Page 12 of 14 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 LastLast
Results 166 to 180 of 207

Thread: Garmin Nuvifone A50 Navigating to T-Mobile

  1. #166
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    996
    Feedback Score
    0

    Garminfone Is Now $319.99 On Amazon

    Apparently the Garminfone is now gone from the T-Mobile website and the Amazon price has dropped to $319.99. That is how I got my Garmin Nuvifone G60. When it dropped to a somewhat reasonable price, I bought it on Amazon. Gee, wouldn't it be ironic if they also disabled the cell part and also resold it as a GPS. The G60 was re-marketed as a Garmin Nuvi 295W. Maybe the Garminfone will become the Garmin Nuvi 395W! Well, after they put a blob of epoxy inside or whatever else it was that they did to cripple the G60 to make it a 295W!

    https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=73079

    http://www.amazon.com/T-Mobile-Garmi...dp/B003ODIL3S/

    http://www.amazon.com/T-Mobile-Garmi...d_i=Garminfone

  2. #167
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    996
    Feedback Score
    0

    Garminfone

    I am now noticing the Garminfone much more reasonably priced at some other online dealers. Does anybody here have any experience with Buy.com? Are they reliable and do they have a good reputation? It is cheaper still at Cell Arena Online, but I have never heard of that company. It looks like they come with the manufacturers 1 year warranty.



    http://www.buy.com/prod/brand-new-ga...221847522.html

    http://www.cellarenaonline.com/T-Mob...Garminfone.htm
    Last edited by Jim1348; 06-05-2011 at 09:43 AM. Reason: Details

  3. #168
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    844
    Phone
    Note 3
    Carriers
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    personally I'd read the adverts over carefully. The $199 price from cellarena will be tough to beat.

    I know a guy via ebay that has 2 new G60's available really cheap; still in the boxes and locked to AT&T. I almost bought but can not get them unlocked. He has been unable to sell them as no one wants them, seemingly at any decent price. The Garminfone will soon be in that boat too.

  4. #169
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    996
    Feedback Score
    0

    Garminfone

    Now that the Garminfone has been available for over a year now, are most people here still using it or have you moved along to something else? If you have moved to something else, what did you go to and why? I still am using my Garminfone, but my older Garmin Nuvifone has become a GPS and really doesn't get used as a phone any longer. I suspect that is what may happen to my Garminfone at some point in the future. With Garmin no longer in the smartphone business, we have to look at other devices. I did get a used Motorola Defy recently and although it went to my son, I did think long and hard about giving him my Garmnfone and keeping the Motorola Defy for myself. Frankly, I am still somewhat surprised that Garmin doesn't simply offer an Android app, much like their StreetPilot for iPhone and StreetPilot for Windows Phone. Also, are you still sold on the idea of using a smartphone for navigation? Do you use an OEM windshield mount, a universal mount, or no mount? I have looked at the Motorola windshield mounts for the Defy and Droid and they look pretty good.

  5. #170
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    20
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have figured out how to change carrier/region firmware on the A10 if anyone is interested. Should work for the A50/Garminfone as well.

    I went from Optus 5.0.82 to Telecom (NZ) 5.0.91. Works perfectly with all coneected services etc.
    Last edited by vs2; 07-24-2011 at 08:27 PM.

  6. #171
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    996
    Feedback Score
    0

    Change Carrier/Region Firmware On The A10

    Yes, I am interested. How did you do it? I wonder if it will work on the Garmin Nuvifone G60?

  7. #172
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    20
    Feedback Score
    0
    I want to try it on my old G60 AT&T version as well , but I can't find the original .update file from the AT&T phone on the net. There are plenty for Europe and Asia but not for USA?? Anyone have it?

