Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: ATT Sim Card with H2o iPhone

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    53
    Phone
    Sanyo Incognito
    Carrier
    Boost
    Feedback Score
    0

    ATT Sim Card with H2o iPhone

    I read you could use a 64k unactivated at&t sim card with h20. I was wondering will it display h20 on the iPhone or display it as at&t. I was wondering just for apple care reasons.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    826
    Feedback Score
    0
    If you use H2O sim, display will say "gsm"... If you use at&t sim, display will say "at&t".

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    474
    Feedback Score
    0
    i have both an h20 sim card in one phone and an att in another both on h20. in the h20 sim phone is displays h20 for me and in the att one it says att.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    53
    Phone
    Sanyo Incognito
    Carrier
    Boost
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sweet guys thank you so much.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,668
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Snackers View Post
    i have both an h20 sim card in one phone and an att in another both on h20. in the h20 sim phone is displays h20 for me and in the att one it says att.
    Which ATT sim do you use? Did you get it on ebay? I want one that does not lock to the phone but I do not know what to look for.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    474
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by annepani View Post
    Which ATT sim do you use? Did you get it on ebay? I want one that does not lock to the phone but I do not know what to look for.

    Thanks.
    I got it on ebay for $1 and it didnt lock to any phone. I did find it odd that they asked for the imei number when registering online but I have put the att sim in different phones other then the one that i entered and it has worked in every phone! Maybe att cards are locked when you activate for att service not one of their mvnos? I dont know why h20 would lock it?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    23
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by annepani View Post
    Which ATT sim do you use? Did you get it on ebay? I want one that does not lock to the phone but I do not know what to look for.

    Thanks.
    Just make sure it's a 64K virgin SIM card - meaning it's never been activated with AT&T. I got my SIM card from a local AT&T store... called H20 later that day and activated the card. FYI - I can swap this card between my AT&T and unlocked t-mobile handsets, so it's not locked to any particular handset.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    7,159
    Feedback Score
    0
    Virgin NON Orange/White Gophone sims work fine and won't lock whether Blue/white or Blue /White/orange background. If it says "GOPHONE" Sim the card and it's orange/white, fugeddabout it, Att mvno or not, it will lock. But it looks like NON Gophone Att/Cingular phones allow some latitude. Unlocked Tmobile, non Att, Old Blue Att and prepaid Gophone Att phones all have problems ranging from not recognizing sim to sim crash.

    But it will activate in ANY compatible phone initially. It's just if you break or damage the phone and you need to transfer the sim, it will simlock unless it's possibly an Att/Cingular postpaid phone.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    76
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fonezfonz View Post
    Virgin NON Orange/White Gophone sims work fine and won't lock whether Blue/white or Blue /White/orange background. If it says "GOPHONE" Sim the card and it's orange/white, fugeddabout it, Att mvno or not, it will lock. But it looks like NON Gophone Att/Cingular phones allow some latitude. Unlocked Tmobile, non Att, Old Blue Att and prepaid Gophone Att phones all have problems ranging from not recognizing sim to sim crash.

    But it will activate in ANY compatible phone initially. It's just if you break or damage the phone and you need to transfer the sim, it will simlock unless it's possibly an Att/Cingular postpaid phone.
    Good info fonz, maybe you can help with the below. A bit confused.


    From a different thread:
    Quote Originally Posted by Snackers View Post
    You can also use att sim card which you can get for $.99!
    Is this true? Can you activate for example the $40 H2O plan using a new used AT&T GoPhone sim card? What might Snackers be referring to: pre-paid or regular post-paid sims, assuming there is a difference? The pre-paid sim comes with the phone I'd like to purchase from WalMart sim looks like this http://bit.ly/RxDNYL. Do you guys know if international direct-dialing is supported with these AT&T Go Phone sim cards for use on H2O? Thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    7,159
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 8_8 View Post
    Good info fonz, maybe you can help with the below. A bit confused.


    From a different thread:

    Is this true? Can you activate for example the $40 H2O plan using a new used AT&T GoPhone sim card? What might Snackers be referring to: pre-paid or regular post-paid sims, assuming there is a difference? The pre-paid sim comes with the phone I'd like to purchase from WalMart sim looks like this http://bit.ly/RxDNYL. Do you guys know if international direct-dialing is supported with these AT&T Go Phone sim cards for use on H2O?

    Thanks
    Att sims both prepaid and postpaid that are new/unused can be activated on H20 plans . I have tested this multiple times as have other hofos. None of the other mvnos allow sims from other Att mvnos or Att itself with the possible exception of Air Voice (which I've tested on a dealer portal and its failed).

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    76
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fonezfonz View Post
    Att sims both prepaid and postpaid that are new/unused can be activated on H20 plans . I have tested this multiple times as have other hofos.
    Great, thanks for the reply. Any special instructions to get this to work? Should I activate it online thru the company's consumer website or over the phone, for example? If i call it in, what should i said? Any guidance would be much appreciated.
    I'm not sure if you know the answer to this, but it's important that international direct dialing is available when using the go phone AT&T sim cards that come with the Walmart at&t go phone I plan to purchase - is IDD supported on these sims? If anyone knows please let me know. Thanks again.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    7
    Feedback Score
    0
    Can you still activate a new AT&T sim card with H2O? When I try to do this I get the message, " The SIM you entered does not exist."

