Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Unable to Use Speed Dial #1 for Voicemail on LG 290C

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0

    Unable to Use Speed Dial #1 for Voicemail on LG 290C

    Just purchased and activated an LG 290C on Straight Talk within the last 3 weeks. Haven't been able to use the 1 speed dial to connect to the voicemail system. Instead, I receive the error message: "! Check Call Restrictions -54".

    Cust. service wasn't overly helpful, so did a little digging online and came across this on the Straight Talk website: http://www.straighttalk.com/controll...gory=voicemail

    Basically, it implies that you need to dial *86 to access voicemail on any CDMA phone on the Straight Talk system--but that press/hold 1 will work for GSM phones.

    Is this correct? Does anyone else out there have an LG 290C (or other CDMA phone) that can access voicemail through speeddialling 1?

    When I check the number assigned to speeddial 1, it shows 000-000-2614.

    This is apparently throwing off other voicemail connection features, such as: accessing voicemail through Messages menu [menu-3-6], using voice command to access voicemail [menu-8-1-1-2], and attemping to retrieve new voicemails that are displayed on the main screen [use Listen button].

    Seems like there should be a relatively easy way to reprogram the voicemail box access number...thoughts?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    373
    Carrier
    straight talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have the lg290c. I have always been able to speed dial 1 to the voicemail. Also, I hold down the 1 button and access the voicemail that way as well. Not sure what is going on with your phone.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    4,676
    Carriers
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Don`t know if you have already seen this, but click on the Voicemail Tutorial and then click on "set up Voicemail" (the tutorial is interactive, showing you what you will see with each step):
    http://tracfone.deviceanywhere.com/s...m?deviceId=639

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    173
    Feedback Score
    0
    The only thing that I have hated about Straighttalk's voice mail dailing feature is that they won't let you edit and put in any pause and then add your pin number to have the phone key it in automaticly.
    You have to key it in your self.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NorthWestern PA
    Posts
    624
    Phone
    Motorola V176, LG600g, LG3280
    Carrier
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ydkjman View Post
    The only thing that I have hated about Straighttalk's voice mail dailing feature is that they won't let you edit and put in any pause and then add your pin number to have the phone key it in automaticly.
    You have to key it in your self.
    Yes, that's such an enormous chore!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    173
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Cannonball-II View Post
    Yes, that's such an enormous chore!
    Thanks for pointing that out Cannonball-II Your so right this enormous chore just about kills me every time that I have to key in the extra numbers on my own.

    But it's still one thing that you can't do. Has it made me stop using StraightTalk ? No. Do I wish I could do this like every other phone that I've had? Yes.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    373
    Carrier
    straight talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    would it work if you programmed the voicemail number as your phone number? Can you pause so add the * and then the pin number? I have never done it, but maybe that would work????

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    173
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by stompoutloud View Post
    would it work if you programmed the voicemail number as your phone number? Can you pause so add the * and then the pin number? I have never done it, but maybe that would work????
    I think I'm getting what your saying. I created an entry with my phone number and 2 p's for the pause so it looks like this
    xxx-xxx-xxxxppxxxx#
    Stored it in location 9 and from now on i will just push 9 send and away it will go.
    Thanks for the idea stompoutloud

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by stompoutloud View Post
    I have the lg290c. I have always been able to speed dial 1 to the voicemail. Also, I hold down the 1 button and access the voicemail that way as well. Not sure what is going on with your phone.
    stompoutloud-
    Thanks for your reply, I was wondering if it was possible to access the voicemail system that way using a StraightTalk LG290C. Did you have to do any fancy programming to assign the voicemail access number to speeddial 1?

    The reason I ask is because--shortly after my original post--I received an email from StraightTalk customer service stating that I needed to use *86 to access my voicemails on a CDMA phone (excerpt below):
    Please be informed that we will not be able to reset the voicemail
    number itself. However, we will be able to reset the voicemail box and
    the voicemail password. You will not be able to access your voicemail
    messages by pressing the 1 key. The only way to access your voicemail
    messages is to call *86, since your phone is a CDMA technology phone.

    We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any
    inconvenience you may have experienced with this issue.
    Resetting the voicemail box and password would be of no use to me, since once I am in the voicemail system everything works fine...I just need to figure out how to reprogram the voicemail access number on my phone.

    In the grand scheme of things, this is a minor annoyance...it's just that this minor annoyance has an effect on several methods of getting to my voicemail.

    Any ideas on how a person would reprogram this phone's voicemail access number?

    Thanks again.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ydkjman View Post
    I think I'm getting what your saying. I created an entry with my phone number and 2 p's for the pause so it looks like this
    xxx-xxx-xxxxppxxxx#
    Stored it in location 9 and from now on i will just push 9 send and away it will go.
    Thanks for the idea stompoutloud
    If you want to save an extra keypress, you can just press and hold 9 for a couple of seconds...it should be the same as pressing 9 then pressing Send.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    173
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ensignr8 View Post
    If you want to save an extra keypress, you can just press and hold 9 for a couple of seconds...it should be the same as pressing 9 then pressing Send.
    Thats a good point as well. Either way its still nice to have been able to make this work.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    373
    Carrier
    straight talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ydkjman View Post
    I think I'm getting what your saying. I created an entry with my phone number and 2 p's for the pause so it looks like this
    xxx-xxx-xxxxppxxxx#
    Stored it in location 9 and from now on i will just push 9 send and away it will go.
    Thanks for the idea stompoutloud

    Hey glad it worked for you! I'll now program it into my phone!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    373
    Carrier
    straight talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ensignr8 View Post
    stompoutloud-
    Thanks for your reply, I was wondering if it was possible to access the voicemail system that way using a StraightTalk LG290C. Did you have to do any fancy programming to assign the voicemail access number to speeddial 1?

    The reason I ask is because--shortly after my original post--I received an email from StraightTalk customer service stating that I needed to use *86 to access my voicemails on a CDMA phone (excerpt below):


    Resetting the voicemail box and password would be of no use to me, since once I am in the voicemail system everything works fine...I just need to figure out how to reprogram the voicemail access number on my phone.

    In the grand scheme of things, this is a minor annoyance...it's just that this minor annoyance has an effect on several methods of getting to my voicemail.

    Any ideas on how a person would reprogram this phone's voicemail access number?

    Thanks again.
    Hey man, I am not sure what to do on your phone situation. I never had a problem setting up the voicemail. The only other thing I can think of is to do that reset. I forgot what it was.. but it's in one of these threads.. something with *778 or something like that? If anyone else remembers that code, let this guy know. It resets the entire phone and downloads any firmware it has. Good luck on that.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by stompoutloud View Post
    ...The only other thing I can think of is to do that reset. I forgot what it was.. but it's in one of these threads.. something with *778 or something like that? If anyone else remembers that code, let this guy know. It resets the entire phone and downloads any firmware it has. Good luck on that.
    Does *22890 sound right? I tried this...at the end of the call the recording says the phone has been programmed successfully and automatically resets, but doesn't affect the programmed number for speed dial 1. Oh well...it was worth a try.

    Thanks for your help.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    373
    Carrier
    straight talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    that's it. Thanks for reminding me. Yeah, I guess that's all I remember what to do. Sorry, hope something else comes from it.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-17-2010, 10:28 AM
  2. help editing speed dial for voicemail
    By DjAzzy in forum Sharp
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-13-2009, 11:32 PM
  3. Program voicemail password on speed dial
    By mini1 in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-02-2009, 04:52 PM
  4. Q9h voicemail speed dial problem
    By nzoka in forum Fido
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-24-2009, 07:00 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-08-2009, 07:25 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks