Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: How Would I Split My Cable Signal to Watch in More Than One Room?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    339
    Phones
    iPhone 4 (32)
    iPhone 3G (8)
    Sony Ericsson w810i
    Carrier
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0

    How Would I Split My Cable Signal to Watch in More Than One Room?

    I have COX digital cable, but only one receiver box.
    For each additional box its $7, so I was wondering if it was possible to just split it to watch it in multiple rooms, and avoid the $7 monthly fee.

    I only have the 200 channels in one room, and the other room will only have 74, which sucks. Is it possible to do this?

    If so, what will I need?

    And sorry if it's in the wrong section. Didn't see a "TV" forum, and I didn't think it'll be a Computer issue.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Queens NYC
    Posts
    9,387
    Phones
    Samsung A940
    Sidekick II
    Motorola V710
    Carriers
    [RIP Tmo 1/18/05] CINGVZWNXT=Tooo many Bills!!!
    Samsung A670,
    Feedback Score
    0
    not unless u can somehow buy a box somewhere and somehow get it registered. basically what im sayin is i doubt it. ever since the whole going to digital thing, its been worse and worse tryin to save a buck.

    if ur lookin to save money, look into FTA Satellite.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee
    Posts
    9,694
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3, iPhone 5
    Carriers
    U.S. Cellular & VZW
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Maybe I'm simplifying this too much, but wouldn't you just need a simple splitter?


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Queens NYC
    Posts
    9,387
    Phones
    Samsung A940
    Sidekick II
    Motorola V710
    Carriers
    [RIP Tmo 1/18/05] CINGVZWNXT=Tooo many Bills!!!
    Samsung A670,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BigE4284
    Maybe I'm simplifying this too much, but wouldn't you just need a simple splitter?

    thats what im assuming he currently has since he said he already has 74 channels on the other one.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee
    Posts
    9,694
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3, iPhone 5
    Carriers
    U.S. Cellular & VZW
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack in the Box
    thats what im assuming he currently has since he said he already has 74 channels on the other one.
    Beg your pardon, so he wants a cable box in EACH room but just doesn't want to pay the monthly fee?

    Then I think you're right, you've gotta try to find one on eBay or Craigslist. I can't see this being very likely.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,162
    Carrier
    Rogers Communications Inc.
    Feedback Score
    0
    the receiver feeds the signal directly to the tv. if you were to split the out feed and have one go to each room you would only be able to wathc the same channels on both tvs.

    this of it this way...
    you have two tvs but only one dvd player. if you split the out feed from the dvd player you would only be able to watch the same dvd on both tvs. if you buy two dvd players (one for each tv) then you can watch two dvds.

    short answer: you will have to buy another receiver

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    14,633
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8830/4.5.0.160 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/109)

    Cable companies have always wanted a way to charge you for every outlet. With digital, they've found the way.

    Note that most newer flat panel TV's can tune clear QAM digital signals without a box. However, the cable companies encrypt their digital signals to prevent this.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    8,446
    Carriers
    AT$T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack in the Box
    not unless u can somehow buy a box somewhere and somehow get it registered. basically what im sayin is i doubt it. ever since the whole going to digital thing, its been worse and worse tryin to save a buck.

    if ur lookin to save money, look into FTA Satellite.
    FTA long gone now.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    14,633
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8830/4.5.0.160 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/109)

    FTA is long gone?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Queens NYC
    Posts
    9,387
    Phones
    Samsung A940
    Sidekick II
    Motorola V710
    Carriers
    [RIP Tmo 1/18/05] CINGVZWNXT=Tooo many Bills!!!
    Samsung A670,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by vietalogy
    FTA long gone now.
    wow i must have been out the game for a while now lol

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    6,688
    Phone
    BB 9630 Tour
    Carriers
    Boost
    Feedback Score
    0
    correct, you cant. you can watch the same channel in 2 rooms tho. lol
    -------------------------------------------
    Isriam
    Want 20GB of FREE storage? Much better than Dropbox with better software, service, and rules! +5GB for every referral you get! Click me

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    We could not calculate driving directions between
    Posts
    881
    Carriers
    1981 Fernando Valenzuela P
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yea, Drunk is right. I had a friend that did that. It sucks because if your stuck in the room with out control then you are stuck watching what ever the other person wants to watch.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    9
    Feedback Score
    0
    Or you could go wish Dish Network and get a dual turner dual output DVR. I know I did.
    If you must stick with cable try:
    1. a dual spliter
    2. A/B switch
    2. Next Generation Remote Control Extender
    Then you can change channels from the other room. But your still stuck with the same channel, which wouldn't be the case with Dish.
    Good luck

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    10,103
    Phones
    HTC Touch Pro 2
    iPhone 2G
    Sony Ericsson TM506
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    If your cable company offers it, I recommend getting a CableCard. My cable company (Comcast) charges $1.50 for each cablecard instead of $7 a box. I have the one free box I get with the cable company, and I have two cablecards hooked up to a Sony DHG-HDD250 dvr and a Motorola DCH6200, both which I got off of ebay. Only thing is you have to by the Sony and Motorola boxes upfront but eventually, you make it back since i'm saving $15 a month not renting a HD DVR and $8 a month not renting a HD box

Bookmarks