Thread: Can one use DUN to tether HD2?

Feedback Score

Can one use DUN to tether HD2?

So far, all the directions I have seen for tethering the HD2, both USB and BT, involve using the Internet Sharing app.

That certainly is far easier to set up than a DUN connection. However, once set up, I find DUN (which I used on other phones) simpler and quicker to connect. For instance, I would put a shortcut to that DUN connection in the Quick Launch bar of the laptop. If doing a BT connection, the phone could stay in the pocket, no need to do anything on it, and just one click on that icon on the Quick Launch bar on the laptop, and it would connect. (Whereas with ICS, one has to start the ICS app on the phone, etc.) (AFAIK. I'm new to ICS. Let me know if it can connect just through one click on the laptop.)

Anyhow though, not having seen DUN mentioned in any HD2 posts, I don't even know if it is possible on that phone. Anyone here used DUN on the HD2?

What number do you set the computer to call (*99***what#)? (I forget exactly how that works, and I think it differs by phone.)

Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score
    I don't know how to make it done over USB (you can use async/WMDC or USB ethernet emu to make it done), but Broadcom bt can.

Optimum/Cablevision

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by Scottish Skyedance View Post
    I don't know how to make it done over USB (you can use async/WMDC or USB ethernet emu to make it done), but Broadcom bt can.
    You mean if the computer has Broadcom BT installed? Could you give your directions for it?

I guess for USB one would need a driver, to have the phone recognized as a USB modem. Would the old HTC USB modem driver (for instance, used with the MDA) work with it?

Does it not work if the Microsoft BT stack is used on the laptop?

Device(s)
    LG V20 and LG G Pad X 8.0
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile One Plan 6+1 lines
    Feedback Score