Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: What Network Does WIND Mobile Use?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0

    What Network Does WIND Mobile Use?

    Hi,

    What network does wind mobile use? Like, what i mean is is it like the rogers where they use simcards? Could i use my unlocked pearl on it with a wind sim card?

    Thanks,

    mobileman555

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,154
    Phones
    OnePlus One
    Blackberry Passport
    Apple iPhone 5
    Carriers
    WIND Mobile, Bell Mobility, T-Mobile,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Think T-Mobile 3G. If you want to know what phones are compatible start looking at the T-Mobile US site and looking at the 3G phones. Like Bell and Telus, there is no 2G network so your Pearl will not work on anything but Rogers/Fido.

    Maybe it's time to upgrade to a 9700
    All comments are my own opinion and do not reflect the views of my employer or affiliated groups.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    97
    Phones
    Nokia N81 8GB
    T-Mobile HTC Touch Pro 2
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonavin
    Maybe it's time to upgrade to a 9700
    Ya same band as T-mobile USA. It will not work what so ever on any phone offered by Robellus.

    Buy a phone from Wind or T-Mobile USA. That is the only solution.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    289
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S2 LTE, Samsung Galaxy S3
    Carrier
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    To clarify it even further:

    Wind has built a 3G network with the same technology as Rogers, but they are on a different frequency than any Rogers phone supports. The frequency they use is the same as T-Mobile and as such, any phone that T-Mobile offers should work with Wind if it is unlocked.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    294
    Phones
    Blackberry 9800
    Blackberry Bold
    Blackberry Pearl
    Carrier
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    ah that sucks that my rogers bold wont work on wind

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    250
    Phones
    razr/p800
    t630
    t616
    Carriers
    Rogers
    Fido/Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    ive read that iphone voice only and Edge data was working for people in the usa on t-mobile by unlocking is that true? if so will it also be true for wind? 1700mhz and 2100mhz?
    www.readyhost.org free webhosting!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,154
    Phones
    OnePlus One
    Blackberry Passport
    Apple iPhone 5
    Carriers
    WIND Mobile, Bell Mobility, T-Mobile,
    Feedback Score
    0
    There's no 2G network, so no iPhones at all... at least not until next June at the earliest.

    Just like Bell and Telus's recent launch. It's a pure 3G UMTS/HSPA(+) network. Apple just needs to tweak the iPhone to add sending at 1700, but until they do... no iPhone on any of the new carriers.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    250
    Phones
    razr/p800
    t630
    t616
    Carriers
    Rogers
    Fido/Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    ic thanks for quick reply...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Look over yer shoulder
    Posts
    10,490
    Phones
    iPhone IVS | 9900 B0ldTouchDizzle
    GoogleNexus, GNote
    ▬ JAWBONE I [Sold the II, & the Prime :(], Icon, Blueant Q1, H680, H12
    Carrier
    The one who pays me to use their service
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by TLS2000
    ...they are on a different frequency than any Rogers phone supports...
    You are wrong my friend.

    HTC Dream/Magic/Bold support 1700 3G/UMTS/HSPA whatever the HECK it is.
    refer to gsm-arena

    I'm gathering that wind won't allow foreign devices on their network for the time being. Can they really hold out indefinately?
    300 @ 5pm●5K SMS●Auto Roadside●Unlim Inc●1000LD●R2RLD●VP●6Gb LTDizzle+credits = <$36
    34+|0|0 119+|0|0

    For Sale: Crazy Sexy Cool 416-888's or 613 #'s
    WTT: My BNIB Note 2 for an Ipad Mini or 4
    Factory Unlocked 5White32gb, GNote2x2, 9900 LNIB Retired, GS3 for Mobi
    i7 920 @ 2.67GHz 9Gb DDR3
    My Wireless LD FAQ., READ IT!!!
    The Jawbone I, photo-review

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    101
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bubble.tea
    You are wrong my friend.

    HTC Dream/Magic/Bold support 1700 3G/UMTS/HSPA whatever the HECK it is.
    refer to gsm-arena

    I'm gathering that wind won't allow foreign devices on their network for the time being. Can they really hold out indefinately?
    The rogers BB 9700 is different from the wind one which uses T-mobile bb 9700 version.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,154
    Phones
    OnePlus One
    Blackberry Passport
    Apple iPhone 5
    Carriers
    WIND Mobile, Bell Mobility, T-Mobile,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Same with the Dream and magic. They are different versions that would be compatible with T-Mobile/WIND.

    Interestingly, the USB stick WIND is selling has 850/1900, IMT2100 and AWS. Works on every network in Canada and most 3G networks around the world.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    250
    Phones
    razr/p800
    t630
    t616
    Carriers
    Rogers
    Fido/Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    iphone supports: 2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
    3G Network HSDPA 850 / 1900 / 2100
    as i said before people in usa live in areas where tmobile has 2100 support are able to use iphone. anyone try putting their wind sim card in iphone yet?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,154
    Phones
    OnePlus One
    Blackberry Passport
    Apple iPhone 5
    Carriers
    WIND Mobile, Bell Mobility, T-Mobile,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ultimatedbz
    iphone supports: 2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
    3G Network HSDPA 850 / 1900 / 2100
    as i said before people in usa live in areas where tmobile has 2100 support are able to use iphone. anyone try putting their wind sim card in iphone yet?
    T-Mobile does not have 2100 (BAND I) in the US. They have Band IV... just like WIND. No carrier in North America has Band I that the iPhone supports.... so therefor, no iPhone until a new version comes out that supports Band IV (aka AWS, 1700).

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    101
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ultimatedbz
    iphone supports: 2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
    3G Network HSDPA 850 / 1900 / 2100
    as i said before people in usa live in areas where tmobile has 2100 support are able to use iphone. anyone try putting their wind sim card in iphone yet?

    That's interesting. So has it been confirmed that you could use the Iphone for T-mobile?

    Is that for Voice only or data only?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    250
    Phones
    razr/p800
    t630
    t616
    Carriers
    Rogers
    Fido/Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    i read voice and data but you be the judge: quick search on google alot of links:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IAr4DiWWlu4

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks