Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Help! Issues with page plus! Unable to reprogram the phone! :(

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15
    Feedback Score
    0

    Help! Issues with page plus! Unable to reprogram the phone! :(

    I have an htc touch that has been working, after I flashed to 6.1 mobile rom I went and did the activation star 22980 and it programmed fine.

    For some reason an hour later i oculd not make a call even though the phone was programmed.

    I did a hard reset to erase everything and it will not allow me to reprogram the phone.

    Called page plus and they said they couldn't help reactivate since its not one of their phones/

    Can anyone lend their hand and help me ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    58
    Phones
    Nokia 5185i
    Nokia 3595
    Samsung SCH-U340 (for a camera)
    Carriers
    Page Plus
    Verizon Inpulse (Samsung)
    Feedback Score
    0
    When i did the OTA programming with *22890 after the 'success' message people were getting 'your call did not go through' when calling the number, and i had to dial a number from the phone itself and it finished the activation. for some reason Page Plus added a needed second step, the first test call from the newly activated phone, which asks for english or espanol, and then says 'congratulations! your account is now active' and gives the balance and it all works.

    I am not sure though if, when you haven't made the test call in time, the activation is failed for inactivity to finish. and i'm not sure when or why PP added that second step. i rememeber when i first saw PPC phones in stores and the slip which came with them said 'DO NOT DIAL *22890 or *228 THE PHONE IS ACTIVE AND READY TO USE!' and then they made that necessary later.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15
    Feedback Score
    0
    welcome to over air proraming

    please wait

    then it goes to " we are unable to program this phone at this time" or call service provider.

    at first I was getting an authetication method and i erased all data to reset phone and it did not want to reprogram again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    58
    Phones
    Nokia 5185i
    Nokia 3595
    Samsung SCH-U340 (for a camera)
    Carriers
    Page Plus
    Verizon Inpulse (Samsung)
    Feedback Score
    0
    I got that when i hadn't yet activated it thinking that using *22890 gives me free activation with free minutes (a dream, sure) and found out that the ESN has to be activated to work. and it only works once. as in if it's active the OTA programming cannot activate an already active ESN.

    When you reflashed it it probably wiped out the settings such as the MIN/SID/MDN in the NAM programming and the phone won't work without it, even if the ESN is active. the phone needs two things to work. the ESN needs to be active AND, the phone needs to have the proper settings inside. since your ESN is active from what it appears, the OTA programming won't work and your settings are probably blank.

    You will need to find out the special code which enters NAM programming and find your Home SID (if it was wiped), and enter a MIN/MDN (sometimes it's labeled 'Phone Number') that would be your cell number.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15
    Feedback Score
    0
    what do you recommend now?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    493
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jjyourpapi
    what do you recommend now?
    I've reprogrammed an active ESN at least 3 or 4 times successfully. I would recommend trying *228 option 1 -- it seems to be more reliable than *22890.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15
    Feedback Score
    0
    doesn't work either....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15
    Feedback Score
    0
    we are not able to program this phone at this time.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15
    Feedback Score
    0
    its a programmign issue

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,813
    Carrier
    PagePlus - No Dealer Required
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'll take a shot in the dark at this one. The instructions are copied and pasted from the wiki found on this forum.

    When OTA programming does not work for an unlocked handset, you can program the handset manually.

    * Call Page Plus Customer Service to get the following information.
    o Mobile Number (MDN)
    o MSID (MIN)
    o Home SID
    o Home NID
    * Enter the code to get into the programming menu (see sections below).
    o Note: 000000 may not work if the handset is locked. Substitute MSL/SPC code.
    * Enter the following into the handset
    o Mobile Number (MDN)
    o MSID (MIN)
    o Home SID
    o Home NID
    * Reboot the handset
    * Update the PRL OTA by entering *228 Option 2
    * Make a random call to complete the activation.


    Possible codes to get to the programming menu: ##000000# or ##778#, or #*#000000# or #*#778#. Otherwise cdma workshop may be in order.

    I have never worked with the handset you have. This is just compiled info found elsewhere.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15
    Feedback Score
    0
    well this is a verizon handset xv6900 and its locked.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    155
    Phones
    LG Chocolate 3
    LG Chocolate 3
    Carriers
    Page Plus $80+$10+$10,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tracnet
    o Mobile Number (MDN)
    o MSID (MIN)
    o Home SID
    o Home NID
    If you're doing an ESN change, all this is the same as the old handset, right?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SouthEast WI
    Posts
    1,038
    Phone
    Sasmsung Moment SPH-M900
    Carrier
    Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jjyourpapi
    well this is a verizon handset xv6900 and its locked.
    find BAFMSL to retrieve you SPC, then figure out how to reset it to 000000

    might need ##DIAG# or #*#DIAG# or ##DIAG Talk or #*#DIAG Talk
    then use CDMA Workshop to reset SPC to 000000

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15
    Feedback Score
    0
    bafmsl doesn't want to open

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    15
    Feedback Score
    0
    i got the diagnostics screen and the code is 000000

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks