Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0

    iPhone 4 Question- how to turn off cell feature, but keep GPS and Wifi active.

    I've searched online, but didn't come up with anything. Can anyone answer this question?

    How can I turn off the cellular phone/data feature on the phone but keep WiFi and the GPS antenna active?

    I know in Airplane mode, you can turn on the WiFi function, but that doesn't allow you to keep the GPS active.

    The reason why I want this setup, is to avoid ANY roaming charges when I travel to the US. I travel quite often, and I have a US cell phone. It would be nice to use the IP4 for GPS and as my primary e-mail/browsing device when I hit a wifi hotspot.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New West
    Posts
    859
    Phone
    iPhone 4
    Carrier
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Take out the sim, I think gps should still work
    Otherwise jailbreak and install sbsettings or bossprefs which allow you to turn off phone part

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    129
    Feedback Score
    0
    Do above or go to unlockit.co.nz on your phone and install a fake apn. This should prevent your phone from accessing cell data

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    17
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ruffdeezy View Post
    Take out the sim, I think gps should still work
    Otherwise jailbreak and install sbsettings or bossprefs which allow you to turn off phone part
    This. Just tried it out of curiosity. Didn't think GPS would work, but it still did even with WiFi turned off.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    114
    Feedback Score
    0
    Can't one just switch "cellular data" (under Settings ---> General ---> Network) to off? I think that the gps still works even when cellular data is off. Perhaps I am wrong?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    709
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lowgman View Post
    The reason why I want this setup, is to avoid ANY roaming charges when I travel to the US. I travel quite often, and I have a US cell phone. It would be nice to use the IP4 for GPS and as my primary e-mail/browsing device when I hit a wifi hotspot.

    Thanks in advance!
    As long as you keep the iPhone data roaming disabled (OFF), you don't have to worry about any data roaming charge while you're in US...

    It is better to keep your Rogers SIM in your iPhone 4 while you're in US... It might help the iPhone AGPS to lock satellite signal by using your SIM card cellular positioning...

    Instead of carrying 2 phones... why don't unlocked your iPhone 4 or sell your locked iPhone 4 and buy the unlocked version... While you're in US just put the US sim card in your iPhone 4 and use it...


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    1,855
    Phone
    Galaxy SIII, iPhone 4s Black 64GB (wife's phone)
    Carrier
    Virgin Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    like me815 wrote, just make sure that "data roaming" is disabled and don't answer any calls... and you will be fine...
    I've done it a couple of time while I was in New York... I never had any roaming charge added to my bills...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    84
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by me815 View Post
    Instead of carrying 2 phones... why don't unlocked your iPhone 4 or sell your locked iPhone 4 and buy the unlocked version... While you're in US just put the US sim card in your iPhone 4 and use it...
    Are you aware of any prepaid plans in the US that offer data? Without that, the unlocked iPhone idea won't work.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    98
    Feedback Score
    0
    Good question

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    421
    Phone
    iPhone 5C/ iPhone 5
    Carrier
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    If you're using GPS with Google Maps, you need data turned on though (or have Wi-Fi access) - the maps are downloaded each time - they aren't stored in the device like with the Tom Tom (or other) apps.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    709
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tuscanybay View Post
    Are you aware of any prepaid plans in the US that offer data? Without that, the unlocked iPhone idea won't work.
    Technically, the iPhone uses A-GPS (Assissted GPS) to lock the satellite signal...

    Many mobile phones combine A-GPS and other location services including Wi-Fi Positioning System and cell-site triangulation in a hybrid positioning system.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assisted_GPS

    So if you don't have data (which help you lock satellite faster), iPhone can use the SIM card for cell-site triangulation to lock satellite (slower) ==> You might not need data to use the iPhone GPS...

    Now, it depends on what GPS app you use... App like Google maps required data in order to download map... but others real GPS navigation software like Navigon, Tomtom... all the maps already downloaded ==> you don't need data to use these GPS apps...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    98
    Feedback Score
    0
    Do programs like Yelp need data to work correctly?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
    Posts
    6,437
    Phones
    Unlocked Rogers Blackberry Q10 | LG Nexus-4 | Samsung Nexus-S
    Rogers SonyEricsson c510 (unlocked)
    Fido iPhone 3GS 32GB (unlocked)
    Carrier
    Fido | Rogers Prepaid | LycaMobile US | Bell | T-Mobile Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bkushner1 View Post
    Do programs like Yelp need data to work correctly?
    I took a quick look at Yelp's website and the answer is yes (or they need WiFi) since in the picture (http://www.yelp.com/yelpmobile), it appears to use GoogleMaps.
    Fido (monthly plan - personal/data): Novatel Wireless MC950D or Nokia CS-18

    Fido (monthly): ZTE WF720 Wireless Home Phone

    Rogers (pay as you go - Canadian prepaid): "Fido" Samsung Nexus-S

    Rogers (monthly BIS data plan): Blackberry Q10 <- CANCELLED over Dispute

    Lycamobile (US prepaid): Sony-Ericsson c510 or Sony-Ericsson w300i

    T-Mobile (US prepaid): unlocked Fido iPhone 3GS 32GB or LG Nexus-4

    Bell (tablet plan): LG Nexus-4


    My Tech Blog

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
    Posts
    6,437
    Phones
    Unlocked Rogers Blackberry Q10 | LG Nexus-4 | Samsung Nexus-S
    Rogers SonyEricsson c510 (unlocked)
    Fido iPhone 3GS 32GB (unlocked)
    Carrier
    Fido | Rogers Prepaid | LycaMobile US | Bell | T-Mobile Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lowgman View Post
    I know in Airplane mode, you can turn on the WiFi function, but that doesn't allow you to keep the GPS active.
    In this respect, is the iPhone4 different from the iPhone 3GS? With my iPhone 3GS, I can turn on Airplane mode, then turn on the WiFi function and my GPS still works for my standalone GPS (TomTom) or for the data dependent GPS (Flixster Movies, GoogleMaps, etc.).

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Markham
    Posts
    9,869
    Phones
    Sharp SH-09D
    Sharp SH-09D
    BB Z10
    Carrier
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tuscanybay View Post
    Are you aware of any prepaid plans in the US that offer data? Without that, the unlocked iPhone idea won't work.
    when i went to san fran for two weeks, i went with t-mobile for my phone, and i could browse, and call anywhere in the states.. i paid $50 bucks and that including simcard and lots of mins, cant remember but it was enough to last me two weeks, and made a lot of calls...

    but at the time i had a regular phone not a iphone.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-07-2012, 04:06 PM
  2. BB App to turn BB into a WIFI hub
    By bb4srv in forum BlackBerry
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-13-2010, 03:37 PM
  3. toggle feature to turn the data back on?
    By TetherChick in forum Page Plus Cellular
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-30-2009, 10:34 AM
  4. Keep WiFi active during sleep mode.
    By hellomoto_25 in forum Apple
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-03-2009, 12:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •