Thread: Cheap temporary travel phone? - Canada

Feedback Score

Cheap temporary travel phone? - Canada

Hi. First time posting here. Hope this topic hasn't been covered too much. My initial search of the forums didn't yield any other threads.

While I wait for the iPhone 4 to be launched here in Canada, I need to get a cheap temporary cell phone for my vacation this summer. I'll be driving from Toronto to the Maritimes and back, gone 2 weeks. Now, bear in mind, I've never owned a cell phone before, so I'm a bit of a newbie.

From what I gather, I can try to buy a cheap, used GSM phone (the Marketplace here, Craigslist, etc), then get a pre-paid SIM card to plug into it. All I really need is talk and maybe text.

I want the phone for emergencies while on the road, and to have while I'm there (mostly in PEI, maybe a few days in NB). What kind of SIM card/plan would be best? If I buy a SIM in Toronto before I leave, does that mean I'll end up paying non-local/roaming rates when I'm on PEI? What's the best solution for that scenario?

What kind of options are there for SIM cards/plans? I know FIDO has monthly, daily, by-the-minute prepaid plans, etc.

I would appreciate any help. Thanks.

Cheers
    - j

Phone
    Palm Pixi Plus
    Carrier
    Page Plus Cellular via dealer
    Feedback Score
    I don't know about Canada, but is the US, I would go to a 7-eleven, Walgreens, etc, and buy a cheap prepaid phone + "money card".
    It's quick and relatively cheap - just don't expect great service. Maybe you can visit similar stores in Canada and look around.
    I preassume that you are a "light" user. If heavy user, I would look at various prepaid providers in Canada (check the listing
    in this forum - I can't help you).

Sheng-Chieh

Feedback Score
    Thanks. Much appreciated.

Feedback Score
    The 7-11 Speakout service seems pretty good, actually. I noticed this on their site.
    http://speakout7eleven.ca/pages/faq/index.php#q_15