Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 41

Thread: Dialing *228 on T-Mobile??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Florida - near a palm tree.
    Posts
    1,933
    Phone
    Samsung t409, Samsung Gravity TXT, and Nokia Lumia 710
    Carrier
    T-Mobile GSM/3G/4G/UMA (voice/text/data)
    Feedback Score
    0

    Dialing *228 on T-Mobile??

    Interesting... so dialing *228 on T-Mobile's network with a T-Mobile phone it prompts you to press ''1'' for English or ''2'' for Spanish then transfers you to a live representative.

    Nice alternative to dialing 611 and having to wade through all the menus.
    Or calling them directly through their 800 backdoor# (*228 - wonder if it uses minutes or is counted as a 611 call).

    Thought this was interesting enough to share (since *228 on CDMA is for OTA updates, PRLs and activation).

    -tmobiley
    T-Mobile. Connecting you when you need it most... disconnecting you when you need to connect with God's beautiful creation! Service is great in cities and highways, but in rural areas they leave you with just your surroundings. I encourage you to get T-Mobile, disconnect for a while!

    I am glad that God is not like cell phone coverage. He does not hide behind mountains or loose us down long windy roads. The Lord levels mountains, and He makes our paths straight!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington USA
    Posts
    15,517
    Phones
    Nokia 5310 w/Jabra BT250V handsfree, Nokia 6010, Nokia 6030
    Nokia 6310i, Nokia 8310 (Europe)
    Carrier
    T-Mobile US, Fido, T-Mobile NL, Orange IL
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tmobiley
    Interesting... so dialing *228 on T-Mobile's network with a T-Mobile phone it prompts you to press ''1'' for English or ''2'' for Spanish then transfers you to a live representative.

    Nice alternative to dialing 611 and having to wade through all the menus.
    Or calling them directly through their 800 backdoor# (*228 - wonder if it uses minutes or is counted as a 611 call).

    Thought this was interesting enough to share (since *228 on CDMA is for OTA updates, PRLs and activation).

    -tmobiley
    "Your call cannot be completed as dialed. Please check the number and dial again or call 611 for customer assistance."
    Moderator yahoogroups forum T-Mobile-US http://groups.yahoo.com/group/T-Mobile-US

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, United States
    Posts
    1,552
    Phone
    Apple iPhone 4 64GB (White)
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Telekom
    "Your call cannot be completed as dialed. Please check the number and dial again or call 611 for customer assistance."
    Same here. I am on Nexus One for reference.
    If you commonly type the name iPhone as "Iphone" or "I-Phone"... or if you commonly refer to an iPod Touch as an "iTouch" or "I-Touch"...... Then you deserve whole bottle of habanero hot sauce poured into your eyes!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Florida - near a palm tree.
    Posts
    1,933
    Phone
    Samsung t409, Samsung Gravity TXT, and Nokia Lumia 710
    Carrier
    T-Mobile GSM/3G/4G/UMA (voice/text/data)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Interesting - so since we seem to have some people who can and some who can't call it let's start researching it.

    Post
    - your phone model
    - your rate plan
    - time call was placed
    - the market which your number is from
    - the market you placed the *228 call from

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Florida - near a palm tree.
    Posts
    1,933
    Phone
    Samsung t409, Samsung Gravity TXT, and Nokia Lumia 710
    Carrier
    T-Mobile GSM/3G/4G/UMA (voice/text/data)
    Feedback Score
    0
    My info is as follows:

    - Phone is a Samsung Katalyst*
    - FamilyTalk 2500 National
    - 21:20 EST
    - Phone # from Orlando Market
    - Placed call in Daytona Beach Market

    *228 works both on the UMA/H@H and Cellular networks (for me at least)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    6,307
    Phone
    iPhone 5s 64GB Silver
    Carrier
    AT&T 4G LTE
    Feedback Score
    14 (100%)
    I get the same message you do tmobiley... Option 1 takes me to English customer care.

    your phone model
    HTC myTouch

    your rate plan
    DTMCSA 2000

    time call was placed
    6:30 PM PST

    the market which your number is from
    CA: Former PacBell / Cingular Wirelesss

    the market you placed the *228 call from
    CA: Former PacBell / Cingular Wirelesss

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    407
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I get the same message you do tmobiley... Option 1 takes me to English customer care.

    your phone model
    Nokia 6301

    Via WiFi / Via Cell Tower
    No / Yes

    your rate plan
    MyFave Family 1800

    time call was placed
    7:23 PM PST

    the market which your number is from
    CA: T-Mobile / Inland Empire

    the market you placed the *228 call from
    CA: T-Mobile / Inland Empire

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,392
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S5
    Carriers
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/4.2.14912/1280; U; en) Presto/2.2.0)

    Awesome. Worked for me. Really quick too.

