Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Alltel to AT&T phone selection question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0

    Cool Alltel to AT&T phone selection question

    I currently have three Alltel phones.

    1 Samsung Messager Touch
    2 Samsung Doubletakes

    AT&T has recommended the Aria as a replacement for all three of these phones.

    My concerns are the following?

    - Isn't a data plan required for the Aria? I don't currently have one.

    - If I don't want a data plan and need to choose a different phone, There doesn't seem to by any options for a horizonal Slider texting phone like the Samsungs that I have on Alltel. What phone are people choosing to replace their Doubletakes?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,354
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    HTC Aria wasn't offered for my friend's DoubleTake. For whatever reason, it sounds like the system doesn't know what phones you actually have...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0

    What phone did you friend select?

    It doesn't look like they have a full qwerty horizontal slider phone option.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,354
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    They do not, she selected the Strive and her daughter the Eternity II. I'd suggest if the system's letting you, that you jump on the Arias though! My understanding is (I hope I'm right!) that they won't force a data plan on you for choosing them.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    34
    Phones
    HTC Wildfire
    HTC Wildfire
    Carrier
    alltel
    Feedback Score
    0
    It should say, when you order your replacement phone, if you need to change your plan.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    West Michigan
    Posts
    40
    Carrier
    Alltel
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am also being offered the Aria as a replacement.
    I also do not have a data plan or want one.

    Expecting a notice from AT&T in January when I activate the phone.
    Something like:
    "Oh this is a smartphone, we require you have a data plan"

    Well see what happens....

    If thats the case I will be waiting the 30 days, keeping the phones, dropping the plan and finding a different carrier.
    Possibly selling the phones as well for some $.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    NV
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    HTC Aria
    Carrier
    AT&T (Formally Alltel)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ntippet View Post
    I am also being offered the Aria as a replacement.
    I also do not have a data plan or want one.

    Expecting a notice from AT&T in January when I activate the phone.
    Something like:
    "Oh this is a smartphone, we require you have a data plan"

    Well see what happens....

    If thats the case I will be waiting the 30 days, keeping the phones, dropping the plan and finding a different carrier.
    Possibly selling the phones as well for some $.
    When you you go through the phone replacement order site it asks if you want to keep your current plan or upgrade. I'm sure you could hold them accountable for the response you provided at this time.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    West Michigan
    Posts
    40
    Carrier
    Alltel
    Feedback Score
    0
    In theory yes as I did not upgrade.

    So I will wait until the switch occurs since no one can provide a solid answer at this time.

Similar Threads

  1. Help: New Phone Selection (Opinions) & Pricing Question
    By dave221 in forum Phone Battle and Comparison
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-13-2010, 08:50 PM
  2. Question on Phone Selection at Integration
    By A42887 in forum ALLTEL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-16-2010, 09:14 PM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-07-2010, 07:47 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-22-2009, 04:13 AM
  5. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-28-2009, 06:04 PM

Bookmarks