Page 3 of 24 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 359

Thread: UMA WORKING!! Unlocked Bell 9700 -> Rogers Talkspot! OMG

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    777
    Device(s)
    Bold
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry9700/5.0.0.536 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/107)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lothario80
    Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry9700/5.0.0.536 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/331)

    I'm working and ill post proof later to the skeptics. I sent screen shots to some folks already and called a well known hofo member using it last night. I turned the wireless network off to infact confirm it was on UMA. It appears that there may be a conflict with the 3G to UMA. 2G to UMA flawless but there are work arounds. The next task I'm going to undertake is create a proxy tunnel via my local isp and push traffic through that to avoid foreign IP detection.

    Patience!. I've provided proof that it does work to those that need the proof. Once I refine everything everyone else will reap the benefits.
    I travel internationally, often

    The proxy would be great to see!

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Thornhill, ON
    Posts
    25,522
    Carrier(s)
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    21 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by psgill2873
    Lothario80 is not lying, those who don't want to beleive him, its there loss, I did a Test call with him last night over UMA & I have seen the screen shots of his Bell Blackberry 9700 connected to UMA & voice quality was amazing.. He is in Alberta & I am in Metro Vancouver
    LOL, You're the well established user...more like the well established Hofo nuisance

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    632
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does Rogers have any UMA plans for US calls? Like unlimited NA calls?

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,291
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by simho
    Does Rogers have any UMA plans for US calls? Like unlimited NA calls?
    only canada wide

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    I & I, is Everywhere
    Posts
    6,123
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by oddsocks
    Replied and subscribed.
    You know you want an OPEN-SOURCED BB you know!

    Quote Originally Posted by lcohen999
    Quote Originally Posted by ELiTE KiLLaH
    Quote Originally Posted by kflan
    Any calls made using UMA would come from whatever bucket you would normally be using if making a call using the mobile network. You can add on one of the Talkspot features (local or Canada wide) to get unlimited calling using UMA.
    so if u have free evenings and weekends afte 6pm, all UMA calls after 6pm also are free? What if you leave the country? Lol (or province/local calling area )
    Rogers filters by IP address

    if you are out of the country, no dice
    ^ Is there a way around this?!
    PS All done in Bolt
    Formerly: Prom1, now I'm Supa_Fly!!
    My Feedback

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    I & I, is Everywhere
    Posts
    6,123
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by faibs
    it'd be great if you can let us know where this happened (city), and what software version you are running.

    Screen shot still needed.
    I know! Chop Chop OP!

    Quote Originally Posted by WorldIRC
    ^OP is not lying. We will discuss later tonight.
    Ya know how tings run here ... proof is in the pudding.
    Screenshot of the active call (wipe out the number is fine), and service books would be helpful if they're unique to UMA calling. Odd how a Telus unlocked 9700 doesn't get this working with Telus' official & only firmware and even with Rogers' official firmware no dice.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,291
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    waiting...where is OP??

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    171
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Bold 9700
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Proof IS in the Pudding....

    hxxp://yfrog.com/5bcapture225729jx

    ^^ make sure ya change those x's to some t's

    Wi-Fi
    Current Profile: XE0N
    SSID: XE0N
    AP MAC Address: 00:22:75:4A:62:6B
    Security Type: Pre-Shared Key (PSK)
    Association: Successful
    Authentication: Successful
    Local IP Address: 192.168.2.5
    Signal Level: -67 dBm
    Connection Data Rate: 48 Mbps
    Status: Network acquired
    Authentication Failure Reason:
    Network Type: 802.11b/g
    Network Channel: 1
    Pairwise Cipher: TKIP
    Group Cipher: TKIP
    Gateway Address: 192.168.2.1
    DHCP: Successful
    Primary DNS: 192.168.2.1
    Secondary DNS: 0.0.0.0
    DNS suffix: Belkin
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Server Domain Suffix:
    Certificate: Not Applicable
    Software Token: Not Applicable
    Hotspot Code:
    Hotspot Message: Not Applicable
    Hotspot Status: Not Applicable

