Thread: MyTouch Slide-can internal memory storage be increased?

Feedback Score

MyTouch Slide-can internal memory storage be increased?

I just bought a used HTC/MyTouch 3G Slide and the biggest complaint I am having right now is the intenal memory. Im new to Android but it seems apps can only be installed on the phone memory and not the SD card. I only installed a few apps....skype, google voice, some file handler, Angry Birds, etc... and Im already getting messages saying I need to remove some programs even with doing something as little as opening a text message!

So in short, is there any way to replace the phones internal memory with something bigger? I know it probably isnt some approved way of doing it and looked on youtube to see if anyone has tried it but no luck.

Phones
    Nexus One, Droid Incredible, HTC Desire, Samsung Galaxy S
    iPod Touch 64gb, Droid Eris (reserve)
    Blackberry Tour (sold), Nokia N85, Nokia 5530, MyTouch 3G (reserve)
    Carriers
    DOCOMO Pacific (HSDPA);
    Feedback Score
    Not really. You will have to wait for Android 2.2 Froyo, which is soon coming to the phone, to let you save apps on the SD card. Note, only some apps will allow you to save on the SD card. Angry Birds will install on the SD card, but not Skype.

My suggestion is to remove apps that are not useful for you and those that take up too much space. Some apps have settings that let them cache on the SD card. Turn that on.

Now if the phone is used, was it previously cleared of apps before? Are you downloading apps through your own Google account?

If you paid for apps, don't worry about erasing them. The Android Market will always remember paid apps marked with your login, so they will always be to be downloaded back again for free anytime in the future or on another phone.
    I am @guamguy on Twitter.

Feedback Score