    Phone model: Curve 8900
    Called using cell tower (No UMA/wifi)
    Rate plan: EM+ TTW (79.99)
    Called at 11:15 PM (Eastern Time)
    Upstate NY.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sunny South Florida
    Posts
    131
    Phones
    RIM BB 9700 Tmobile
    RIM BB 8900 Unlocked.. Maybe selling soon.
    RIM BB 8830 for wok
    Carriers
    Tmobile on UMA.
    NEXTEL (mostly DC)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Did not work for me. "your call can not be completed as dialed."

    Phone model:
    Blackberry Bold 9700

    Via WiFi / Via Cell Tower
    Does not Work / Does not Work.

    Rate plan:
    EM Unlimited.

    Time call was placed:
    20:29 PST

    Market my number is from:
    Miami, Florida.

    Market I placed the *228 call from:
    SFO CA.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    375
    Phones
    Current: Nexus 5 on the way!
    Past: HTC Sensation,
    Nokia Nuron, Nokia 6133, SE T610,
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Worked fine for me... Thanks for the tip. Now, I just hope I can remember it when I need it.

    - your phone model
    Nokia 6133

    - your rate plan
    59.99 Family

    - time call was placed
    22:50 CST

    - the market which your number is from
    Austin, TX

    - the market you placed the *228 call from
    Austin, TX
    TC.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    In a van down by the river
    Posts
    2,697
    Phones
    HTC EVO LTE
    EVO LTE
    iPhone 4S
    Carrier
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    No luck here..

    Phone model:
    Nexus One

    Via WiFi / Via Cell Tower
    Via cell tower

    Rate plan:
    Employee rate plan

    Time call was placed:
    11:58PM EST

    Market my number is from:
    Orlando, FL

    Market I placed the *228 call from:
    Orlando, FL

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Carolina, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    8,198
    Phones
    Samsung Galaxy S Glide
    Samsung Galaxy Appeal
    Samsung Galaxy Tab 2
    Carrier
    AT&T Go Phone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mixed results for me. Thank you for calling T-Mobile... while on UMA. Call does not go through at all on GSM.

    - your phone model
    BlackBerry 8900

    - your rate plan
    PR National Flat Fee (unlimited)

    - time call was placed
    12:55 AM local time (11:55 PM EST)

    - the market which your number is from
    Puerto Rico

    - the market you placed the *228 call from
    Puerto Rico

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Redwood Valley, Northwestern California (Previous-Pocatello, Idaho(90-97)/Southern California(71-90)
    Posts
    25,788
    Phone
    HTC One M8/Samsung Galaxy Note 3/Nokia Lumia 521
    Carrier
    AT&T/T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Telekom
    "Your call cannot be completed as dialed. Please check the number and dial again or call 611 for customer assistance."
    That's what I get here too when dialing *228.


    Post
    - your phone model-SE TM506
    - your rate plan:PrePaid
    - time call was placed:9:20 PM PST
    - the market which your number is from:Northwestern California
    - the market you placed the *228 call from:Northwestern California

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    266
    Phones
    Droid Razr Maxx HD, Blackberry Z10
    Blackberry Z10
    Droid Razr Maxx HD
    Carriers
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Phone model: Pharos 137
    Called using 3g
    Rate plan: Unlimited Loyalty
    Called at 11:40 PM Mountain Time from Phoenix, AZ

    "Your call could not be completed as dialed."

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    88
    Phones
    HTC Touch Pro 2 - XDA Rom/Radio
    HTC Touch 3G - SOLD
    O2 XDA Flame - SOLD
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Works great for me Quicker CSR now!

    Phone model:
    Touch Pro 2

    Via WiFi / Via Cell Tower
    Via cell tower

    Rate plan:
    Family Plan

    Time call was placed:
    11:24PM PST 1/11/2010

    Market my number is from:
    Los Angeles, CA

    Market I placed the *228 call from:
    Alhambra, CA
    T-Mobile Family Plan
    2xLine 700min - $59.99 (changed from 1000min to 700min on 4.26.10)
    Additional lines - $9.99 x 2
    Unlimited N/W 9PM
    Unlimited M2M
    T-Zones - $5.99 (Added April 2009 - 1 line - called 10 times)
    Web2Go Preferred - $5
    MyFaves - FREE (Added May 2009 - contract renewed - called 1 time)
    Unlimited Family Txt - $9.99 (Added January 2010 - called 10 times)
    Free Family Allowances - Added some time in June
    AAA 15% + AMEX 5% Wireless Discount

    Member since April '09

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Bookmarks