Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    321
    Phones
    iP4 - 16gb
    60-70 phones since 2000
    Carrier
    At&t
    Feedback Score
    0

    Selling iPhone ... How do I disable my iTunes account on the phone?

    I've got a couple serious buyers for my iPhone 3g and I'm probably going to sell it today or tomorrow, but how do I disable my iTunes account on my phone? I know they can't download anything without my password, but I still don't like the fact it's still my iTunes account on this phone.

    Also, how do I delete all my songs, contacts and apps from the phone (instead of one at a time)? Do I go through iTunes and choose "restore"?

    I've never sold an iPhone before, just wanna make sure I don't mess up and leave anything important on it. But I also want to be able to use this information (contacts & apps) on my next iPhone.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,424
    Phones
    iPhone 5 16GB
    iPhone 5 32GB (wife)
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Unless you're trying to sell the phone as jailbroken, the best thing to do is a full erase of the phone, which will erase everything you've ever put on the phone.

    Do a full backup of your phone to iTunes, then start the erase. It's "Setting -> General -> Reset -> Erase All Content and Settings". On a 3g, this full erase takes several hours, so do it well before you turn the phone over to the new owner.

    This only affects your iPhone. All your info will be saved in iTunes. You can even restore the 3g from iTunes, if you decide not to sell it, and it will be exactly as you left it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    249
    Phone
    iPhone 3G
    Carrier
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by quagmire View Post
    Unless you're trying to sell the phone as jailbroken, the best thing to do is a full erase of the phone, which will erase everything you've ever put on the phone.

    Do a full backup of your phone to iTunes, then start the erase. It's "Setting -> General -> Reset -> Erase All Content and Settings". On a 3g, this full erase takes several hours, so do it well before you turn the phone over to the new owner.

    This only affects your iPhone. All your info will be saved in iTunes. You can even restore the 3g from iTunes, if you decide not to sell it, and it will be exactly as you left it.
    Actually thsi doesn't do anything for the iTunes account. I did the same thing and when i restarted the phone, it asked for my iTunes password and remembered my email address. I just signed out at the bottom of iTunes store in iPhone.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    321
    Phones
    iP4 - 16gb
    60-70 phones since 2000
    Carrier
    At&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Cool, thanks for both of the reply's! That's exactly what I needed to know!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    23
    Phones
    LG VX9800
    Samsung I700
    IPhone 3G
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does doing a full erase also restore it to the latest firmware? My 3GS is still on 3.0.1, and I don't want it to automatically upgrade to 3.1 and new baseband before I get a chance to JB and unlock it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    16,831
    Phones
    AT&T Apple iPhone 5S
    AT&T Apple iPhone 5S
    Carrier
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tsx11 View Post
    Actually thsi doesn't do anything for the iTunes account. I did the same thing and when i restarted the phone, it asked for my iTunes password and remembered my email address. I just signed out at the bottom of iTunes store in iPhone.
    When you erase all content and settings, you cannot restart the phone without using iTunes. The iTunes email account came from reconnecting to iTunes on your computer.
    Earl F. Parrish

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    249
    Phone
    iPhone 3G
    Carrier
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dtle View Post
    Does doing a full erase also restore it to the latest firmware? My 3GS is still on 3.0.1, and I don't want it to automatically upgrade to 3.1 and new baseband before I get a chance to JB and unlock it.
    Leaves you on the same firmware if you do it from the iPhone's settings>reset>all content and settings menu.

    Quote Originally Posted by efparri View Post
    When you erase all content and settings, you cannot restart the phone without using iTunes. The iTunes email account came from reconnecting to iTunes on your computer.
    That makes sense, thanks for clearing it up. I was wondering what was going on.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    321
    Phones
    iP4 - 16gb
    60-70 phones since 2000
    Carrier
    At&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sold it, dropped it off yesterday afternoon.... Did the full system reset from within the iPhone. I told the guy to call if he had any problems, I haven't heard anything so I figure "no news is good news". I got $200 for it (8gb 3g), so I don't think I did too bad.

Similar Threads

  1. Disable account info notice
    By uat1 in forum Page Plus Cellular
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-06-2010, 10:37 AM
  2. Disable phone feature/radio in iPhone
    By CLERiC_AJ in forum Apple
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-27-2010, 09:10 PM
  3. Disable/Enable iPhone backup on iTunes
    By Superman7 in forum Apple
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-03-2010, 06:37 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-18-2009, 06:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •