Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Smartphone without data plan. Is it possible?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0

    Smartphone without data plan. Is it possible?

    I stumbled across this forum in my quest to find out if there is any possible way to have a US Cellular smartphone and not the data package. Between school, work, and home I have wifi 98% of the time. Because of this, I have absolutely no desire to pay for a data plan. However, I realize that US Cellular doesn't give you the option when you sign up to get a smartphone and not the data plan.

    My question is, can it be done any way at all? I would gladly pay the full price for either a new or used phone if it meant skipping the data package. I would even be happy with an older model. Maybe there are other cellular providers out there that offer this?

    Thanks for any tips or information!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    Oh, and if this isn't possible, would anyone have any suggestions for a phone that doesn't require a data plan? I have had an old Nokia 6265i for the last 4-5 years and loved it. Since it recently died, I'm hunting for a new phone since Nokia is no longer an option with US Cellular.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    390
    Phones
    HTC Desire
    Blackberry Tour 9630
    HTC Touch Pro2
    Carrier
    US Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    For a month or 2 I had a Samsung Caliber with no data plan on my account but I had to add it due to overage charges which were credited back to my account. I guess it is possible. All I did was call n activate it I guess they forgot to add the data plan to the line.

    Sent from my HTC Desire CDMA using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Forest City USCC SID 246
    Posts
    1,830
    Phones
    Galaxy S2
    Retired Mesmerise
    LG VX5600 Verizon Backup
    Carriers
    AT&T
    U.S.Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes it is. Even though they say it HAS to be its a lie cause the system lets you do it without it. My mom has had her caliber without data for almost a year now and one of my other lines with a TP2 has been for a few months, The only reason the other line is a TP2 cause his phone broke and he doesnt need data he just needed a phone to use.

    But I don`t see why you would want it without data. Cause if you have wifi most of the time, why not get a netbook?
    AT&T 3G Speedtest on my White Galaxy Note

    Wi-Fi Speedtest


    I am no longer a Primary Uscc User.
    Speedtest in Knox.TN EvDo Rev.A

    My Photography www.hunterspad.net

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Tulsa, OK, USA
    Posts
    16,056
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hyelton View Post
    Yes it is. Even though they say it HAS to be its a lie cause the system lets you do it without it. My mom has had her caliber without data for almost a year now and one of my other lines with a TP2 has been for a few months, The only reason the other line is a TP2 cause his phone broke and he doesnt need data he just needed a phone to use.

    But I don`t see why you would want it without data. Cause if you have wifi most of the time, why not get a netbook?
    What the system is capable of has zero connection with company policy. None. Bottom line - if the rep is doing their job and following company policy, then no, you cannot activate a smartphone without data. It's clearly in the T&C's that it's required. If a rep does manage to activate it without data, they're risking their job. And if you do manage to do it, and later make changes to said line (say, activating a warranty or insurance replacement), then don't be surprised if adding the appropriate data package is a requirement to do so.







  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    103
    Phones
    Samsung Mesmerize
    Motorola w385 (backup)
    LG Bliss (backup)
    Carrier
    US Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Oh, and if this isn't possible, would anyone have any suggestions for a phone that doesn't require a data plan?
    Some good reliable phones that don't require data plans are the Mystique, Quantico, and Wine II.
    need kidney ... STAT

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    879
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Also the LG Banter Touch looks fantastic.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thank you so much to everyone for your input. Since it looks rather doubtful if it's possible to get an actual smartphone without the required data plan I will probably go with either the LG Banter Tough or the Samsung Messager Touch.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-10-2010, 02:29 PM
  2. MiFi 2372 - BB Data Plan or Smartphone plan
    By yeaguy in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-23-2010, 01:38 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-13-2009, 01:46 PM
  4. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-03-2009, 10:11 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-31-2009, 03:11 PM

Bookmarks