Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: ATT prepaid towers are used for Net10

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    77
    Feedback Score
    0

    ATT prepaid towers are used for Net10

    ATT prepaid towers are used for Net10 in my area according to a Net10 Executive Resolution Specialist I have been e-mailing.
    I bought an ATT pay as you go phone and can't figure out why the ATT prepaid phone has such a bad signal compared to the Net10 lg600 and the lg300.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    140
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Tracfone will roam or use extended coverage areas that go phone will not. Also tracfone may be using 850 vs 1900 for gophone. What does the sim card in your tracfone have. Check that, it could be tmobile.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    77
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by monomoy7
    Tracfone will roam or use extended coverage areas that go phone will not. Also tracfone may be using 850 vs 1900 for gophone. What does the sim card in your tracfone have. Check that, it could be tmobile.
    Thanks, I know it is not T-mobile because that is my main provider. I have had Net10 for months and it is always a strong signal.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    7,905
    Phones
    Nokia 8290 (TMO primary and site checker) / 6200 (850 roaming) / 6340i (AT&T PAYG and site checker)
    Nokia 8290 on Simple Mobile (T-Mobile site checker)
    6340i (AT&T site checker) / 6200 backup GSM phone with 850
    Carriers
    Simple Mobile / AT&T PAYG (for backup & checking cell sites) / PagePlus (trial)
    Vodafone NZ / M1 (SIN)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rg634
    ATT prepaid towers are used for Net10 in my area according to a Net10 Executive Resolution Specialist I have been e-mailing.
    I bought an ATT pay as you go phone and can't figure out why the ATT prepaid phone has such a bad signal compared to the Net10 lg600 and the lg300.
    If you go to the AT&T coverage viewer you can see the difference between AT&T prepaid and postpaid coverage.

    You didn't say where you are located, but there is little to no roaming allowed on AT&T prepaid.
    AT&T and T-Mobile SF Bay Area+ Cell Sites - with Cell ID labels
    http://sfocellsites.com/
    Over 1,100 AT&T sites in the 9 Bay Area counties + San Benito, Santa Cruz and Monterey counties
    Now over 1,500 T-Mobile sites in these 12 counties

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    77
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gregsmith59
    If you go to the AT&T coverage viewer you can see the difference between AT&T prepaid and postpaid coverage.

    You didn't say where you are located, but there is little to no roaming allowed on AT&T prepaid.
    I live in the south jersey area. 08003 zip

    Let me try and confirm what Net10 said... Is it true that Net 10 uses ATT prepaid towers?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    756
    Carriers
    Tracfone, Net10
    PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Your terminology confuses me. I don't think there are "prepaid towers" and "postpaid towers" just "AT&T towers" or "non-AT&T towers"

    Net10 phones with C4 SIM will use AT&T towers, they will also roam on some non-AT&T towers. AT&T GoPhone only uses AT&T towers.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    4,813
    Carriers
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rg634
    I live in the south jersey area. 08003 zip

    Let me try and confirm what Net10 said... Is it true that Net 10 uses ATT prepaid towers?
    A Net10 phone can also uses T-MOBILE towers if your phone has a T-MOBILE SIM card (T5) installed

    Your zip, Cherry Hill, NJ is in the GSM5AT market. You could have been sent a AT&T or a T-MOBILE SIM. They have been showing a preference for T-MOBILE in this market. Look in the prepaid menue of your phone for the first six digits of your SIM`s S/N. 890126 = T-MOBILE 890141 = AT&T

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    77
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracfancier
    A Net10 phone can also uses T-MOBILE towers if your phone has a T-MOBILE SIM card (T5) installed

    Your zip, Cherry Hill, NJ is in the GSM5AT market. You could have been sent a AT&T or a T-MOBILE SIM. They have been showing a preference for T-MOBILE in this market. Look in the prepaid menue of your phone for the first six digits of your SIM`s S/N. 890126 = T-MOBILE 890141 = AT&T
    Ok, it is an ATT sim.

    1---Net10 Phone lg600

    2---My T-mobile post paid in a HTC 740s

    3---Nokia 2320 - GoPhone

    All three turned on.
    The best signal is always the Net10. It is never even close. Why?
    When doing work inside a customers house, in hte basement, the Net10 is the one with a great signal. Why?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,696
    Phones
    Samsung T201G
    Motorola W376
    BlackBerry 8703e
    Carriers
    AT&T (Tracfone / Net10)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Net10 is likely picking up a tower that the others are not. A Net10 AT&T based phone has full postpaid roaming as if it was a contract AT&T phone. A Go-Phone doesn't roam, if there isn't an AT&T tower nearby it just doesn't work (except in Mexico, but that is $1 a minute plus). Your T-Mo postpaid will prefer a T-Mo tower but will roam on AT&T if need be. In your case, there is signal from T-Mo, but not as strong as whatever the Net10 phone is picking up. Also, Trac/Net10 tends to use phones that receive signal better than the phones of some other companies so you can make a call from farther away from a tower and the signal display usually displays a bar or two higher than other phones. That could also explain the difference in displayed signal strength between the T-Mo and the Net10 phone.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    247
    Phones
    LG 300G
    LG Dare VX9700
    LG VX4650
    Carriers
    Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rg634
    Ok, it is an ATT sim.

    1---Net10 Phone lg600

    2---My T-mobile post paid in a HTC 740s

    3---Nokia 2320 - GoPhone

    All three turned on.
    The best signal is always the Net10. It is never even close. Why?
    When doing work inside a customers house, in hte basement, the Net10 is the one with a great signal. Why?
    I can confirm what you observe is normal and I have done some testing myself. I have a cheapo Net 10 phone myself ( a LG 300G). Here are some past threads I posted regarding the same:

    http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?t=1589302

    http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?t=1593559

    In my case I was not even able to make calls using a Post-paid AT&T phone because it was using 3G. I initially thought Net 10 phone was using T-Mobile network but I was wrong. After some digging, I learned that the reason Net 10 using AT&T network was better for calls was because it was using plain GSM and it happened to be much better where I am. Though I still suspect, the Net 10 phone is rounding Upwards when showing the signal strength. A post-paid phone using only GSM had comparable signal strength as Net 10 phone.