    Instructions: (worked for me)

    1. Have two micro SD cards
    2. On one put the same update file that is already on your phone.
    2. On the other put the new firmware you want to update to.
    3. With phone off practise taking phone cover off/on and removing SD card.
    4. Turn phone on with SD card that had existing firmware update on. Update notice will show and ask if you want to update - say yes, then it should say update is the same as already on your phone do you still want to update, don't accept or decline. Now quickly pull off cover and exchange SD cards and put cover back on. You may get a message about battery cover - go ok. Then the same 'do you want to update' message should appear - go ok.(you may need to pull down the yellow exclamation from the top to accept the update if the window does not show) Be patient and wait your screen will show 'verifing' then reboot and could be a black screen for 10-15 minutes. When up and running you should do a master clear as your old settings/apps will still be on phone. It may be ok to leave them on??

  8. #173
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    996
    Feedback Score
    0

    5 Best Cell Phones Doomed To Be Collectible

    http://shopping.yahoo.com/articles/y...e-collectible/

    Here is the excerpt from that article:

    There are lots of twists and turns in the smartphone market. Occasionally, some really good phones just fall through the cracks. Let's call these The Collectibles -- a handful of phones, years in development, that arrive or are set to launch, but instead they get cut down at their prime or doomed before they reach their full potential.

    In most of these cases, it's a sweeping change at the company that effectively orphans the handsets.

    For Nokia and Research In Motion, blame a full-scale shift to a new operating system. At Palm, it was the HP takeover.

    And, sometimes, it's failure's fault, like in the case of Garmin's exit from the market.

    Yes, you may have seen the 13 ugliest phones, but these are much different. Here are five "keepers" that could have been big contenders.

    #5 : Garminfone
    Garminfone

    The awesomeness of this device isn't the fact that it was a GPS phone made by navigation ace Garmin, or the fact that it was powered by Google's Android. No, the best thing about this phone is that it was the first Asus phone in the U.S.

    Asus is a rising star in mobile computing. The 21-year-old Taiwanese tech shop is best known for its motherboards and netbooks, but it has recently turned its attention to tablets and phones. Asus was one of the first developers of a Microsoft Windows Phone 7, but that device never materialized.

    Unfortunately, Garmin pulled the plug on the joint venture with Asus after it became clear that smartphones were just a little too far outside the GPS specialists' competency. With Garmin and T-Mobile as partners, Asus may not have had the best supporting cast for its debut.

    The Garminfone was discontinued last month.

  9. #174
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    844
    Phone
    Note 3
    Carriers
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks,

    I'll have to give this a try and rip some .apk's from other carrier's .update file with Titanium and then install it on the T-Mo software.

    Dig out your unlock code it you're unlocked. Flashing the phone again with an .update will re-lock the phone. Thankfully, I had mine.

    Quote Originally Posted by vs2 View Post
    I want to try it on my old G60 AT&T version as well , but I can't find the original .update file from the AT&T phone on the net. There are plenty for Europe and Asia but not for USA?? Anyone have it?

    Instructions: (worked for me)

    1. Have two micro SD cards
    2. On one put the same update file that is already on your phone.
    2. On the other put the new firmware you want to update to.
    3. With phone off practise taking phone cover off/on and removing SD card.
    4. Turn phone on with SD card that had existing firmware update on. Update notice will show and ask if you want to update - say yes, then it should say update is the same as already on your phone do you still want to update, don't accept or decline. Now quickly pull off cover and exchange SD cards and put cover back on. You may get a message about battery cover - go ok. Then the same 'do you want to update' message should appear - go ok.(you may need to pull down the yellow exclamation from the top to accept the update if the window does not show) Be patient and wait your screen will show 'verifing' then reboot and could be a black screen for 10-15 minutes. When up and running you should do a master clear as your old settings/apps will still be on phone. It may be ok to leave them on??

  10. #175
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    996
    Feedback Score
    0

    Garmin Nuvifone A50 Navigating to T-Mobile

    Quote Originally Posted by Spazmogen View Post
    .....Dig out your unlock code it you're unlocked. Flashing the phone again with an .update will re-lock the phone.....
    I DID NOT save my Carrier Subsidy Unlock code, but if this works for you, I might get the unlock code again and do this. Let us know.



    vs2.

    Did you ever find the original .update file from the AT&T phone and do this?