    I was trying to use the sim that came with the Z222 Go Phone. Do I need to purchase an H2O sim card?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    482
    Carriers
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by name246 View Post
    Can you still activate a new AT&T sim card with H2O? When I try to do this I get the message, " The SIM you entered does not exist."

    I was trying to use the sim that came with the Z222 Go Phone. Do I need to purchase an H2O sim card?
    Yes you need an H2O sim. But don't pay $10 for it at the H2O website. Do a search on Amazon and it is 1 cent (the seller gets a commission from H2O when you activate the H2O sim, it doesn't cost you). Once you get the H2O sim, you still have to either buy a minute card or a monthly plan. The H2O sim doesn't come with any minutes.


    -----


    How to activate AT&T Phone on H2O Wireless. (Any AT&T phone, SIM locked or unlocked, will work on H2O Wireless).

    Cricket brand phones, even though it is owned by AT&T, are locked to Cricket only. Cricket brand phones have to be unlocked to use at another cell carrier or MVNO (even an AT&T MVNO).

    You need to replace the AT&T SIM with an H2O Wireless SIM.

    First of all, if you insert an H2O SIM that is not activated, you will get an "invalid sim" message on the phone. Also, the Signal Bars signal symbol will be grayed out and covered with a circle with a line through it.

    This is normal. To make this error message go away and get a Signal Bars display, you have to buy an airtime card, and activate the H2O SIM and Phone IMEI number on the H2O Website.

    To get the phone working, you have to do the following:

    1. First, get an H2O SIM. I got mine on Amazon for $ 1.00. They can be as low as 1 cent . They advertise the H2O SIM for unlocked phones. Don't worry, the H2O SIM will work fine on locked AT&T phones. Phones from other companies like T-mobile have to be unlocked, however.
    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss...im%2Caps%2C328

    2. Next, go to Calling Mart, https://www.callingmart.com/, register and create an account then buy an H2O airtime card (either a minute plan or a monthly plan). You can activate the phone with as little as a $10 - 200 minute/90 day card.

    You will need the PIN number from your purchase in order to activate the SIM and Phone on the H2O Wireless website. The PIN number will be displayed at checkout and will also be emailed to you.

    3. Next, go to the H2O Wireless website,https://www.h2owirelessnow.com, and create an account. Finally, activate the SIM, Phone IMEI and enter the minutes card PIN number. After filling out the online Activation form, your new H2O phone number will be displayed and emailed to you.

    Insert the H2O sim in the phone, and turn on the phone. H2O wireless will activate the sim and phone. Any "invalid SIM" error message will go away and the phone will display Signal Bars. It should then be able to receive and make phone calls.

    H2O will send you an instant message, "The terminal cannot be configured remotely, please contact Customer support for further assistance". This just means you have to enter the APN information manually.

    Here's how to enter the APN info on your phone to configure it to send and receive MMS & SMS messages:


    Enter the following info:

    APN: att.mvno
    USER NAME: (leave blank)
    PASSWORD: (leave blank)
    AUTHENTICATION TYPE: (grayed out - PAP)
    WAP GATEWAY (URL): 66.209.11.33
    WAP GATEWAY PORT: 80
    MMSC (URL): http://mmsc.cingular.com/
    MMSC PORT: 80
    MAXIMUM MMS SIZE: 300

    -----

    Once you have the phone activated and working, you can check your balance and expiration date by dialing *777#. This shows left over credit balance and expiration date if you are on a minute plan. It doesn't show a balance or expiration date for unlimited monthly plans.
    Last edited by Antilope; 04-03-2015 at 10:20 AM.
    Is a Telegram a metric e-mail?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    7
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wow! Thanks for all the info Antilope! I ordered an H2O sim from a seller on amazon and purchased some H2O airtime elsewhere. I should be in business in a few days. Thanks again!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    482
    Carriers
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by name246 View Post
    Wow! Thanks for all the info Antilope! I ordered an H2O sim from a seller on amazon and purchased some H2O airtime elsewhere. I should be in business in a few days. Thanks again!
    You're welcome. I put that info together for myself when I wanted to activate an AT&T phone on H2O. There was a piece of info here and a piece of info there that I managed to find. So I decided to put it all together in one place and post it here.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. iphone with ATT sim card help
    By in the pink in forum iOS Jailbreaking and Unlocking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-24-2010, 09:53 AM
  2. SIM card and iPhone
    By Treoxxx in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-18-2009, 08:01 PM
  3. IPHONE 3G Sim Card
    By airshow1 in forum Apple
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-31-2009, 06:38 AM
  4. IPHONE 3G Sim Card
    By airshow1 in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-29-2009, 10:56 AM
  5. 3G iphone sim card in X1
    By AnJi95 in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-12-2009, 01:19 PM

Bookmarks