Apple iPhone 3GS
    Google Nexus One
    Nokia N900
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score

Using Net10 GSM with other phones

Hi Folks,

Noob here wondering about Net10's GSM service. From what I've gathered here and elsewhere, Net10 has both GSM and CDMA service. Has anyone had any experience in using the Net10 SIM cards in other phones?

For instance, if my folks are visiting with their unlocked phones from abroad, can I buy a Net10 phone and pop the SIM and use it in their phones*?

Any advice appreciated. Thanks.

*: Why? For instance, let's say they have a nice Nokia E-Series customized to their liking and they don't want to use an el-cheapo Samsung.

Phones
    W375
    LG600
    Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by vnangia
    For instance, if my folks are visiting with their unlocked phones from abroad, can I buy a Net10 phone and pop the SIM and use it in their phones*?
    No,
    you cannot use any phone other than Net 10 provided phones with Net 10.

Jim

Carriers
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    A Net10 SIM is specially designed so that it will only work in a Net10/Tracfone/Safelink phone (the only interchangability). Net10 Unlimited is T-Mobile (SIM) only and Straight Talk is Verizon (CDMA) only.

Feedback Score
    Net10, Tracfone and Virgin Mobile phones are pretty much useless on any network and any other phone is useless on their network because they are so locked down. Straight Talk phones have been known to work on other Verizon mvnos like Page Plus. Whether it is still possible is not known in these days of murky bring your own phone policies from Verizon and their prepaid divison and mvnos.

Feedback Score
    Can a Net10 phone/sim card be unlocked? I have a Samsung t245g phone, locked to Net10 and would like to use it with another sim card.
    Please help!

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by paradise_11 View Post