Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 107

Thread: Wind Internet Settings

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    60
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by canadiancow View Post
    With my Nexus One, running CM 6.1, those APN's are there by default, but I can't send an MMS. It just sits there at "Sending...".

    I've tried clearing the APN's and manually entering them, but to no avail. Any ideas?
    I use 6.1.1/Geo's ROM/AOSP Gingerbread on my N1 with the settings from the 1st post. Everything works. Give Geo's ROM a flash. A lot of people have complained about the MMS on CM forums.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    95
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Running the Nexus S. Set up 2 APNs. Internet is knocked out temporarily while MMS is sent. I suggest to anyone that thinks their settings are working to do the following: turn off your wifi, send an mms, and immediately try and use the 3G internet. It won't work. The wifi being on gives the illusion that the 3G internet is still working, when it isn't.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    99
    Device(s)
    Nexus S
    Carrier(s)
    Wind Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yea, but the 3G is only off for about 10 seconds while sending the MMS and then it comes back on. Not perfect, but it's something i can live with

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    52
    Carrier(s)
    Wind Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ~David View Post
    The consensus seems to be that WIND's network is the problem when it comes to MMS.

    These are the correct settings. WIND needs to fix something on their end.
    I downloaded Handcent SMS and I have had no problem sending and receiving mms.

    Handcent will automatically shrink the image to the proper size and send 'em out.


    Portable Wi-Fi hotspot in Thornhill with LG Optimus T on Wind Mobile

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    95
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    How to you make Handcent the default MMS/messaging service rather than the stock one?

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    533
    Device(s)
    Android Dev Phone 2
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by phphreak View Post
    Running the Nexus S. Set up 2 APNs. Internet is knocked out temporarily while MMS is sent. I suggest to anyone that thinks their settings are working to do the following: turn off your wifi, send an mms, and immediately try and use the 3G internet. It won't work. The wifi being on gives the illusion that the 3G internet is still working, when it isn't.
    That's normal for a two-APN setup. As far as I can tell, Android doesn't support simultaneously connecting to multiple APNs. Unless you're doing something like streaming internet radio while sending MMSes, it isn't a big deal.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    60
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by phphreak View Post
    How to you make Handcent the default MMS/messaging service rather than the stock one?
    You don't. Go to the native messaging app and in settings turn off notifications. Also, IMHO, ChompSMS is better than Handcent.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    95
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Doesn't this mean that the native messaging app is still running even though it is not showing notifications?

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    60
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes. But you won't be bothered by it. Also, when you click on a contact to send a text, you can make Handcent your default for sending messages.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    95
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    That sucks. On my iPhone, it doesn't knock anything out. Can't wind fix this problem?

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,799
    Device(s)
    Current: SE Naite (Fido), iPhone 4 (Koodo)
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo and Fido
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    can't get it to work on my nexus S... either with 2 APN's or just 1
    Hi.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    20
    Carrier(s)
    Wind Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    internet.windmobile.ca did not work for me.

    broadband.windmobile.ca works perfect for me.

    Nexus one with the infinite laptop HAITF plan.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Gatineau, Qc
    Posts
    2,012
    Device(s)
    Galaxy Nexus
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Optimas View Post
    internet.windmobile.ca did not work for me.

    broadband.windmobile.ca works perfect for me.

    Nexus one with the infinite laptop HAITF plan.
    Well of course... Data Plans = broadband.windmobile.ca and Data Add-ons = internet.windmobile.ca

    djino

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    20
    Carrier(s)
    Wind Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by djino View Post
    Well of course... Data Plans = broadband.windmobile.ca and Data Add-ons = internet.windmobile.ca

    djino
    Well, that makes lots of sense. Thx
    • Wind Mobile's Infinite laptop $20 HAITF plan
    • Wind Mobile's $40 unlimited everything plan on a Nexus One



  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    251
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Everything is working flawlessly for me on my Nexus S by just doing what it says in the OP. Thanks for that.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. MMS Settings on WIND
    By ace309 in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 09-04-2012, 07:07 AM
  2. HD7 MMS settings on Wind Mobile
    By pistol44 in forum Windows
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-07-2011, 10:17 AM
  3. WIND MMS Settings?
    By vro25 in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-05-2010, 09:07 AM
  4. WIND Internet Data Server Settings?
    By JimCanuck in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-26-2010, 07:53 PM

Bookmarks