    Jim
    Last edited by Jim1348; 08-28-2011 at 02:24 PM. Reason: Details

  11. #176
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    844
    Phone
    Note 3
    Carriers
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks! it worked great. I installed the French Canadian one, as I am learning French (here in Canada, Eh!).
    I did not have to Master Clear. My apps were still installed & registered. The software looks the same as T-Mo, except French appears in the Language & Keyboard area and Spanish is gone.

    The Stick Together boot screen is replaced with a generic "Garmin-Asus" screen.

    I did not have to enter an unlock code this time. But when I wiped my phone about 2 weeks ago (with the T-Mo) version I had to re-enter my unlock code.

    You will need to root the phone again if you want root. Changing the firmware unroots it. Z4root works great.

    Here's a few download sites to get different firmware at. Some of it is an .exe file which will connect to the phone, download the latest .update file and put it into the /Garmin/Update file. It will try to launch the updater and fail when the version check occurs. Just cut/paste that .update to the SD card mentioned above by vS2 and follow the process as he described.

    There are no new apps for me on the French Canadian version. I'll have to try that Open Market one from Denmark next.


    http://www.garminasus.com/fr_CA/supp...e-updates.html French Canadian adds French to the languages and removes Spanish.

    http://www.garminasus.com/da_DK/supp.../open-a50.html OPEN market. Denmark. .exe file. I have to try this one!


    http://www.garminasus.com/da_DK/supp...lenor-a50.html telenor Denmark. Also an .exe.

    http://www.garminasus.com/da_DK/supp...telia-a50.html telia Denmark. .exe file.


    http://www.garminasus.com/en_AU/supp...e-updates.html an .exe for OPT in Australia

    http://www.garminasus.com/en_AU/supp...structions.pdf


    http://www.garminasus.com/zh_HK/supp...e-updates.html Hong Kong updates.


    http://www.garminasus.com/en_MY/supp...MYS-update.zip Mylasia update.
    http://www.garminasus.com/en_MY/supp...ster_clear.pdf instructions
    Last edited by Spazmogen; 08-29-2011 at 04:23 PM.

  12. #177
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    996
    Feedback Score
    0

    Change Carrier/Region Firmware On The Garmin Nuvifone G60

    So, you did this on a G60 right? I am tempted to try the Australian version. We also post this on thread for the G60. Is the biggest benefit adding Google Local Search then?

  13. #178
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    844
    Phone
    Note 3
    Carriers
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    Jim:
    I am doing this on the Garminfone A50. vs2 has both phones I believe.

    As I type this, I am flashing the Denmark Open Market version. I will do a master clear after installing to see the difference.

  14. #179
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    996
    Feedback Score
    0

    Change Carrier/Region Firmware On The Nuvifone

    Thanks for the reply. What would it allow me to do on the A50 that I can't do right now? Would this be of greatest benefit to those that have the A50 on a non-T-Mobile carrier then?

  15. #180
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    844
    Phone
    Note 3
    Carriers
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim1348 View Post
    Thanks for the reply. What would it allow me to do on the A50 that I can't do right now? Would this be of greatest benefit to those that have the A50 on a non-T-Mobile carrier then?
    In the USA, I don't see any benefit to you. Unless you don't want all of the T-mo bloatware pushed onto it. Which will free up memory.

    I just installed the Denmark Open Market version and there was nothing of use there; no new software. but it did not have the T-mo crap pushed to it: no Offers, Amazon mp3 & T-mo hotspot etc. to remove. I did a master clear and had to enter my unlock code when it restarted the phone.

    I am going back to the French Canadian version.

    EDIT:
    I flashed back to the French Canadian version AND master clear this time. No T-mo software to be found anywhere.
    Facebook, twitter and myspace were there. I removed them right after I rooted.

    Movie times works in Canada, as does flight times, so I'll leave those. I could never really get movie times to work right with the T-mo software in Canada.

    Traffic alerts works fine even without Offers installed.
    Attachment 72662

    Attachment 72663
    Last edited by Spazmogen; 08-29-2011 at 04:35 PM.

Page 12 of 14 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 LastLast

Bookmarks