Thread: Is it safe to do a system update on a flashed Motorola Droid?

Phones
    Samsung Fascinate
    Samsung Fascinate, Full Flash w/3G
    Samsung Galaxy Tab i800, Flashed w/ 3G
    Carriers
    Metro PCS
    Feedback Score

Is it safe to do a system update on a flashed Motorola Droid?

My droid is flased to Metro and wworks great, but as I was learning all of its bad *** features I have noticed in 'About Phone>System updates' menu that there is an Android Update 2.1 which will require a restart.

Does anyone know if downloading this and updating my phone will destroy the flash that ha been done to it?

I paid to have this phone flashed, therefore I would not be comfortable, or even have the know how, to back up the entire phone and re-flash it myself to restore it.

Thanks for any help.

Phones
    iPhone 4S
    iPhone 4S
    www.ngwmiami.com
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    I flash phones for a living... HOPEFULLY the jerk who flashed your phone put a custom rom that disables OTA updates.. (the phone will still prompt but update will FAIL), if not then yea you will lose your root and flash. No contacts or anything like that will be lost but flash will. I happen to flash with a Custom Android 2.2 build and any customer that asks for an update and paid full price, gets unlimited updates for 1 year. I suggest you call the person who flashed your phone and ask him why didnt he put 2.1.. its been out for a LOOOONG time now..

Sounds like he slacked

Phones
    Samsung Fascinate
    Samsung Fascinate, Full Flash w/3G
    Samsung Galaxy Tab i800, Flashed w/ 3G
    Carriers
    Metro PCS
    Feedback Score