Thread: TracFone area code question

Phone
    iPhone 5
    Feedback Score

TracFone area code question

I'm new to the whole pre-paid phone service. My daughter stays with me for only a few months during the summer, so I decided to get her a cheap Tracfone so she can call her mother and other family members. I went with Tracfone because I thought they used USCC in my area. But I'm not very sure because this phone gets a very weak signal and keeps switching to roaming! This should not be if using USCC because my parents USCC phones get a strong signal! My question is, should the Tracfone have a local area code? The phone number that was assigned has a Nebraska area code But we are in Wisconsin!! Is this correct or should I try something else?

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by silliybilly View Post
    I'm new to the whole pre-paid phone service. My daughter stays with me for only a few months during the summer, so I decided to get her a cheap Tracfone so she can call her mother and other family members. I went with Tracfone because I thought they used USCC in my area. But I'm not very sure because this phone gets a very weak signal and keeps switching to roaming! This should not be if using USCC because my parents USCC phones get a strong signal! My question is, should the Tracfone have a local area code? The phone number that was assigned has a Nebraska area code But we are in Wisconsin!! Is this correct or should I try something else?
    What model phone do you have?

To determine the underlying carrier, go to http://wirelessamberalerts.org enter the phone number and click Submit. It should tell you who is providing your service.

Phone
    iPhone 5
    Feedback Score
    I got the LG 220C. And when I type in the # assigned to me on the website, It says number not found or service isnt avaible! I looked up the SID and it comes up as a Nebraska Alltel SID! I dialed *228 and got a VZW message. Can I call Tracfone CS and ask for a wisconsin USCC #??