Page 18 of 24 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 LastLast
Results 256 to 270 of 359

Thread: UMA WORKING!! Unlocked Bell 9700 -> Rogers Talkspot! OMG

  1. #256
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    9
    Device(s)
    9700
    Carrier(s)
    ROGERS
    Feedback Score
    0

  2. #257
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    16
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by moembamba View Post
    Ok so just posted @ 2 am success with UMA on a Rogers Bold 9700 ,update to O.S 5.0.0.862 ,im just downloading it ,will update yall after

    http://forums.crackberry.com/f73/uma-rogers-now-506653/
    Asked this on Crackb erry as well... Ok, just to be clear - UMA is working on the Rogers network, on a 9700, 3G mode (not EDGE), with no engineering screen hacks, etc.?? You can access the UMA setup/configuration screens from the menu, like normal on an EDGE device that supports UMA?

    Please, please say yes... :-)

  3. #258
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Scarborough
    Posts
    4,102
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm confused

    I had UMA working on my Rogers 8900 on fido since i got it (march 2010) Is there anything I'm missing? I thought it was a feature that was always offered
    Current Plan
    $50 - T-Bay Unlimited Nationwide Minutes
    6GB
    Call Display/VM/Text

  4. #259
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    170
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry 9800
    Carrier(s)
    Cantel > Cantel AT&T > Rogers AT&T > Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by EPcjay View Post
    I'm confused

    I had UMA working on my Rogers 8900 on fido since i got it (march 2010) Is there anything I'm missing? I thought it was a feature that was always offered
    not on all devices, mainly 3G devices with WiFi, didn't have UMA capabilities for whatever reason.
    Nokia 638, Nokia 6160, Nokia3360, Sony Ericsson T600, Nokia 3220, Nokia 6682, Nokia 6133, BlackBerry Pearl 8120, BlackBerry Pearl 8220, Back to 8120, BlackBerry Storm2 9550, Back to 8120 again, BlackBerry Torch 9800.

  5. #260
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    10,193
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    I downloaded .862 and I got no UMA options. My 9700 was just refurbed and I'm now wondering if it's because this was not originally a Rogers device. I say that because it doesn't show up on my account on MyRogers. I guess I'll have to call Rogers once this leak goes live.

  6. #261
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Scarborough
    Posts
    4,102
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Shawn View Post
    not on all devices, mainly 3G devices with WiFi, didn't have UMA capabilities for whatever reason.
    Just to be sure, when I make a phone call while on wifi, the top right corner switches to UMA. That means it's working right?

  7. #262
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    9
    Device(s)
    9700
    Carrier(s)
    ROGERS
    Feedback Score
    0
    So first "AJSHER" answer is yes no engineering needed .after the update , go to /options /wifi/menu/wifi tools/wifi diagnostics /thre are 2 uma boxes one will be green and the other red .Means u have uma ,the red means ur not subscribed to a talkspot plan. "EPcjay" u can use uma feature to make calls and get a better reception .but the minutes come out normally as if u were away from a wifi router , when u sign up for talk spot plan , that's when ur calls around a wifi router are unlimited ,$10 local unlimited $15 Canada wide .
    *cool feature * so let's say ur on a talk spot call , with edge and or 3G running as well ,you can leave home while on the call , as long as ur not disconnected from that call , your call minutes still come from your talkspot plan .as soon as u hang up,ur back on ur carrier minutes .

  8. #263
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    9
    Device(s)
    9700
    Carrier(s)
    ROGERS
    Feedback Score
    0
    BTW , this worked for me on a Rogers bold 9700 , not sure abt refurbished non Rogers phones

  9. #264
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    999
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Heres a screen shot from my Bell 9700 unlocked running on Rogers.




  10. #265
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Posts
    36
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Confirming that with 5.0.0.862, I now have UMA with a Rogers-branded 9700 on the Rogers Wireless network, and that the Connection Preference option now appears in the Mobile Network options.

  11. #266
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    777
    Device(s)
    Bold
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Same here

    Quality is hit and miss on some APs I've hit...but it is there.

    Shame I can't add talkspot to our corporate plan

  12. #267
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    9
    Device(s)
    9700
    Carrier(s)
    ROGERS
    Feedback Score
    0
    congrats klotar , ive been waiting for uma for a while .got my 6 gigs of data for $30 bucks too , sweet deal

  13. #268
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    170
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry 9800
    Carrier(s)
    Cantel > Cantel AT&T > Rogers AT&T > Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by EPcjay View Post
    Just to be sure, when I make a phone call while on wifi, the top right corner switches to UMA. That means it's working right?
    where your network would say edge, EDGE, or 3G, instead says UMA, or uma, then yes it works.

  14. #269
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,121
    Device(s)
    9700R
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    There is corporate talkspot - i have on my line and it saved huge $$ on my bucket and long distance. There's $10 local and $15 canada wide just like consumer!

  15. #270
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
    Posts
    6,588
    Device(s)
    Unlocked Rogers Blackberry Q10 | LG Nexus-4 | Samsung Nexus-S
    Carrier(s)
    Fido | Rogers Prepaid | LycaMobile US | Bell | T-Mobile Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Klotar View Post
    Confirming that with 5.0.0.862, I now have UMA with a Rogers-branded 9700 on the Rogers Wireless network, and that the Connection Preference option now appears in the Mobile Network options.
    Same here...

    I was actually looking for this thread but posted my results in a different thread that I found.

    No need to hack your Rogers Blackberry Bold 9700 (beyond upgrading the firmware to a non-Rogers approved/distributed RIM firmware) to get UMA. I updated to 5.0.0.862 over the weekend and noticed the UMA symbol. Unfortunately, I can't test the UMA since I have a voice block on my account and I believe that it is also blocks the UMA calls (I get the same audio message when I attempt to call and have the UMA symbol as I do when I have the 3G symbol).
    Unlimited Fido Data Plan: Netgear Aircard LTE Mobile Hotspot

    My Tech Blog

Page 18 of 24 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks