Thread: CDMA boost and EVDO/3G internet

Feedback Score

CDMA boost and EVDO/3G internet

Hi! Noob here needing some quick answer. I rely on internet on my cell phone. So I need to make sure I get it right before I switch to boost. I did have done much much reading already. But either the information is confusing or dated and I am not sure if changes occurred. Hope you guys help. So here we go:

1.If I activate a palm centro on boostmobile following directions here, and choose pay-to-go plan, will I have FREE EVDO/3G internet access on that phone? Or, do I have to pay $0.35 a day? I know for older phones you need to change proxies to get it free. But I don't think it's relevant for smartphone. Am I correct? Is there another hack we need do or is it kinda native?

2.Can I use native internet browser to access internet or do I have to use opera mini, etc? I know it is not an issue for centro. But I am also thinking of using a TP2, so wondering if I can use IE, etc.

3. What about tethering? I use my palm centro on sprint to dial up #777 to get online. Is it the same?

Thanks!

Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    The Sprint CDMA phones on Boost use the already existing EVDO Data Connection provided by Boost. It works whether you have the $0.35/day feature enabled or disabled.

You can use the phones native browser, or you can download Opera, whichever you want to do. Only the Sprint Blackberry to my knowledge, requires a "patch" to use the native Browser on Boost.

You can use the Centro to tether as long as you use a 3rd party application such as PDAnet, or whatever is available for that phone.

You can not use the PAM (phone as modem) method, by setting up a dial up connection with #777 etc. That doesn't work on Boost.

Feedback Score