    VPN
    Current Profile:
    Concentrator Address:
    Contact: N/A
    Authentication: N/A
    Secure Device IP:
    Status: VPN profile is not found.
    Resolving Concentrator: N/A
    Concentrator IP:
    Primary DNS:
    Secondary DNS:
    DNS Suffix:
    Secure Subnet Mask:
    Retry at:
    Session Lifetime:
    Re-login at:
    Failed Login Attempts: 0
    Certificate: Not Applicable
    Software Token:

    UMA
    Connection Pref.: Wi-Fi Preferred
    UMA Wi-Fi Available: Successful
    Connection: Successful
    Error Code:
    Status: UMA Connection successful.
    Reg. UNC Address: hbsc.uma.rogers.com:14001
    Registration: Successful
    Authentication: Successful
    Serving UNC Address: 172.25.55.101:14008
    Security Gateway Address: westsegw.uma.rogers.com
    Cell Info.: MCC:302 MNC:720 Cell ID:65532 ARFCN:586
    Cell. handover to UMA failures: 0
    Cell. rove-in failures: 0

    BlackBerry Infrastructure
    Address Used: //rcp.na.blackberry.com:443
    IP Used: 204.187.87.88:443;55496
    Connecting: Successful
    Authenticating router: Successful
    Authenticating server: Successful
    Last Contact At: Mar 9, 2010 9:53 PM

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    171
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Bold 9700
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Prom1
    I know! Chop Chop OP!



    Ya know how tings run here ... proof is in the pudding.
    Screenshot of the active call (wipe out the number is fine), and service books would be helpful if they're unique to UMA calling. Odd how a Telus unlocked 9700 doesn't get this working with Telus' official & only firmware and even with Rogers' official firmware no dice.

    No service books just a security certificate and forcing the phone off 3G. Haven't found a way to make it lock in from 3G to UMA. UMA to 3G works Fine. GPRS/EDGE Handoff to UMA works and vise versa as well.

    Loth

    PS Tested in Calgary & Airdrie, Alberta (15Km north of Calgary)

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,291
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    now the question is how did u do that, an OS update?

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    171
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Bold 9700
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Inclemental
    now the question is how did u do that, an OS update?
    Part #1 March 9 2010

    Firstly:

    Please don't attempt any of the following if you aren't 100% comfortable with being able to restore a "bricked" Blackberry.

    I have only tested this with OS 5.0.0.536. This is a Beta OS which has been leaked. I am pretty sure you won't need to update to this OS however be prepared to if my instructions don't work on your current OS.

    Gain Access to the Engineering Screens: If you are unable to find the links on the web, PM me and i'll email a small HTML script which you can keep on your computer to generate the codes required to unlock your Berries Escreens.

    Security Certificates: You will need the ca.rogers.com(der) file. This the key to everything. Again PM me your email address and i'll send the file to you.
    To load a security certificate, you may need to run the install software for Desktop Manager and "MODIFY" the options which you have installed to include "Certificate Syncronization".
    Once you have that "Cert Sync" option available, click on it and import the certificate file which I will have provided. Once synched it will be on your Berry!

    Everyone who wants to test with me please PM me by tomorrow 8pm MT and i'll have the files sent to you. I'll continue with Part 2 tomorrow once everyone is ready for the next steps.

    Loth

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Markham, ON
    Posts
    276
    Carrier(s)
    WIND
    Feedback Score
    0
    Fixed the pics:












  13. #43
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    86
    Device(s)
    Bold 9700
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers,
    Feedback Score
    0
    PM'd, I'll take a shot at it. I already have the certificate since my phone's rogers branded. But not sure if I can get to the engineering screens since it's branded...I'll have to see what I can figure out.

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,291
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeo007
    PM'd, I'll take a shot at it. I already have the certificate since my phone's rogers branded. But not sure if I can get to the engineering screens since it's branded...I'll have to see what I can figure out.
    u can get access to the escreen with a rogers branded 9700.

  15. #45
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    86
    Device(s)
    Bold 9700
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Inclemental
    u can get access to the escreen with a rogers branded 9700.
    Yup, just noticed that via google

Page 3 of 24 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks