Page 5 of 28 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 407

Thread: Will _____ Sprint (or other) phone work on Boost CDMA? Part 3

  1. #61
    deathtrip Guest
    I've noticed it has given false clean reports on some ESNs, mainly Palm ones though.

    I've also noticed that Sprint can tell you over the phone that an ESN is clean, and the ESN Checker will tell you it's clean, but Boost says it's in use... without even having an account tied to it.

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    31
    Feedback Score
    0
    yes Boost also told me a phone was in use when it was not.

    OK now for my actual post.I finally got a HTC touch pro onto boost.So now how do I program it,or datta provision it to have full features?such as MMS,voicemail,internet access?etc?Is there a thread or tutorial on how to do these things and fully unlock it?

    P.S. its been activated for weeks now,since I know you said I should wait at least 3 to 4 days before attempting any of this (in order to let it completely download any updates etc)

  3. #63
    deathtrip Guest
    To update the data profile, you goto: Start Menu> Settings> System Tab> Update Profile> Ok

    If you need to program the MDN and MSID to make the phone work for calls/texts, you'll have to dial ##xxxxxx# (x being 6 digit MSL) and then enter the info given to you by Boost.

    You'll also need to change the MMSC URL for MMS be able to send out. You'll change it from http://mms.sprintpcs.cm to http://mm.myboostmobile.com

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    31
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by deathtrip View Post
    To update the data profile, you goto: Start Menu> Settings> System Tab> Update Profile> Ok

    If you need to program the MDN and MSID to make the phone work for calls/texts, you'll have to dial ##xxxxxx# (x being 6 digit MSL) and then enter the info given to you by Boost.

    You'll also need to change the MMSC URL for MMS be able to send out. You'll change it from http://mms.sprintpcs.cm to http://mm.myboostmobile.com
    OK thanks,I did a profile update.Now my interent works and sprint music store link works.But the SPRINT TV link doesnt work.Should I also update the PRL?As far as the MDN and MSID the phone rep helped me program those when I called.So my text and calls have been working since it was first switched to BOOST.Next I need some help changing the MMSC url for MMS.I entered the number the BOOST REP used to set up my phone ##448189# it only brings up my MSID AND MDN info.I read that ##3282# brings up the programming menu,which is where I change the MMSC URL correct?But when I try to edit it asks for an unlock code.Also what is http://email.boostmobile.com/ ? I read it lets you get instant email access & picture mail,and releases you from the Sprint PCS sever?I entered http://email.boostmobile.com/80 onto my browser and accepted the certificate on my phone.Not exactly sure what that accomplishes though.
    Last edited by Dunpeal1978; 10-11-2010 at 07:58 AM.

  5. #65
    deathtrip Guest
    The unlock code is 448189 (the numbers in the code the rep gave you).

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    31
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by deathtrip View Post
    The unlock code is 448189 (the numbers in the code the rep gave you).
    Thanks for clearing that up.Now can anybody shed some light on the other questions I asked?what things do I need to edit once I enter the programming menu?I already have my internet,calling,and text working.

  7. #67
    deathtrip Guest
    Find the MMSC URL and change it to http://mm.myboostmobile.com and that should be all you have to do.

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    72
    Carrier(s)
    Boost Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    just wanted to say worked perfectly for me. I had an i1 on iden and didnt like it, so i took it back to the store I bought it from that sold used phones.

    I had bought it saturday (2 days ago) its nextel branded and I bought a starter kit for it, activated it and ported my number in from the death star. I tried the I1 which was the worst phone ive ever owned, this is counting a blackberry 8100 and a very buggy xperia x1.

    So I took it back to exchange it today, after reading all kinds of information yesterday about how getting a byod device onto boost goes. So I picked out a touch pro, checked the esn first using the esn checker site courtesy deathtrip (thanks btw thats an awesome tool!).

    But I wasnt leaving without it activated in case boost gave me trouble, called around 11am and simply told the lady i wanted to migrate iden to cdma, she asked for the esn and what phone it was, i said i wasnt sure its the one with the keyboard (not a lie! lol). She gave me no problems. The one problem was I was on the i1 at the time, and got cut off before programming. So I plugged it in and hit update profile in settings>communication and it worked perfectly. Took just 1 phone call, total time maybe 10 minutes including hold time.

    So to summarize I wanted to say it seems to be easiest if you are starting with iden, and using a verified clean touch pro. When calling boost the simplest thing is to be confident and firm, but while also being kind and courteous. Customer service reps react best to confidence and kindness because they get so little of either. Tell them simply youre not sure what kind of phone, just the one with the keyboard, and you should be just fine.

    Thanks for reading about my experience, hope it helps someone else looking to get a smartphone on boost.

    Lastly thanks to all the forum members for all your help and information, it made this very easy even though I was afraid this would be a PITA.

    - Justin

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    31
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by deathtrip View Post
    Find the MMSC URL and change it to http://mm.myboostmobile.com and that should be all you have to do.
    OK I went to keypad dialed ##3282# entered my unlock code,then chose "edit".In that menu there is no MMSC URL info,and no "http://mms.sprintpcs.cm" url listed anywhere.here are a few things I see

    home agent IP address 0.0.0.0
    primary home agent 255.255.255.255
    second home agent 68.28.89.76

    I even entered http://mms.sprintpcs.cm into a IP lookup webpage to see if it translated to 68.28.89.76,but no dice.So not sure where the MMSC is,its not in the EDIT menu.

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    77
    Device(s)
    EVO 4G, HTC EVO Shift 4G
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint/Boost CDMA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Chek this thread it might help a lil. Read tha whole thread before u start doin stuff to ur fone. http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...MMS-fix-for-TP
    Last edited by E-POUND; 10-12-2010 at 11:10 PM. Reason: Word change

  11. #71
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    1,018
    Device(s)
    Nexus 5
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile, Boost Mobile(former)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    Recently i got to play with a palm pre was on verizon though and i was pretty impressed with the latest webos. I'm wondering if anyone has tried activating the sprint version on boost recently? Im actualy tempted to dump my bb tour for one. Although i would take a hit in hardware specs(at min 3.0mp vs the tours 3.2mp cam). Hell i should be using a palm anyways as i have a relative whos a high level webos soft engineer for palm :P
    Former Boost Mobile Subscriber (2001-2013)
    Current T-Mobile Subscriber

  12. #72
    deathtrip Guest
    Neither one works at the moment.

  13. #73
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    1,018
    Device(s)
    Nexus 5
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile, Boost Mobile(former)
    Feedback Score
    0
    oh well. I just discovered you could convert a Verizon Pre Plus to a Sprint Pre Plus lol. It looks like the Pre 2 is coming out anyways to replace the pre. It looks like it could be a pretty decent phone besides the lack of apps(has basics like facebook, pandora, twitter, etc) Apparently Verizon started sending training manuals out on it today. Question is will sprint get it as well(unlike the Pre Plus officially) ? I doubt it would work on Boost anyways if Sprint winds up getting it as well.

  14. #74
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    31
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by E-POUND View Post
    Chek this thread it might help a lil. Read tha whole thread before u start doin stuff to ur fone. http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...MMS-fix-for-TP
    Thanks anyways,but that thread is mainly for a Touch Pro 2 running windows Mobile Professional 6.5.My MMS started to work,not sure if it just fixed itself or possibley because I used the alternative advice below to browser is set free from the pcs vision server and authenticate a different web certificate.Ive put the alternative advice below in bold italics,there are also some other tips that Are useful

    steps to get the internet to work and some other programming hints.first thing get your MSL code and go to the dial pad and enter ##3282# this is the data programming menu. select browser and choose to edit the settings you will see a set of numbers that look like this example 268.268.268.268 change all the numbers to 0's it will look like this 000.000.000.000 wow, now your internet works on your bootlegged boost phone service.

    now for phones that are sprint e-mail ready you will use the same ##3282# and enter the msl code go to e-mail and select edit you will see[url]http://email.sprintpcs.com/80 the number 80 at the end is your port number depending on the phone it may or may not show up when you enter the program menu if it is there use it if not just enter http://email.boostmobile.com/80 into your mobile browser on the phone in order to update the certificate,remember to only put the 80 at the end if it was included in the previous settings.

    your other port number is 743 and should allready be in the phone this specific port is universal to boost and sprint.

    BOOM now your e-mail client is configured and you have instant e-mail access on your boost phone. your picture mail and everything else will work now because your browser is set free from the pcs vision server. last thing to do, if your phone is mobile sync ready turn this feature off if possible it may from time to time cause your internet to need reprogramming always keep the MSL code handy with this you will not need to call customer care.

    every time you call customer care they note your account and after so many calls a escalations rep will review your account for problems if this happens your service could be cut off I know this because i own a cell phone store and have been dealing with boost mobile since they started up a few years ago so keep the calls to customer care to a minimum. the only phone that cannot work on boost cdma is the SAMSUNG INSTINCT SO DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME the dec number has a different config. Now if you are going to do it do it right get a phone that has modem capabilities and you will have free highspeed internet access for your lap top or pc but do not abuse it after about a gig or 2 of data they will terminate your service but use all the wap you want.

  15. #75
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    9
    Device(s)
    LG Optimus S
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just recently activated my Sprint Blackberry 8330 on boost, swapped over from the iDen Motorola Clutch. First call wouldn't activate it, told me the esn was in use. Called again, it went through. Succsessfully had it working. Realized when i went to work the next day it was not working, i quickly found that the phone did not work while roaming, so I turned off roaming in my connection settings. Phone works great when in service. I use pandora to listen to music while texting or on the internet. I wish it had a bit more memory, but i can't complain for the price of $35. Thanks everyone who has provided the information in this forum, it's a great tool!

Page 5 of 28 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1258
    Last Post: 07-23-2010, 07:37 PM
  2. Replies: 2905
    Last Post: 03-01-2010, 06:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks