Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: roamed on 310-730 in Maine?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    2,505
    Device(s)
    IPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    roamed on 310-730 in Maine?

    Hi,

    I was in Norway, Maine today and according to the debug screen, my IPhone was roaming on 310-730. Does anyone know what network that is?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    5,133
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jtludwig View Post
    Hi,

    I was in Norway, Maine today and according to the debug screen, my IPhone was roaming on 310-730. Does anyone know what network that is?

    Thanks
    It's Sea Mobile according to http://www.roamingzone.com/mnc/

    Were you near the coast? You may have picked up a signal from an offshore platform or rig.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    2,505
    Device(s)
    IPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Nope it's not anywhere near the coast. When I dialed a number without the area code I thought I got a recording that identified it as US Cellular. I didn't think they had any GSM setup for roamers.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    BTA027
    Posts
    16,777
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    American Telephone & Telegraph Company
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sea Mobile only operates in the Gulf. And USCC does not have any GSM service that I'm aware of. The only GSM carrier you could have roamed on in Maine is T-Mobile, VZW (former UNICEL), or a Canadian carrier.

    PRL Interpretations
    XFF's AlphaTag software
    Cellular and PCS License Maps
    Quote Originally Posted by gpatrick900
    I am a little confused. My Verizon phone was able to roam on GSM because they used TDMA. Tell it was shutdown. The phone recognizes it as Analog. If PCS has TDMA, It could be technically be used on GSM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tabla View Post
    Y'know, I'm used to hysterical 14-year-old ******** on the internet, but this is exceptional. Never before in human history have so many nerds hyperventilated so publicly over so little.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    2,505
    Device(s)
    IPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by XFF View Post
    Sea Mobile only operates in the Gulf. And USCC does not have any GSM service that I'm aware of. The only GSM carrier you could have roamed on in Maine is VZW (former UNICEL) or a Canadian carrier.
    No No..Unicell is 310-890. And it couldn't of been a Canadian carrier because the country code is 310..plus I wasn't anywhere near Canada. I took a screenshot because I knew no one would believe me.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    BTA027
    Posts
    16,777
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    American Telephone & Telegraph Company
    Feedback Score
    0
    Maybe Maine PCS?

    They don't have a web site, but they're located in Buckfield, ME, which is not far from Norway, ME.

    http://www.hotfrog.com/Companies/Maine-Pcs

    Edit: Never mind! That particular channel you were on (238) indicates the C-2 block, which belongs to VZW in that market.

    http://wireless2.fcc.gov/UlsApp/UlsS...licKey=2345713

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    2,505
    Device(s)
    IPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hmmm. Kinda strange. Oh well. I should of paid closer attention to the recording but my wife kept telling me to put the phone away .

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    2,505
    Device(s)
    IPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    One more thing. I was able to roam on 310-890 (unicell/verizon) in the same location if I selected it thru manual network selection.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    2,157
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jtludwig View Post
    One more thing. I was able to roam on 310-890 (unicell/verizon) in the same location if I selected it thru manual network selection.


    I also have the 3gs, how were you able to select the network manually? I would like to know so that maybe when I keep getting no service could try doing that.
    NHCharmedOne





    My opinions are mine, not yours, no one says you have to agree with them! =)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    2,505
    Device(s)
    IPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by NHCharmedOne View Post
    I also have the 3gs, how were you able to select the network manually? I would like to know so that maybe when I keep getting no service could try doing that.
    Well I have an IPhone 4 now, but it's probably the same for the 3GS. If you're running IOS 4 and have your phone Jailbroken and then unlocked with the latest version of UltraSn0w, it gives you the network selection menu. I'm not sure if this will help your no service problems though, because even though I have network selection enabled and can see the other networks, it does not mean that AT&T actually lets me roam on them. If I didn't have network selection enabled, had no AT&T native signal, but was allowed to roam, the phone would jump over to roaming automatically. The network selection is nice when you're in a situation where you have a poor AT&T native signal and AT&T allows roaming on a partner carrier who has a stronger signal in your particular location.

    Also..when I view the available networks in the network selection menu, I unfortunately don't see AT&T, Unicel, etc. They all show up as AT&T (AT&T is listed multiple times, once for each network the phone detects). The only way I know that I'm actually roaming is to look at the MNC, or if I dial an invalid number (which gives me the network recording--which is how I found out I was on USCC).

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    2,157
    Carrier(s)
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jtludwig View Post
    Well I have an IPhone 4 now, but it's probably the same for the 3GS. If you're running IOS 4 and have your phone Jailbroken and then unlocked with the latest version of UltraSn0w, it gives you the network selection menu. I'm not sure if this will help your no service problems though, because even though I have network selection enabled and can see the other networks, it does not mean that AT&T actually lets me roam on them. If I didn't have network selection enabled, had no AT&T native signal, but was allowed to roam, the phone would jump over to roaming automatically. The network selection is nice when you're in a situation where you have a poor AT&T native signal and AT&T allows roaming on a partner carrier who has a stronger signal in your particular location.

    Also..when I view the available networks in the network selection menu, I unfortunately don't see AT&T, Unicel, etc. They all show up as AT&T (AT&T is listed multiple times, once for each network the phone detects). The only way I know that I'm actually roaming is to look at the MNC, or if I dial an invalid number (which gives me the network recording--which is how I found out I was on USCC).
    I will have to give it a shot, thank you for the info, I want to JB it anyway though I tried it using blackra1n and had to restore phone back to original settings lol itunes popped up said I could not use phone til i did a restore

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    BTA027
    Posts
    16,777
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    American Telephone & Telegraph Company
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just realized that the ARFCN of 238 references a GSM channel, not a UMTS channel. Therefore, disregard my comments in post #7. GSM channel 238 falls into the A-block of the cellular band, which belongs to USCC.

    http://people.ku.edu/~cinema/wireless/Natl_Cell_A.html

    This is consistent with your comment in post #3, but I had no knowledge of USCC running any GSM, and I still can't explain why they would use Sea Mobile's MNC/MCC.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,381
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    According to GSM World, US Cellular had a planned launch of GSM 850 for August 1st, 2010. It must've happened!

    P.S. Yup, USCC for sure, this site confirms that 310-730 is US Cellular not Sea Mobile:

    http://www.imsiadmin.com/ByHNIns.cfm

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    5,133
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Uhde View Post
    According to GSM World, US Cellular had a planned launch of GSM 850 for August 1st, 2010. It must've happened!

    P.S. Yup, USCC for sure, this site confirms that 310-730 is US Cellular not Sea Mobile:

    http://www.imsiadmin.com/ByHNIns.cfm
    Yes, confirmed here http://www.gsmworld.com/roaming/index.html
    Good find.

    What's going on at USCC? Are they planning a transition to GSM/UMTS or is this a roaming-only network with a planned customer transition to LTE in the future?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    2,444
    Device(s)
    s8+, s8, s7e, Pro3, Axon 7, Nexus 5+6+5x, Note 4, moto xp
    Carrier(s)
    Xfinity Mobile, Project Fi, att, tmo, FreedomPop, trac/att, CellNuvo, tru, lyca, ekit
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hitting 730 here at South Arm ME. Never had gsm here before. New vzw signal here (must have finally replaced the unicel tdma cell) so i figured it was them but makes more sense to be usc. Gsm 850 channel 129 which i assume is CELL A. Can't register with ekit. Now that usc gets basically no roaming from vzw they my as well compete for gsm roaming revenue.
    --
    CellGuru

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. I Roamed on AT&T
    By shawnlg in forum T-Mobile prepaid
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-06-2010, 09:11 PM
  2. Poor coverage outside Maine/New Hampshire
    By Jobi Wan Kenobi in forum USCellular
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-03-2010, 06:52 AM
  3. Maine Towers?
    By rwherman in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 03:24 PM
  4. Frustrated with AT&T Maine Coverage
    By nremtp118 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 56
    Last Post: 09-09-2009, 07:40 PM
  5. Coverage in Maine over the next 2 years?
    By mazzthepianoman in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 240
    Last Post: 09-09-2009, 10:41 AM

Bookmarks