Its all fine with me. Should this be good for the turbo sim?
    http://www.isimsys.com/isim-unlock-sim-adapter

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    329
    Device(s)
    i885 unlocked and themed
    Carrier(s)
    nextel
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes but I can tell u this . I have used this type before,it will work but u will need to cut ur sim for it to fit and it will go bad after awhile and @ times won't read the sim and u will need to take it out put it back in and then should be alright . I don't think there worth the money that's just my thoughts on them and experience with them . Also u will still need to change the message settings on the phone . I am not sure that , it can be done from the phone . U may need to get in to the phone with a program to edit the settings . Then it would need to be changed to get it too work for tmobile if u ever want it to work for it again . If I was u I would look to trade or sell it and get myself something else . I just think u got urself more trouble than u realize , be n u are asking how to do the easyest part of the whole process .that be n unlocking it . I will pm u in about a hr or 2 with some info that would and will help ok

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    16
    Device(s)
    iPhone 3G 16GB
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    I heard that if I was to buy an unlocked Tmobile sidekick and try to hook it up on Rogers in Canada that everytime my phone turns off it will reset to factory settings and all my data including phonebook and messages will be lost is that true??

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    32
    Feedback Score
    0
    never heard that 1 .& dont know if true but seems like bs 2 me

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    USA/Canada
    Posts
    197
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile Sidekick LX 09 (Carbon)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA/Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    That's what will happen when used on any mobile carier or plan that doesn't grant you access to the Danger servers through the Sidekick/HipTop data plan. Rogers does have access to the Danger servers but they no longer offer the old Fido plan that would allow your Sidekick/HipTop to contact those servers. This is because Rogers is a greedy company that ridiculously nickel and dines all of it's customers and charges insamely high data rates on all of it's data enabled devices.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    32
    Feedback Score
    0
    I don't really understand this . How could it do that ? Just cause u don't acess the server it will erase ur phone . I used a sk and didn't have a sk plan it never erased my stuff . I am not saying ur wrong but I never tried to do any thing other than phone calls on it . It would have to hard reset itself to do this wouldn't it ? Can you explain this alittle better please . Thks

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    USA/Canada
    Posts
    197
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile Sidekick LX 09 (Carbon)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA/Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    I live in Canada for half of the year and have a Sidekick LX (Blue) and an LX 09 Carbon. If I put my Rogers SIM in my Sidekick, the only stuff that doesn't get deleted are my contacts that I've stored to the SIM card. All texts get wiped out when the phone is shut off for more than a few minutes (ie, recharging it while off).

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    114
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Storm (unlocked
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    For the Sidekick data, only the carrier you bought it for will be compatible with that device.

    You can unlock it just fine, but only phone and sms will work and like the above poster said, if turned off, will erase everything but sim contacts.

    It doesn't matter if another carrier supports the "hiptop" device or even if they support a "Sidekick". It will be for that carrier only.

    I don't believe there is any way around this.
    When our 5 powers combine, we summon Earth's greatest champion: Captain Planet.
    Driver picks the music. Shotgun shuts his cakehole.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    hi am new here would you please help me unlock my sidekick 2008 v210? do you know where i can get a keygen for the licence? please let me know thanks

Bookmarks