Page 24 of 24 FirstFirst ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24
Results 346 to 359 of 359

Thread: UMA WORKING!! Unlocked Bell 9700 -> Rogers Talkspot! OMG

  1. #346
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    417
    Device(s)
    BB 8520, BB Bold 9700, iPhone 3GS 16GB
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Rogers will be releasing updates for the 9100, 9300 and 9700 that will support UMA in teh coming week(s)

    This has been confirmed by RIM this morning
    The world is mine!

  2. #347
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2,994
    Device(s)
    7290
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers, PostPaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MleXxus View Post
    Rogers will be releasing updates for the 9100, 9300 and 9700 that will support UMA in teh coming week(s)
    Heck, coming days even.

    .862 (pkg 1446) for 9700 is out; visit
    http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support...load_sites.jsp
    go to bottom of page and click on 'Rogers'. then proceed for the 9700 as the chosen device.

    This has been confirmed by RIM this morning
    Can I ask if & where you saw that confirmation? Just curious of the source if I may.

  3. #348
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    417
    Device(s)
    BB 8520, BB Bold 9700, iPhone 3GS 16GB
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BellVictim View Post
    Heck, coming days even.

    .862 (pkg 1446) for 9700 is out; visit
    http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support...load_sites.jsp
    go to bottom of page and click on 'Rogers'. then proceed for the 9700 as the chosen device.

    Can I ask if & where you saw that confirmation? Just curious of the source if I may.
    This info came from RIM's Eastern Operations Manager. He also came by the office today and mentioned each carrier will be getting close to 30000 Torch's for launch, so no stock problems

    As for UMA, the Torch, 9700, 9300 and 9100 will be getting a software update for UMA support in the coming week(s)

  4. #349
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Richmond Hill/Scarborough
    Posts
    557
    Device(s)
    BB Bold 9900
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Any way of getting this to work on an unbranded 9780?

  5. #350
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    Replied and subscribed.

  6. #351
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    51
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4
    Carrier(s)
    FIDO
    Feedback Score
    0
    Since this is officially released "Wifi Calling for Small Businesses"
    How has it been? does it work better with 3g enabled, or does UMA seem to connect when 3g is turned off?

    Also, can anyone explain the difference in packages Rogers is offering?
    $10 for Local Calling
    $15 for Canada Wide Calling

    Do hotspots need to be registered or anything? will it work say at hotels as I travel around with no settings adjusted? (of course being the hotel WAP is compatible.)

  7. #352
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2,994
    Device(s)
    7290
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers, PostPaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by JRazman View Post
    Also, can anyone explain the difference in packages Rogers is offering?
    $10 for Local Calling
    $15 for Canada Wide Calling
    AIUI for $10 you get unlim local calling over UMA (but if you call LD your airtime minutes are unlimited per UMA but you'd pay 35c/min (or whatever is the going LD rate) if you called an LD number.) I gather that LD is determined by Rog seeing what cell tower you are (most recently) connected to.

    But for $15/mo you have unlim calls to any Cdn ph number if calling (i.e. STARTING the call) over UMA and are 'in Canada'.

    Do hotspots need to be registered or anything?
    No.


    will it work say at hotels as I travel around with no settings adjusted? (of course being the hotel WAP is compatible.)
    Yes.

  8. #353
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Thornhill, ON
    Posts
    25,525
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    21 (100%)
    LD on UMA is based on your phone number, no matter where in Canada you are.

    Eg, Toronto UMA customer in Vancouver calls Toronto, this is a local call. Toronto UMA customer in Vancouver calls Vancouver, this is a LD call w/o an LD option on the account.

  9. #354
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2,994
    Device(s)
    7290
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers, PostPaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by WorldIRC View Post
    LD on UMA is based on your phone number, no matter where in Canada you are.
    1/2 marks for World (don't feel so bad, I got zero!).

    For outbound calls World is correct - calling your 'hometown', over WiFi, is local regardless of where you are in Canada.

    However inbound calls received over WiFi are always local.

    Q: How do I know if I'm making/receiving a call over Wi-Fi?

    A: Local Wi-Fi calls are defined as follows:
    1) Outgoing calls to numbers local to your phone numbers area code (regardless of Wi-Fi location in Canada) are free when they are made over Wi-Fi:

    * For example Lisa has a Toronto number and is in Vancouver and calls a Toronto number the call would be free over Wi-Fi
    * However, when Lisa has a Toronto number and is in Vancouver and calls a Vancouver number the call will be charged LD when it is made over with Wi-Fi

    2) Incoming calls received from anywhere over Wi-Fi (regardless of Wi-Fi location in Canada) are free.
    - rogers.com/WiFiCalling
    - click tab TalkMoreForLess
    - click subtab RogersWiFiCalling
    - click the FAQ question "Q: How do I know if I'm making/receiving a call over Wi-Fi?"

    World, between you and I both getting this wrong is it any wonder the regular-peep cx's have little hope in having a comprehensive and accurate understanding of what they should get charged?

  10. #355
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    15
    Feedback Score
    0

    UMA on Torch via Rogers?

    Hi!

    After trolling around various sites, I enabled the UMA settings for my Torch via the engineering menu. Everything looks fine except I can't seem to get UMA to show up for calling. Hence it isn't working.

    Is there something extra other than the UMA settings/configuration in the engineering menu that needs to happen? I am on Rogers with a Rogers data plan.

    Thanks

  11. #356
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    428
    Device(s)
    iPh 4, iPh 6+, Nexus S, Nexus 4, Nexus 5 :-)
    Carrier(s)
    Fido,... Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    I think you have to pay for UMA service. 5 or 10 a month. I did on Fido at one time.
    Irresistible35
    $35 ... Unlimited everything!
    ... On a Nexus 5

  12. #357
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
    Posts
    6,589
    Device(s)
    Unlocked Rogers Blackberry Q10 | LG Nexus-4 | Samsung Nexus-S
    Carrier(s)
    Fido | Rogers Prepaid | LycaMobile US | Bell | T-Mobile Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by daveEM View Post
    I think you have to pay for UMA service. 5 or 10 a month. I did on Fido at one time.
    Yes, that's correct. Rogers charges for UMA service unless your plan specifically includes it (like some of the student plans).

    I personally think that it is wrong for Rogers to charge extra for UMA because they are still deducting minutes from your plan so it isn't like they are giving you unlimited calling when you connect via WiFi for calling.
    Unlimited Fido Data Plan: Netgear Aircard LTE Mobile Hotspot

    My Tech Blog

  13. #358
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2,994
    Device(s)
    7290
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers, PostPaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lmcjipo View Post
    Rogers charges for UMA service unless your plan specifically includes it (like some of the student plans).
    Prior to Aug 2010: UMA (minutes deducted from monthly allotment) was included for free.

    If ^opsho signed up before then, they are entitled to have that advertised feature restored to them for free, for free, for the remainder of opsho's CP.

    Details:
    s://RogersWatch.wordpress.com/UMA

  14. #359
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    269
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 8300, 9000, 9700
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    If you're just looking for WiFi access (the $5 dollar plan), YMMV but if you speak with a customer relations rep and kindly mention poor signal issues they can sometimes give you the WiFi access for free. I got poor signal at my place and they did it for me without any issue.
    I want a new phone!!!

    I wish Rogers would have the same speed I have at school.

Page 24 of 24 FirstFirst ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks