Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33

Thread: How Much Data Does GPS Use?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    271
    Feedback Score
    0

    How Much Data Does GPS Use?

    I'm wondering how feasible it is to get the 50mb data plan.

    I know how much websites use (per page).
    I know how much IM use (per message).

    I just don't know how much GPS uses (per, let's say, minute?).

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Culver City
    Posts
    58
    Phones
    Nexus One
    Motorola i425
    Carriers
    Wind Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    In Google Maps with map view and Latitude I use about 35 mb over a 35 mile trip.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    5,073
    Phone
    Nexus 5
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Hahutzy
    I just don't know how much GPS uses (per, let's say, minute?).
    GPS does not use the cellular network at all. If you're interested in a specific application, then we need the name of the application to give you advice.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,162
    Carrier
    Rogers Communications Inc.
    Feedback Score
    0

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    360
    Phone
    iPhone, BlackBerry
    Carrier
    Telus, Mobilicity
    Feedback Score
    0
    Most navigation apps do use data though, is that what your asking? Usage varies by phone and application..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    685
    Feedback Score
    0
    Also varies by how fast you drive and how zoomed in you are.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    419
    Phones
    Nokia N8 Motorola XT720
    Nokia E66 6300 6020
    Nokia 3595 3200 3220
    Carriers
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    It would be interesting to know how much A-GPS uses. Does "A" part use data the whole time that your using GPS, or only for the initial lock?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    360
    Phone
    iPhone, BlackBerry
    Carrier
    Telus, Mobilicity
    Feedback Score
    0
    As far as I know the network gps assistance doesn't use data at all...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    5,073
    Phone
    Nexus 5
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Lordscr
    It would be interesting to know how much A-GPS uses. Does "A" part use data the whole time that your using GPS, or only for the initial lock?
    Only for the initial, and it's a negligible amount.

    quacktacular, none of the "big" (TomTom, Garmin, etc.) navigation applications use data.

    The only ones I've seen that use data are applications proprietary to a carrier or handset manufacturer, as well as Google Maps Navigation.

    That being said, 500MB would be more than enough if *all* you did was use something like Google Maps Navigation. 50MB would probably be enough for that usage. But if you're going to check email, surf, or do anything else, go with the 500MB plan, and you'll be fine.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,653
    Phones
    Nokia 5230
    Nokia E51 (Travel phone)
    Samsung u740, Samsung a640, Motorola T720 (Retired)
    Carriers
    WIND
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    My 5230 doesn't have to use any. Maps are on the card and A-GPS is disabled thanks to a crippled APN. (Hopefully)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    271
    Feedback Score
    0
    I mean GPS that do use data, such as Google Maps on iPhone

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,162
    Carrier
    Rogers Communications Inc.
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Hahutzy
    I mean GPS that do use data, such as Google Maps on iPhone
    what phone do you have with WIND and what program do you want to use.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    5,073
    Phone
    Nexus 5
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Hahutzy
    I mean GPS that do use data, such as Google Maps on iPhone
    Google Maps is not a GPS.

    Google Maps on iPhone doesn't even have the functionality that most would inaccurately refer to as "GPS".

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,058
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by canadiancow
    Google Maps is not a GPS.

    Google Maps on iPhone doesn't even have the functionality that most would inaccurately refer to as "GPS".
    Isn't it fun to see all the people who don't know the difference between software and hardware?

    For all:
    GPS is ***HARDWARE*** that ONLY READS RF TRANSMISSIONS originating from satellites in orbit owned by the US GOVERNMENT.

    Any data usage associated with GPS usage is your own business and really has NOTHING to do with GPS except for the fact that it USES GPS DATA to determine what NETWORK data to ***ASK FOR***.

    GPS, quite literally, does NOTHING except for determining within a certain (very high) accuracy, YOUR LOCATION ON THE SURFACE OF (or above) THE PLANET in terms of LATITUDE, LONGITUDE, and ALTITUDE, and THE TIME.

    http://www.gpsinformation.org/dale/nmea.htm

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,443
    Carriers
    WIND Mobile (09/2010-present)
    Bell 05/2005-08/2006, Virgin Mobile Canada 08/2006-11/2009, Fido 11/2009-09/2010
    Feedback Score
    0
    Again it'd be useful to know what kind of phone you're looking at. Of course the iPhone is a red herring to this discussion because it's not compatible with WIND.

    Another red herring: Google Maps works on all sorts of phones in Canada but navigation is only available in the US.

    That being said: If you're going to use navigation, a lot, you're best off either to a) have at least the 500 MB data plan, or b) purchase a nav app that saves all the important maps on your SD card. The latter will make it easier to use on a 50 MB data plan. Some of them charge $30-40 or even upwards, but if you consider that you're saving on the money you'd have spent on a higher data plan or overage charges, that could be well worth it.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Bookmarks