    Signal strength is a number in a continuous range(-50 through -105) -- lower the number (without sign) the better. It may very well be that your AT&T phone and Net 10 phone are using same cell site but show different number of bars because of rounding. It is very unlikely that your AT&T phone would show 3 bars less than your Net 10 phone. That is, if your Net 10 phone shows 5 bars, your AT&T phone shows 1 bar. I have only seen such wide discrepancy when the phones are using different connectivity: 3G vs. 2G. When both the phones are on GSM, the difference in the bars shows is 1 or 0.

    Some of the (older model phones) have better radios than newer model phones. Still, any newer phone should have decent radio to make calls. Only way to actually test the signal strength is putting it field test mode, make calls and read the actual RSSI. Are you able to put the phones in field test mode and read the actual strengths and compare?

    What matters is if you are getting coverage and call quality is good where and when you need. Are you able to make and receive any phone calls with prepaid AT&T phone?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    7,905
    Phones
    Nokia 8290 (TMO primary and site checker) / 6200 (850 roaming) / 6340i (AT&T PAYG and site checker)
    Nokia 8290 on Simple Mobile (T-Mobile site checker)
    6340i (AT&T site checker) / 6200 backup GSM phone with 850
    Carriers
    Simple Mobile / AT&T PAYG (for backup & checking cell sites) / PagePlus (trial)
    Vodafone NZ / M1 (SIN)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by reddyp
    ...
    Signal strength is a number in a continuous range(-50 through -105) -- lower the number (without sign) the better. ...
    It is possible to get signal strength readings as good as -18 on my phone if you are right at the cell site. Different phones might support different ranges, but even that -18 was probably capped by the phone (Nokia 8290) because the phone got that same reading both 100 feet from a rooftop site and 0 feet from an indoor repeater.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    4,813
    Carriers
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    How about all those competive VERIZON vs AT&T ads over 3G coverage maps? AT&T talks about all the things it has over Verizon but what good are they without a signal? I see Verizon as the clear winner of the coverage war. Am I missing something?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    77
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracfancier
    How about all those competive VERIZON vs AT&T ads over 3G coverage maps? AT&T talks about all the things it has over Verizon but what good are they without a signal? I see Verizon as the clear winner of the coverage war. Am I missing something?
    I didn't even want to tell you that I am also trying Page
    Plus on a SMT5800.
    I also tried a Criket prepaid i bought from Target.

    Still, the Net10 completes and gets the best signal for calls in my area.
    Last edited by rg634; 12-09-2009 at 03:04 PM. Reason: spelling error

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Kennebec County
    Posts
    180
    Phones
    iPhone 4 VZW - Nokia 2126 TracFone
    iPhone 4 - Nokia 2126
    Carriers
    1. GWI iLine
    3. ex- AT&terrible
    Feedback Score
    0
    AT&T gophone is certainly not roaming. Native AT&T native towers only. Which is how I lost my coverage when - back then Cingular - they mandated a GSM upgrade, with the convenient omission that we could no longer roam.

    Even identical phones will show a different signal strength on the same location. I've used / tried as many as three Nokia 2126's side by side to see one always show an extra bar over another.

    Some phones "bars" are split in more or less segments. I was somewhat comparing the LG which has 5 while the Nokia has 7 the other day on a trip north. I think the Nokia has the edge (certainly in battery life), but at times the LG would outrun it and have 3/5 over 3/7 ...

    The other thing I think I've noticed is that the strength isn't continuously updated on the fly, but every few seconds.

    Anyway, title of the topic could probably read Net10 roams on ATT towers. As others said, there's no ATT prepaid towers.
    It's getting the signal that matters.

    GoPhone Caution: AT&T / Cingular GoPhone = No Roaming
    Our Nokia CDMA TracFones boldly go anywhere and make calls beyond where we only dreamed to get a signal with Cingular / AT&T

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    247
    Phones
    LG 300G
    LG Dare VX9700
    LG VX4650
    Carriers
    Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by icerabbit
    Even identical phones will show a different signal strength on the same location. I've used / tried as many as three Nokia 2126's side by side to see one always show an extra bar over another.

    Some phones "bars" are split in more or less segments. I was somewhat comparing the LG which has 5 while the Nokia has 7 the other day on a trip north. I think the Nokia has the edge (certainly in battery life), but at times the LG would outrun it and have 3/5 over 3/7 ...
    I have not tested with identical phones. I think the difference could be that the signal strength is updated at different times on the phones. However, the difference should not be more than a bar or two.

    7 bars? I have not seen any phone having more than 5 bars max. Some recent phones have only 4 bars max.

    Quote Originally Posted by icerabbit
    The other thing I think I've noticed is that the strength isn't continuously updated on the fly, but every few seconds.
    Even if the phones are identical and side by side, they might get the status updates from the tower/site at different times.

    I changed my LG300 to use only PCS mode and now shows a bar lower than it used to when it was set to 'Default'.

    Typically, a phone's signal indicator usually starts out with fluctuation (changing from 2 to 4 and 5 and back to 4 or even randomly) and then settles down (to 3, 4, or 5). My CDMA phones, when indoors, all settle down and stay there for longer duration than GSM phones. When outdoors and traveling or standing at a fixed location, the indicator also settles down and stays there for longer time.

Bookmarks