Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Evo reboots after updating NVRAM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Feedback Score
    0

    Evo reboots after updating NVRAM

    Hello,
    I am on a long journey, trying to flash my EOV to Metro ... a long story for later

    Anyway, I ran across a post where someone said to write to the NVRAM from WhiteRabbit's generator: whiterabbit.org/android/

    The file uploaded successfully (4 items were changed), but when I tried to reboot the EVO, it vibrates and comes up with the HTC EVO 4G logo, goes blank, and reboots

    I have tried re flashing the rom, but it did not help.

    Does anyone have any ideas?

    I made backups of my original NVRAM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Broward County
    Posts
    15
    Carrier(s)
    METROPCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by silverhawk_184 View Post
    Hello,
    I am on a long journey, trying to flash my EOV to Metro ... a long story for later

    Anyway, I ran across a post where someone said to write to the NVRAM from WhiteRabbit's generator: whiterabbit.org/android/

    The file uploaded successfully (4 items were changed), but when I tried to reboot the EVO, it vibrates and comes up with the HTC EVO 4G logo, goes blank, and reboots

    I have tried re flashing the rom, but it did not help.

    Does anyone have any ideas?

    I made backups of my original NVRAM.
    i suggest you restore from your backup. there is no need to write nv items to fully flash the evo to metro. just follow this guide and you'll be fully flashed without a problem.
    http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...Tutorial-v2.0)

    make sure you use the autostart.sh from the hero/eris.
    ADD YOUR ESN TO METROPCS EMAIL: [email protected]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks, the only thing is that I dont know how to restore my backup. I can get into the menu (Power + Vol down) and reflash it from the SD, but I cannot click on restore, It just reboots and loops. can I do it over Fastboot?

    I did a fastboot oem boot ... here is the log
    Code:
    INFOsetup_tag addr=0xA0000100 cmdline add=0x8E07E1C0
    INFOTAG:Ramdisk OK
    INFOTAG:smi ok, size = 0
    INFOTAG:hwid 0x0
    INFOTAG:skuid 0x23301
    INFOTAG:hero panel = 0x1
    INFOTAG:engineerid = 0x0
    INFOMCP dual-die
    INFOMCP dual-die
    INFOTAG:mono-die = 0x0
    INFODevice CID is not super CID
    INFOCID is SPCS_001
    INFOsetting->cid::SPCS_001
    INFOserial number: HT06THL10611
    INFOcommandline from head: no_console_suspend=1
    INFOcommand line length =480
    INFOactive commandline: board_supersonic.disable_uart3=0 board_s
    INFOupersonic.usb_h2w_sw=0 board_supersonic.disable_sdcard=0 dia
    INFOg.enabled=0 board_supersonic.debug_uart=0 smisize=0 userdata
    INFO_sel=0 androidboot.emmc=false  androidboot.baseband=1.36.00.
    INFO04.02 androidboot.cid=SPCS_001 androidboot.batt_poweron=die_
    INFObattery androidboot.carrier=COMMON androidboot.mid=PC3610000
    INFO androidboot.keycaps=qwerty androidboot.mode=normal androidb
    INFOoot.serialno=HT06THL10611 androidboot.bootloader=0.76.2000 n
    INFOo_console_suspend=1
    INFOaARM_Partion[0].name=wimax
    INFOaARM_Partion[1].name=misc
    INFOaARM_Partion[2].name=recovery
    INFOaARM_Partion[3].name=boot
    INFOaARM_Partion[4].name=system
    INFOaARM_Partion[5].name=cache
    INFOaARM_Partion[6].name=userdata
    INFOpartition number=7
    INFOValid partition num=7
    INFOjump_to_kernel: machine_id(2433), tags_addr(0x20000100), ker
    INFOnel_addr(0x20008000)
    INFO-------------------hboot boot time:592794 msec
    FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))
    finished. total time: 4.508s
    I have access to another EVO, is there a way I can do a deep backup/restore? I can then go in and change all the device specific details (acct info, meid, ...)

    How do I edit (pcimg34.zip/nv.img) with a NV_items backup from CDMA WorkShop 2.7 dump?
    Last edited by silverhawk_184; 08-02-2010 at 09:20 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    @silverhawk_184

    PM sent send me your back up file please

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am in the exact same situation. HBOOT is the only thing that loads and fastboot is the only command that works. I have HBOOT 0.93.00.0 installed from the 3.26.651.6 RUU.

    The Rom Update Ultility (RUU) uses adb or fastboot commands (if adb is unavailable). After learning the commands the RUU uses I am able to duplicate what it does using a batch file (a script of all the fastboot commands in a text file named *.bat).

    I cannot enable debugging (it always reboots/loops after white "HTC EVO 4G" splash screen and ADB will not work. I see no way of entering diagnostic mode (so I can't use QPST).

    Recovery does not work. It loads and verifies any PC36IMG.zip file on the SDCARD but never asks do you want to update.

    Attempting various other commands with fastboot always results in a Signature Verification Failure of some kind. I've been reading forums, guides, etc. all over but few start of with these limitations when trying to root or flash.

    This is all I know so far. Hopefully someone else can add more insight if not a solution.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4
    Device(s)
    Motorola W375
    Carrier(s)
    Net 10
    Feedback Score
    0

    cricket nv

    Hi i flashed the NV items to my phone too

    it still works but the carrier name is mycricket.com and i cannont get the 3g icon to come up anymore

    could someone please send me or post a backup of the NV items please.

    ill donate to u ill help u please help me

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Broward County
    Posts
    15
    Carrier(s)
    METROPCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Did you guys ever get this fixed. I have a solution for those stuck in boot loop with only fastboot working after writing the wrong nv items. you guys know who you are, I am one of those people but i never gave in and happened to find a way to fix the phone. You guys still have those semi bricked evo's around?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, i am still stuck, How did you fix it?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Broward County
    Posts
    15
    Carrier(s)
    METROPCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by silverhawk_184 View Post
    Yes, i am still stuck, How did you fix it?
    I have another very big discovery. pm me for details

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Feedback Score
    0
    I PM'd you 2 days ago. Have you been busy?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does anyone have a fix?
    i have the same problem I repaired the ESN on a new EVO I used my touch pro2 as the donor then I had written ALL NV items from the tp2 to the EVO ouch . Then I got to the loop boot screen I can run RUU’s but that doesn’t fix any help would be appreciated!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    I need a fix also. Someone please help.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    has anyone fixed this issue yet??

    my EVO works but does not want to accept the data settings for Metro.

    i was looking for an upload of a stock "nv items" to write it back to the phone with CDMA WS.

    WTF whiterabbit.org

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by marley183rd View Post
    I have another very big discovery. pm me for details
    I am still stuck whats the answer

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    274
    Device(s)
    Motorola XT1103 Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by silverhawk_184 View Post
    I am still stuck whats the answer
    Don't use a file/method designed for the Motorola Droid 1 on any other make or model of phone.

Similar Threads

  1. 9700 Reboots
    By RubberDuckie12 in forum BlackBerry
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-13-2010, 02:47 PM
  2. SCH-R500 Reboots after several seconds?
    By rfninja in forum Samsung
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-11-2010, 01:28 PM
  3. Treo 800w nvram access
    By bwze in forum Windows Mobile (Before 7)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-10-2010, 07:39 PM
  4. Random reboots
    By matrix2004 in forum Android
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-30-2009, 10:30 AM
  5. Tour Randomly Reboots
    By Joe0378 in forum BlackBerry
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-10-2009, 09:53 PM

Bookmarks