Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: locked apn

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    blank
    Posts
    250
    Device(s)
    droid bionic 4glte
    Carrier(s)
    verizon wireless
    Feedback Score
    0

    locked apn

    Wut does locked apn mean..does all sk plans wrk with all sidekix or is there locked apn's...confused

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    TX,US
    Posts
    3,229
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    obviously, you have a locked phone.
    T-Mobile - the largest fake 4G network in Americas

    HTC HD2 Speed on 3G/HSDPA

    T-mobile 3G/H or Pharos 137

    My broadband speed


    My WM phone is the best GPS now, say good bye junk Andriod

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, CA
    Posts
    9,083
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5 VZW, iPhone 5 AT&T, iPad Mini AT&T, iPad 3 VZW. All with their own unlimited data plans.
    Carrier(s)
    Whoreizon Wireless™
    Feedback Score
    0
    Code Millions is talking about the WAP apn being unlocked on his plan. Not sure if some or all sidekicks have unlocked WAP APNs. when it's unlocked internet works in other phones.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    114
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Storm (unlocked
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I believed the APNs are all locked on the Sidekick. Even if you could change it, it wouldn't matter. Without a connection the Danger server the phone won't work on the internet.
    When our 5 powers combine, we summon Earth's greatest champion: Captain Planet.
    Driver picks the music. Shotgun shuts his cakehole.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, CA
    Posts
    9,083
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5 VZW, iPhone 5 AT&T, iPad Mini AT&T, iPad 3 VZW. All with their own unlimited data plans.
    Carrier(s)
    Whoreizon Wireless™
    Feedback Score
    0
    yea, the APN's are locked on the SK i believe, but on the *PLAN* it's unlocked, allowing other data devices to be used with a sidekick data plan.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    114
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Storm (unlocked
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by The Mac Ace
    yea, the APN's are locked on the SK i believe, but on the *PLAN* it's unlocked, allowing other data devices to be used with a sidekick data plan.
    True. I have an iPhone working on the 20 dollar unlimited plan right now.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    832
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    You cannot use any other phone with the SIDEKICK data plan though. Other data plans, yes. But not the SK data plan.

    And codemillions, where are you seeing "locked apn"?
    Grool.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    114
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Storm (unlocked
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Paine
    You cannot use any other phone with the SIDEKICK data plan though. Other data plans, yes. But not the SK data plan.

    And codemillions, where are you seeing "locked apn"?
    YES YOU CAN!!!!

    Many people have as well. It works on my iPhone, my old Wing, my N-Gage.

    Anything other than a Blackberry, but even that is not technically true since you can get Opera Mini and web connection working without the BIS servers. You just won't have the native browser.

    You just set the APN and password to the same ones on the Sidekick and magic, it will connect.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, CA
    Posts
    9,083
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5 VZW, iPhone 5 AT&T, iPad Mini AT&T, iPad 3 VZW. All with their own unlimited data plans.
    Carrier(s)
    Whoreizon Wireless™
    Feedback Score
    0
    Paine, you are wrong. That used to be the case back in the day, but for some unknown reason, my t-mobile line (now in use by code millions) totally works fine with other data devices. I too had it working just fine on my unlocked iphone 2g. Even a BB will work using opera mini, but you won't get BIS data or PIN messaging.
    Rapaleeman-glad to see someone else taking advantage of this awesome plan

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    832
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well if that's the case, my bad. I use to be a major Sidekick user, and the last time I tried, it didn't work using the data plan on another phone. I'm assuming this is a recent change? Either way, my mistake.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, CA
    Posts
    9,083
    Device(s)
    iPhone 5 VZW, iPhone 5 AT&T, iPad Mini AT&T, iPad 3 VZW. All with their own unlimited data plans.
    Carrier(s)
    Whoreizon Wireless™
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Paine
    Well if that's the case, my bad. I use to be a major Sidekick user, and the last time I tried, it didn't work using the data plan on another phone. I'm assuming this is a recent change? Either way, my mistake.
    No worries. We all make mistakes It's a fairly recent thing to be able to do it. I was unable to do it when i worked at the big pink jesus back in the day.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    105
    Device(s)
    PPC Mogul
    Carrier(s)
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have a pre paid tmo sidekick sim card in my hp mini but i had to use dummy as the used name and password to get it to connect. It's way too slow. Anyone know if the dummy apn is dummying down the connection speed?

Bookmarks